Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Find another hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Beach was great
Cons: Better food. Add some safety stripping on the stairways. hire more staff
Location: Tulem is worth the drive. Playacar is no longer the charming Mexican village and Playa Del Carmen looks like a US outdoor mall.
The biggest issue for this hotel is understaffed restaurants and wet tiled floors . There are 5 restaurants. The Fusin and Japanese were great. The steakhouse was a HUGE disappointment. The main buffet was average. the 24 hour snack room was a joke. I wouldn't eat anything that has been sitting out all day. The entire resort is tiled. You have kids in wet suits running around. Leave your hills at home least you slip and fall. I took a really bad fall and the hotel could not have cared less. if you stay here get an extra room key. You will need it to turn the lights on in the room!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calvillo

Unforgettable vacation

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Great food, entertaining shows, courteous staff, excellent service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Times they are a changing

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We stayed at this resort last year & had a good stay, but this time the stay was questionable. We came this time for our wedding & with a large group of people. Some of our party had not so good experiences. One guest was given an uncleaned room upon check in & another guest had cold shower water most of their stay. The first issue was remedied with a new room, but the second issue wasn't fixed. When we checked in we had to remind the front desk that we were getting married there! Considering that they now knew this they didn't try to do anything special for us throughout the week. Other reviews from other guests who stayed at this resort spoke of flowers, champagne, & or gifts when the front desk was aware of their special occasions (honeymoon, anniversary, etc). I brought this to their attention at the end of the week & they said that they could bring some champagne but we needed to set a time for it & be in the room at that time for it. We waited in our room for the set time & no one came. We left our room & they brought the champagne some time later. Overall I think the breakdown was that there was a lack of communication. Or maybe they just didn't really care. They may have been short staffed also because service all over the resort was lacking compared to our last visit. The lesser wait staff was still friendly & still worked hard though, so no complaint there. At the end we were just very disappointed & now unsure if we will ever go back there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice resort and wonderful staff!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Beautiful location and excellent staff. The room was not what we expected. Asked for a king and when questioned about getting two beds, we were told to push them together. The sofa was not comfortable at all and was comparable to bad patio furniture cushions. If the room was more cozy and updated, we would definitely rate the resort a five! Still had a fabulous time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We really liked all the amenities!

Posted Sep 9, 2016
We will definitely come back and stay at a Rio property again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Overall a great vacation!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The staff was beyond attentive, they decorated our room with roses, hearts, chocolates & balloons every single day of our stay because they knew it was our anniversary (I'm not sure if the daily tipping for housekeeping did the trick). Food was AMAZING!! Starting with the Don Julion buffet, to the Japanese cuisine at Miyagi & can't forget Krystal (French), me & my husband had our eyes rolling from all the exquisite flavors & quality! Overall amazing trip!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stamford, CT

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, decent food, lovely beach.
Cons: The dress code wasn't posted anywhere,so we ended up restricted to the buffets. Room is weird layout, hard with teen boy & girl for changing.
Location: Playa del Carmen - Aventuras Mayas for Tulum ruins, ATV through jungle & freshwater grotto - Cancun Adventures - Luxury Sailing & Snorkeling
We spent a week at the Riu Palace Mexico (not to be confused with the other four Riu Palace properties nearby!). Our mistake was coming south in August, as the heat and humidity were unbearable; that said, the buildings were air conditioned and there was no shortage of cold drinks. The all-inclusive package was great for us, as we didn't have to carry money with us while at the resort. The food was pretty good, for such a big resort. The fruit and veggies were fresh and plentiful, and we never walked out hungry. We are not big drinkers, but if we were, we would not have been disappointed. The mini-bar in the room is well stocked and you can find booze pretty much anywhere you want, including in the swim-up bar. The staff was friendly and shockingly multi-lingual. So impressed! The shows were fun - the dancers even got our shy 16-year old son up on the floor! The Tenores were incredible and the rock/pop band was loads of fun.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tabasco, México

Hotel cerca de la playa

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: El personal y la playa.
Cons: La televisión de la habitación.
Location: Puedes entrar a los RIU que están alrededor, dentro del mismo paquete. Hay una excelente playa y se pueden rentar aparte moto de agua y paracaídas.
El hotel es excelente para estar en la playa, con el paquete de todo incluido puedes tener esnórkel, kayak, toallas, comida, etc. La comida la hay de diferentes tipos y el personal es muy agradable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Nice beachfront hotel in Playacar

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The beach!
Cons: Cultural Diversity training for staff and how to provide exemplary customer service to tourists from your same nationality.
Location: The hotel offers many amenities, both free and additional fee. Plenty of outside tours and diverse offerings based on personal interests.
Had a nice vacation, hotel is nice, clean and overall staff are nice. Beach is great with white sand and crystal clear waters. Pools are small, enjoyed the great beach instead. Staff are very friendly, with exception of Yadid at Krystal Restaurant, he had the worst attitude, very unprofessional and rude customer service. First time I feel discriminated against in my own country of origin. Carlos and Ezequiel from the Steakhouse restaurant offered excellent service, food and wine!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our experience

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Overall, our experience at the hotel was great! The beach is in fantastic shape and was always enough lounge chairs available. The only complaint I would have about this hotel is how warm the pool water was. Was close to hot tub temperature. Would be nice to have a cooler feeling pool to get into. Great place with great service and food.