Ratings based on 824 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morrinsville NZ

Great resort, good facilities.

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Pros: Beach area with sufficient shade available on a hot & sunny Mexican day. Food had plenty of options, and rooms very clean.
Cons: Less smoking areas. Smokers were even smoking in the pools.
Location: Good snorkeling at Cozomel and Mayan ruins nearby
Great all inclusive resort. Staff were great, facilities great, excellent beach and pool area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

May 27th-June 2nd 2017

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Everything...could not have asked for more.
Cons: None
Location: Close $5 cab ride to Playa and 5th avenue (shopping, ferry to Cozumel, restaurants...for local eats)
Top shelf... we have stayed at 7 Riu Resorts from the Dominican Republic to Aruba to Costa Rica to Mexico and all are consistent with great service, great food and accommodations. The grounds are top notch and very well maintained. Can't wait to visit another one. Would like to see more in the Virgin Islands.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great week @ RIU Palace Mexico

Posted Jun 3, 2017
RIU never disappoints. Great food. Great Service. Beautiful resort. No resversations needed for specialty restaurants a big plus. This is the 7th different RIU we've been to. T & T, COLUMBIA, S.C.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Vacation Spot for Everyone!

Posted May 29, 2017
We took a week vacation, just my boyfriend and I. We are late 20s and we were looking for a relaxing week away. This resort was perfect. There were plenty of activities to do within the resort and excursions to take all around Mexico if you wanted too, but there was no pressure. Plenty of seating whether you wanted to be on the beach or around the pools. This resort doesn't have a timeshare presentation which is really nice. The food was great. All the staff were super friendly. You don't need reservations for dinner and we never had an issue getting a table no matter the time. We had a small wait at the more popular restaurants but it wasn't a big deal at all and completely worth it. They have live music and different shows every night out on the large patio. There's table service no matter where you sit so you always have your drink of choice. The highlight of the resort for us was THE PIANO PLAYER!! Every week night there was a piano player in the lobby bar and he is absolutely incredible! Takes requests and can play just about anything you ask him too. Absolutely nailed Hotel California! All in all, we were very impressed with Riu. This was our first time staying at one of their properties and we will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern chic hotel

Posted May 10, 2017
Beautiful resort with a beautiful beach. Love how you could visit other Riu hotels that are close by. Staff were amazing. Food was great. Not much of a night life, but the Riu across the street had better entertainment and a club.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Great service and i do recommend this hotel to a friend. The staff is extremely friendly and food is delicious
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Horrible Experience!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Condensation forms over entire tile floor when you open glass patio door for fresh air in mildew smelling room, slippery and dangerous. Bed and pillows were moist. We tried to cancel reservation and go to another resort, was given conflicting information from staff, they would not provide us with person we needed to speak with to cancel our reservation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Excellent customer service! Staff is wonderful!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: SERVICE!!! Great facilities also!
Cons: Get rid of mini bar and put in a refrigerator that can be used for water.
Best resort I have stayed at. The employees are so warm and kind. They go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable! It was my daughter's 18th birthday and they sang to her at breakfast and dinner, gave her cakes both times, and put a small gift in our room with a Happy Birthday note!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great Place and Good For Kids Too

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The food was great. Also, the fact that the hotel is so big, does not mean that I had to walk a lot to get a drink, drinks and snacks were accessible
Cons: As mentioned before, it would be nice if all servers were instructed to treat all guests the same
Location: The location is ideal to rest, no need to ever leave the resort really, but if you do, if you have kids, Xenses park is a must
I, my wife, and my 2 kids had an amazing time at this place. The front desk people were exceptional. We had the misfortune of having one of our kids get sick during our stay, the RIU hotels have doctors on call, the doctor did charge us $145 USD for the visit (which to US Standards is pretty cheap), and I have to say it was well worth it, within 15 minutes the doctor was in our room checking up on our kid, he prescribed some medicines that got delivered to our room, and the next day the doctor stopped by to check up on my son again just to make sure he was doing all right. We were always greeted with a smile at the restaurants, and they were always ready to help us in any way we needed. Our room was always left in a poor state in the mornings because, well, with 2 kids it's though to keep the place neat, however, after the cleaning crew hit the room every morning, it was like a brand new room! The place was clean and well kept. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay at. The only think that kind of did bug me a little bit was that sometimes at the bars (usually at night), it was though to get a drink, I hate to think the reason was because I am Mexican, but it definitely felt like others were taken care of before me, I literally had to flag down servers multiple nights to get a drink while other tables around me got treated very well, this was my experience ONLY at the bars, although there were a couple of servers that were always great to me
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great Beach

Posted Apr 22, 2017
The staff was great inside and outside of the hotel. The beach area was large and attractive.