Ratings based on 1,491 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Wonderful resort that doesn't disappoint.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: The beauty of the architecture, the woodwork, the design - just a beautiful resort.
Cons: The lobby furniture could use some attention. A little worn.
Location: Location is excellent because of 5th avenue and other shopping of Playa del Carmen within walking distance. Excursions easy to access to anywhere.
Everything about our stay was wonderful. The place is beautiful, rooms and whole resort is clean and well cared for. The view, the grounds, the beach - all wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Long weekend

Posted Feb 8, 2016
The staff are wonderful and the grounds/beach and rooms were clean and well groomed. We didn't spend any time at the pool(we are beach people) but it looked clean and well staffed. The beach is awesome and nice for long walks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Needs refreshing

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Beautiful resort and excellent staff but needs serious resfresh of rooms, lobby furniture and pool. For the price, the condition of the rooms and pool are well below standard. Food is decent with a lot of selection and we had no problem getting into the specialty restaurants. Great location. Close to shopping by walking or short cab ride. The beach area was clean and beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful grounds. 15 min walk into town.

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Cons: Update the gym.
Great time at the all inclusive hotel. Wonderful staff, hustling to serve your every need. Food and drinks galore. The entertainment was great and the staff was a lot of fun! Spa was great. Gym was average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2016
This hotel was beautiful, well kept and right on the beach. There were always people maintaining it. The food selection at the buffet and Chilis (at lunch) were terrific. Was less impressed by the restaurants, but they were a nice change (Did steakhouse one night and mexican restaurant another). the kids club was not geared towards older kids (9 years old), so my son had no interest in going, but it was nice to know it was there. The gym didn't have much, but I got in workouts and it was clean. I have stayed in many all-inclusives around the Caribbean, Mexico, Jamaica, DR and this was my favorite...will always stay in Riu's when I can after this experience. The staff was helpful and the service excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Nice all inclusive experience in Playacar

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The food, the beach, the staff
Its 10 years old Hotel... The Hotel is wonderfun and beautiful, but we had several problems in our check in.. The check in time is 15:00, but the room was not ready and we got the "Room Keys" 30 minutes late. When we got in the room, The WC was not working, there was a big water filtration in the WC, the minibar had a terrible noise that disturbed all night, the ceiling fan was not working, and the AC control was broken....Finaly, at 17:00 the AC and WC was fixed... The Minibar was fixed the next day but the ceiling fan and WC water filtration maybe not yet..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Resort is very pretty and staff are very friendly

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: cleanliness and beauty of the surroundings.
Cons: The dinners in the specialty restaurants could be somewhat better
We really enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately it rained most of our visit so we didn't get to enjoy the beach much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Awesome beach!!!! Had 21 Family members and EVERYONE had a great time!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and spacious

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Very good. Lot of family get togethers. Over all excellent. My kids had lot of fun in the pool and beach. Excellent food. Evening entertainment was good. Overall very relaxing and pleasant exporience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Very nice hotel. upgrade common restrooms to high

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Excellent in every aspect- hospitality and food. Total worth for your money