Ratings based on 1,750 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Staff was great. Beach is fantastic. Walk to shopping and golf. Bring long pants if you want to eat at two of the restaurants. Only issue - not a complaint - need an area with more to do during the rainy down times - ping pong, pool, darts, etc that doesn't cost extra.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fallon Nevada

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL AND EVEN BETTER BEACH!

Posted Jun 11, 2017
We've stayed at other Riu's and this was by far the best. The Riu Palace Riviera Maya has the most beautiful beach we've been to so far. The staff was kind and always wanted to help. Our room was clean and the air conditioning worked great. We really have no complaints!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The RIU Palace Riviera Maya is wonderful!

Posted Jun 11, 2017
From the grand hotel design to the gorgeous grounds, pools, beach, food and staff, this is is an excellent choice for a visit to Playa Del Carmen. Nightly hotel entertainment and an easy walk to the city with Tulum, Coba and Cenotes not too far. . .and excellent free wifi throughout the property. Don't confuse this hotel with the RIU Palace Mexico right down the beach. It is quite different. The Hotel RIU Palace Riviera Maya is much nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Great view to the water fountains!!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
LOVED IT, 2nd time in Mexico and had an amazing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Excellent service. We were complimentary upgraded from a jr suite to a full size suite. The room was beautiful and they service was beyond our exceptation!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Need to speak English and fitness center updated.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
They only had three TV channels that spoke English and also very few employees spoke English hard to communicate. Their fitness center needs updated and more equipment. The equipment in the fitness center was very old.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
We were there for a wedding. The staff was super nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect honeymoon

Posted May 30, 2017
It was perfect! Any thing we needed or wanted was given to us. Beautiful location, facility, and beaches. The food was great, and huge variety of entertainment every night. We loved it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sav Ga

Not bad overall.

Posted May 29, 2017
Staff mostly friendly, had view of other hotel's trash and they would not change our room. No hot water in sinks, told housekeeping and they said all rooms were the same. Not true , same for water pressure for shower. Would gives 4 for the food, but most staff speak Spanish, not much English! Overall still had a good time, met a lot of good folks, maid a lot of friends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Friendly staff

Posted May 19, 2017
Pool was great and their was a wide selection of food at the buffet restaurant. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.