Ratings based on 1,104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach.

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Beautiful beach with blue water and fish you can see through. However,there was a faint smell of poor that lingered in the hallways for the whole time we were there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the beach.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Room wasn't very clean, same thing with the pools. Expedia doesn't tell you that you have to paid for your bags with the airline.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston,MA

Very nice resort but disappointed.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Food
Cons: the amount of noise.
Location: great location!
Is a very nice and clean, amazing food always great options to choose, I recommend the main restaurant buffet Manolo's. But were very disappointed for the noise! there is loud music in the pool all day long and loud entertainment microphones, I understand is part of the resorts to have activities but for the ones that want to go and rest and relax by the pool or beach, not at all. Also my room was on the first floor and there was a 24 hour traffic on the halls and incredible noise with the housekeeping carts. So I couldn't sleep well during the day or night. Maybe there is less noise on the upper rooms but I don't think so, that music/microphones can be hear outside of the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix Az

Yes

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Everything was just perfect food so good every single person who work in there Its so kind and helpful so we get in love with this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Great resort on the beach

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Great place. Very friendly/helpful staff. Clean and good restaurants. Truely a great vacation spot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2015
The hotel was better than expected and the staff worked very hard to make our stay very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: The service and staff and rooms were great!
Cons: The air conditioning could have been a little cooler but later in the evening it cooled down! Only complaint.
Location: All kinds of excursions. Playa Del Carmen shopping was great also!
We stayed there for 5 nights! Great service, beautiful room and beautiful beach and pools. The shows were also good especially the Mayan show that is there every 3 weeks. I guessed we got lucky to see it. Went on Atv excursion with ziplining and snorkeling. Very safe and very fun and well organized! Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Hotel staff

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Everythin, hotel staff, food, cleaninness, entertainment and night shows.
Cons: Offer Hotel transportation for guess. I had a bad experience with taxi service outside hotel
Location: Location is great. Short distance for day trips. We did snorkeling, jungle excursion with ATV, rented a boat and went parasailing.
Excellent staff. We visited to celebrate our anniversary. We were just amazed by how helpful and friendly everyone was. From housekeeping,waiters,bellboy and bartenders they made us feels appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel on the Beach

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Love the palm trees. Unfortunately, there was alot of seaweed during our stay. Water clarity not as great as in the past. Music by pool too loud at times, should limit hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Beachfront Paradise

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Clean. Beachfront. Good food. Great entertainment.
Location: Easy walk into town for shopping.
This is my first review but third stay at this particular Riu hotel. it is awesome. The staff is friendly and always working to keep the hotel clean and your drinks full. Other than a little seaweed on the beach (first time I've seen it here) the beach and facilities were amazing. I would definitely recommend it to friends and family.