Ratings based on 1,673 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver CO USA

Amazing beach and pools! Wish there was less smok

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Great pools and awesome access to amazing beach.
Cons: Wish there was a non-smoking section. Wish dinners at restaurants were better and they should take reservations. It was annoying to use towel card.
Location: Shopping, markets, ferry to Cozumel, scuba/snorkel right off the beach.
The resort is easy to get to from airports; and $6 taxi to Cozumel ferry. Amazing beach with sun and shade between resort and ocean. Great drinks at the pool bar - ask for the top shelf otherwise you get the bottom shelf. There is an entertainment plaza where evening music/shows are, but this seems to be the "smoking hang out". I wish there was a smoking and non-smoking section because everyone there was smoking!!! Breakfast and lunch food was good. I have had better dinner/restaurant options at other all inclusive resorts. Double beds are small and uncomfortable (they are not queens). All in all, worth the money and I would go back again just for the pools and beach location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great Beach Resort for Family or Couples

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Food options and the convenience of the poolside food that is served for lunch. Also the fact that this resort is in a gated area, very secure.
Cons: The resort needs a few cosmetic repairs but nothing major, the tile work is showing a little wear and tear.
Location: 45 minute walk from the downtown area. Also if you stay here you have access to the other RIU resorts that are within walking distance.
We loved everything about this resort the beach was very large with plenty of room for all the guest. We enjoyed pool area with plenty of activities from the staff during the day. Claudia our pool waitress made sure we always had a cool beverage in our hand. We loved all the dinning options with the exception of the Japanese restaurant, just not our taste. We really enjoyed the fact that no reservations were needed for evening dinning. Take a pair of long pants and a collared shirt two of the restaurants require them. The room was nice and our bed was firm but not hard. There is a bar in the room with brandy, tequila, and vodka, also a fridge with beer, soft drinks and water. They have a nice courtyard with a band every night that plays for about an hour before the evening entertainment. This was truly a relaxing place to stay we are already planning our trip for next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Fantastic staff, close walk to private beach

Posted Feb 20, 2017
My parents and my husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice now, and loved it each time. We will return. It is an older hotel, so the rooms could use a bit of a re-design. Perhaps take out the deep tubs and put in showers. However, the older woodwork in the rooms, restaurants, and lobby is what makes the hotel charming and quaint. The staff is exceptional. Whether it be check in, restaurant, or housekeeping, everyone is very interested in making sure your stay is a wonderful one. The food is great and there is plenty to choose from. We love the fact that it is one of the smaller resorts and easy to get to all restaurants, pool and beach. Everything is at your fingertips. If traveling with older people, perhaps request a room on the ground floor or close to elevator. We love RIU Palace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mn

Beautiful views. Great staff.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We were disappointed each day when they turned off the music to play bingo. That really killed the mood in the pool bar. Cleaning staff did not restock to and tissues, had to ask. Front desk staff extremely helpful, friendly and efficient! Grounds well kept. Pool staff very attentive. Entertainment staff did a great job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila. PA

Nice all inclusive resort

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Nice pool area beach space includes no shade area right on beach and lovely palm tree shaded area a little way back by the pool. There are a couple of guys constantly bringing cold drinks whenever you want. Buffet is what you would expect and pool/beach lunch buffet is very convenient
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hit or mis. I guess

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Cell phone robbed at buffet. Room service food had bugs
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

FOOD POISONING CAN SURE SPOIL A VACATION

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Flew to Riu Palace Riviera Maya for a weekend get away with my girlfriend to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. Hotel was nice and staff was very friendly. Room was beautiful, but needed a little care. Couple outlets didn't work and ceiling fan had two speeds - high and off. Was also surprised there was no light or soap dish in the shower, and there was no fan - leaving the room humid. Learned though that I nice facility and a beautiful beach can't overcome the food poisoning you get from eating at one of the restaurants. Ate at the main restaurant on Saturday night (Japanese night I think), and within a hour of eating I was doubled over in pain - vacillating between sweating profusely and freezing. I like Riu properties and stayed at the Riu Las Americas in Cancun over Christmas - which was outstanding. I would go back to that property in an instance - but will not likely return to Riu Palace Riviera Maya
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Great place, friendly staff, good food options. Sports bar had the nfc championship game on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Amazing service!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We recently visited Riu palace and we had the best time! The entertainment was great, the restaurants were great, we did not have one bad meal. The service was absolutely excellent, the staff was friendly and the servers were the best. Even at the beach there is a server to make sure you are ok with drinks. The only negative was that the spa was expensive for the quality of service, we had a couples massage and it was not good. One of the hot tubs was not working and was cold which left only one hot tub for guests to use and it looked dirty and the tiles seemed dirty and to be falling apart. The pool also seemed to be rusting and the tiles were falling off as well. That made it a little difficult to enjoy for me personally since I am very particular on cleanliness. the rooms are a bit outdated but they were cleaned by the time we got back from breakfast. Overall I would visit again and hope to find it updated. Also, shopping is very close at walking distance. The resort is in a very safe location as there are surrounding houses and all of it is in a gated community with security.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Staff was very nice and helpful. Facility was very clean.