Ratings based on 1,735 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Friendly staff

Posted May 19, 2017
Pool was great and their was a wide selection of food at the buffet restaurant. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Wedding at the Riu Palace

Posted May 13, 2017
My husband and I got married here at the end of March. We had about 35 guests travel to the hotel to celebrate with us. The hotel is beautiful and the beach is very clean. The employees are extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure everyone had what they needed. We had no issues finding spots by the pool. There was only one day that college kids were in the pool being obnoxious and the staff asked them to settle down (the hotel policy states no spring breakers allowed which is one of the reasons we picked this hotel for our wedding). We had reserved a room block but once our guests arrived we soon realized that everyone was spread out throughout the resort. This was a little frustrating because we were told that everyone would be at least in the same area. The day after the wedding we were upgraded with no additional charge to the honeymoon suite. The front desk manager Miklos took care of making sure everything from our room was moved into our new room and he was very accommodating whenever we had a request. My only complaint is that, as the bride, I had to leave my reception and go to the front desk to get a new resort bracelet by 10pm or I would be charged $100. I took it off as I didn't want it in my wedding pictures. Since they gave me a timeframe that I had to put it back on by, the least they could do is have someone walk down a new bracelet for me so I didn't need to take time from my wedding reception to do this. Hope that changes for future brides
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Beautiful hotel with wonderful beach

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Wide beach with lots of trees, good food and great hotel. Didn't get bothered by anyone trying to sell timeshares!
Location: Very close to the water park areas and Tulum ruins, so you don't have to waste time.
About 20-30 mins from airport, much nicer in my opinion that Cancun. Still lots of shopping and places to eat nearby. Mins away from all the big waterparks and attractions. We go to Mexico every year and found this area to be our new favorite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Great Hotel

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Pool, beach (they cleaned the seaweed off the beach), alcohol
Cons: The ride to and from the airport was pretty annoying. We booked with the Expedia shuttle, and it was just a very long ride with the multiple stops.
Location: 5th Ave
We stayed at the RUI Riviera Maya for 6 nights in May 2017 and it was awesome. The location was great right on the beach, and about a 20 minute walk to 5th ave. 5th ave is full of shops, restaurants, bars etc. Although the hotel was all inclusive it was nice to be able to walk to the little downtown area for a change of scenery and some fun. Most all inclusive you cant leave the resort but, I felt very safe walking around. The street the hotel was on was gated with security. The food was good at the resort, they always had amazing fresh fruit available. Chilis was the best restaurant, we just had to wait a while to eat there. I would suggest putting your name down earlier incase there is a 40 minute wait. You do not make reservations at the restaurants at the hotel, which I found easier. We also ate at the Mexican, Brazilian, and Japanese restaurant. All were good, however the Mexican was probably the best. Other all inclusive I stayed at had gross well alcohol. RUI has absolute, Don Julio, Captain Morgan and a bunch of other good ones. One suggestion I would make is if you order the slushly type drinks, (Pina coladas, Daiquiris etc.) ask for a shot on the side as they barley put any alcohol in them. Only complain I have is there were stains on some of the beach towels, and room towels for showering, not a huge deal but they should look into a better stain remover process or replace towels. Overall we had a great experience and would go back or even try another RUI hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broken Arrow, OK

Nice hotel but a little far to the beach.

Posted May 11, 2017
May 2017: As compared to some other Riu properties, it was a little far from the dining areas to the pool and beach areas. Its layout appears to be perpendicular to beach versus parallel as at other Riu properties where we have stayed. Overall was a great experience and a lot of walking (that was probably good for us).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

fantastic

Posted May 10, 2017
The staff was the best part of the experience. The food was great. I felt safe staying in the hotel complex witch houses several large hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel and staff

Posted May 7, 2017
Everything was excellent except for the motor noise from the roof. We stayed in room 3165 and it kept us up at night. It is so loud you have to crank up the tv to hear it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unsafe

Posted May 7, 2017
My room was broken into the last night of my stay. Burglar broke into my room through the balcony which is facing the Garden. No cameras on that side. Perfect set up for a burglary. My safe was broke into, all of my expensive jewelry along with all my cash stolen. I am devastated. I was watched, targeted and set up. This is nit a safe resort. I would NEVER recommend anyone to stay here. I am heartbroken and distraught.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Wonderful All Inclusive Hotel right on the beach

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Wonderful staff Setting right on the beach Numerous options for dining Swim up bar All Inclusive feature Air conditioning in rooms works very well
Cons: The hotel is just beginning to show it's age. It would be nice to have walk in showers in the bathrooms rather than the tub-shower, but that is minor
Location: In Playa del Carmen so about 45 minutes from Cancun airport. Close enough for a day trip to Chichen Itza (Mayan ruins). Parasailing, kayaking...
The hotel setting makes for the perfect beach vacation. There are two pools between the rooms and the beach, so those wanting some shade can opt for a lounge chair under palm trees. Or, the beach is a perfect place to catch some rays, play in the waves, or even take a Boogie Board or kayak out on the water, free if you are a guest of the hotel. The staff makes this place! Every member of the staff, from our servers in the restaurants, to the bartenders at the swim up bar, were so caring and really wanted to be sure we had everything we could possibly need! A little extra tipping also seems to go a long way! We loved the all inclusive feature. It made our time there so effortless and relaxing. We also appreciated the fact that this hotel is perfect for families, including young children, young adults, senior adults, as well as for weddings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Excellent service, activities, food, hotel. Had a great time here.