Ratings based on 1,489 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Needs refreshing

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Beautiful resort and excellent staff but needs serious resfresh of rooms, lobby furniture and pool. For the price, the condition of the rooms and pool are well below standard. Food is decent with a lot of selection and we had no problem getting into the specialty restaurants. Great location. Close to shopping by walking or short cab ride. The beach area was clean and beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful grounds. 15 min walk into town.

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Cons: Update the gym.
Great time at the all inclusive hotel. Wonderful staff, hustling to serve your every need. Food and drinks galore. The entertainment was great and the staff was a lot of fun! Spa was great. Gym was average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2016
This hotel was beautiful, well kept and right on the beach. There were always people maintaining it. The food selection at the buffet and Chilis (at lunch) were terrific. Was less impressed by the restaurants, but they were a nice change (Did steakhouse one night and mexican restaurant another). the kids club was not geared towards older kids (9 years old), so my son had no interest in going, but it was nice to know it was there. The gym didn't have much, but I got in workouts and it was clean. I have stayed in many all-inclusives around the Caribbean, Mexico, Jamaica, DR and this was my favorite...will always stay in Riu's when I can after this experience. The staff was helpful and the service excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Nice all inclusive experience in Playacar

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The food, the beach, the staff
Its 10 years old Hotel... The Hotel is wonderfun and beautiful, but we had several problems in our check in.. The check in time is 15:00, but the room was not ready and we got the "Room Keys" 30 minutes late. When we got in the room, The WC was not working, there was a big water filtration in the WC, the minibar had a terrible noise that disturbed all night, the ceiling fan was not working, and the AC control was broken....Finaly, at 17:00 the AC and WC was fixed... The Minibar was fixed the next day but the ceiling fan and WC water filtration maybe not yet..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Resort is very pretty and staff are very friendly

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: cleanliness and beauty of the surroundings.
Cons: The dinners in the specialty restaurants could be somewhat better
We really enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately it rained most of our visit so we didn't get to enjoy the beach much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Awesome beach!!!! Had 21 Family members and EVERYONE had a great time!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and spacious

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Very good. Lot of family get togethers. Over all excellent. My kids had lot of fun in the pool and beach. Excellent food. Evening entertainment was good. Overall very relaxing and pleasant exporience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Very nice hotel. upgrade common restrooms to high

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Excellent in every aspect- hospitality and food. Total worth for your money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Lovely week at Riu Palace at Playa del Carmen

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Just about everything. The congeniality of the staff was outstanding and the food tasty and plenty. Lobby decor was beautiful.
Cons: Pool area beginning to show signs of age with a few mosaics missing and the Chilis restaurant near the pool showed signs of age and wear.
Location: Playa del Carmen is a gorgeous area. Shopping mall nearby was nice. Outside of that, we had no reason to leave the resort.
Everything there catered to an enjoyable, relaxing vacation. All wait staff and service people were efficient, polite, friendly, and available, but never intrusive. Our room was clean and comfortable. Food was excellent. Pool area and beach clean. All around, we had no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

another great vacation at the Palace

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: Higher quality of all inclusive amenities
Cons: Nothing
Location: ATV excursions, snorkeling at cenotes, Cozumel, Tulum, shopping in Playa del Carmen
We always enjoy staying at the Riu hotels, especially the Palace level. The food was excellent, the staff was very attentive and the room was very spacious and comfortable. We had a King Suite so we had a double balcony and lots of room.