Ratings based on 1,147 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mn

Beautiful views. Great staff.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We were disappointed each day when they turned off the music to play bingo. That really killed the mood in the pool bar. Cleaning staff did not restock to and tissues, had to ask. Front desk staff extremely helpful, friendly and efficient! Grounds well kept. Pool staff very attentive. Entertainment staff did a great job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila. PA

Nice all inclusive resort

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Nice pool area beach space includes no shade area right on beach and lovely palm tree shaded area a little way back by the pool. There are a couple of guys constantly bringing cold drinks whenever you want. Buffet is what you would expect and pool/beach lunch buffet is very convenient
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hit or mis. I guess

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Cell phone robbed at buffet. Room service food had bugs
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

FOOD POISONING CAN SURE SPOIL A VACATION

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Flew to Riu Palace Riviera Maya for a weekend get away with my girlfriend to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. Hotel was nice and staff was very friendly. Room was beautiful, but needed a little care. Couple outlets didn't work and ceiling fan had two speeds - high and off. Was also surprised there was no light or soap dish in the shower, and there was no fan - leaving the room humid. Learned though that I nice facility and a beautiful beach can't overcome the food poisoning you get from eating at one of the restaurants. Ate at the main restaurant on Saturday night (Japanese night I think), and within a hour of eating I was doubled over in pain - vacillating between sweating profusely and freezing. I like Riu properties and stayed at the Riu Las Americas in Cancun over Christmas - which was outstanding. I would go back to that property in an instance - but will not likely return to Riu Palace Riviera Maya
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Great place, friendly staff, good food options. Sports bar had the nfc championship game on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Amazing service!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We recently visited Riu palace and we had the best time! The entertainment was great, the restaurants were great, we did not have one bad meal. The service was absolutely excellent, the staff was friendly and the servers were the best. Even at the beach there is a server to make sure you are ok with drinks. The only negative was that the spa was expensive for the quality of service, we had a couples massage and it was not good. One of the hot tubs was not working and was cold which left only one hot tub for guests to use and it looked dirty and the tiles seemed dirty and to be falling apart. The pool also seemed to be rusting and the tiles were falling off as well. That made it a little difficult to enjoy for me personally since I am very particular on cleanliness. the rooms are a bit outdated but they were cleaned by the time we got back from breakfast. Overall I would visit again and hope to find it updated. Also, shopping is very close at walking distance. The resort is in a very safe location as there are surrounding houses and all of it is in a gated community with security.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Staff was very nice and helpful. Facility was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Beach was wonderful even poolside was nice not too much loud yelling this time drinks and dinner fabulous every night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Exceptional location, service and cleanliness. Only place in the area with a long sandy area. Only downfall would be the 35 minute drive from the airport; however it is well with it! We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel and Beach

Posted Jan 15, 2017
The Riu Palace was a great location and provided excellent services, views of the ocean and beautiful beach. We had a great family vacation week.