Ratings based on 1,597 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: El trato del personal pero lo mejor fue que pudimos hacer uso de las instalaciones de todos los hoteles de la misma cadena cerca lo que fue genial ya que cada noche hay diferentes actividades y tenia mas opciones, la comida excelente también
Cons: Nada no tuve ningun tipo de problema o algo que no me gustara todo estuvo excelente
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Gorgeous tropical paradise

Posted Oct 22, 2016
My friends and I were very pleased overall with the Riu Palace Riviera Maya. We loved the facilities and the staff are amazing. It would not be possible to find a cleaner resort. Just immaculate! And the beach is to die for. The pool fun if the crowd is right. The only improvements that I would suggest would be to improve the meals at the specialty restaurants. I have experienced better at other resorts. The food in these restaurants need to improve drastically. The buffet is quite good although I have had more options in other resorts. This buffet just is not as big as others so not the variety that others have. The food at the buffet was good overall. The shows at night are pretty sucky. Considering that it is a "Palace," I think that they could provide shows that are not so amateurish. They are similar to a middle school talent show. The warm up rock band before the main show was awesome. We were hoping that they would play all night and they should have. Many were dancing. Of course the mattresses in Mexico cannot compare to the dream mattresses in hotels in the US. Maybe they should look into this. We had no issues w/ wifi. Worked fine. Also, not a great place to take kids. I've been to resorts that are great for kids w/ lots of kid friendly fun. This one, not so much. The sports bar is pretty lame although the bartender was awesome. They should not charge $ to play pool. Seems silly. But we adults would go back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Union City, CA

Beautiful hotel! Great customer service!

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: I loved the pool, beach, food, hotel in general is just beautiful!
Cons: The only down fall is the rooms have a musty smell to them. It smelled pretty bad the first day, but I don't know if we got used it because I didn't smell it after.
Location: The park Xcaret is a must! The underground river, Sea Trek, Lagoons, and the night show are outstanding! Chichen Itza, Quinta Avenida for shopping!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Bien ubicado

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Buen lugar para llegar caminando por la playa o la avenida de Playacar a la 5ta avenida, al terminal de Ferrys para Cozumel, etc. buenas opciones.
Buenas opciones de comida, instalaciones exteriores muy buenas, y buena ubicación cerca de la 5ta. avenida, las habitaciones son comodas, pero falta mantenimiento, las puertas del Baño y frigobar no cerraban. Tuve que pedir cambio de habitación, el cual me dieron sin ningún problema
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great fun to be had here.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Hotel is in a secure gated community. A nice 2 mile walk to Playa del Carmen which is a fun tourist town.
The key to success for this hotel is the beach location. I doubt there is a better backdrop to your vacation available in Yucatan. It must be said that nothing else in the hotel can match this, but don't let that put you off. The rooms are spacious, decent and clean, if not overtly luxurious. TV reception is pretty poor so don't stay in doors. The onsite restaurants for evening meals range from very good to downright lousy. The sports bar is more like a crew room. Don't expect too much here! The breakfast room is very inviting and the food pretty expansive. Quality is good enough and will not disappoint. The lunch restaurant near the beach is industrial but not too bad for middle of the day. The pool bar is excellently located and fun, but can't be certain what you are drinking...! Staff were mostly excellent. Only one minor gripe about how 'anal' they are about the towel allocation!! don't lose your towel! Overall, if you want to a experience a world class beach/ocean front location, always have food and drinks available (though not world class) for an incredibly reasonable price (I went during school term so not sure of peak prices, nor of kiddie amenities) then you will not go wrong here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Food is terrible. Beach is very nice.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The beach
Cons: Food.
Location: The water is amazing. Playa Del Carmen downtown has a lot to offer. Many great restaurants we discovered after dealing with the terrible hotel food.
Like my headline says the food is terrible. I have eaten at two other RIU properties previously but this location should be ashamed how and the food is. Instead of trying to please everyone by putting out enormous spreads of food they should concentrate on the quality of what is being put out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Great resort! Wonderful experience. We will definitely be back again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chihuahua, MX

Excelente comida, trato, ubicación, playa

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Playa, albercas, comida, habitación y ubicación
Cons: Que hubiera una colcha delgada para quienes tenemos un poco de frío por la noche. Si había una colcha pero era demasiado pesada y caliente.
Location: Se puede ir caminando a la 5ta avenida de Playa del Carmen
Buena atención desde la recepción hasta recamarera y meseros. La comida es muy variada y deliciosa.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Beautiful hotel with some improvements needed

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The hotel, the grounds, and the beach are beautiful. The staff is attentive and friendly.
Cons: Get the music level down. This place is not packed with teenagers. The age of the majority of the hotel guests appears to be over 40.
We stayed in Riu Palace Riviera Maya for 7 days Sep 3-10, 2016. In overall, we enjoyed our time there. But, there are some negative impressions I would like to share. 1. If you are looking for a quiet atmosphere, this place is not for you. The nightclub style music goes on for hours and is extremely loud, especially from the neighboring Riu Lupita hotel. There is literally no place on the beach to escape this constant noise. But, the place where it really gets bad is the hotel's night club. The level of loudness during the shows is ABSOLUTELY unbearable, deafening, and unreasonable. 2. The food in the restaurants was boring. The buffet, in our opinion, was a much better option. 3. The mattress were worn-out and definitely due to replacement.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 22, 2016
I wish I could go back tomorrow morning. It was excellent