Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great experience at a good value.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: The beach was unreal. It was so relaxing and there were plenty of beach chairs and sun. That is the reason you're there after all.
Cons: The food and drinks were so so. We got sick one day, but are not sure if it was the food or water. It's hard to tell.
Location: The playacar is a gated resort area that is safe and beautiful. There are shops, golf, restaurants, bars, and other resorts all near by.
We had a great stay at the Riu Playacar. The hotel was beautiful, the beach was better than the Cancun beaches, the entertainment was surprisingly good, and the food was pretty good. As with most all-inclusives, the food is pretty cheap and the drinks are not made with top shelf liquors. The bathrooms are not very private but the overall rooms were nicely renovated. The rooms are separate from the main building connected by outdoor pathways meaning that if it rains, you have to walk out in the rain to go anywhere. They do provide one umbrella in every room which is nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, excellent staff!

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Beautiful beach, great food, excellent staff!!! One week is not enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Best hotel I haved stay in Playa del Carmen. The staff is very welcoming and energetic. The food and drinks are amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, home of the Seahawks

Amazing staff!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: the superior staff
Cons: housekeeping starts a little early :)
Location: walk to town on the beach is very easy 40 minutes. On the way you pass a park with many of the Mayan Ruins, no need to visit to tourist traps
Amazing staff. They go all out to make sure you have a superior guest experience. On our last day our server in the buffet/dinner, made a special table for us including napkins folded like birds and confetti! The are all inclusive and that means all inclusive! No hidden surprises, even non motorized equipment if free. Loved our stay, the best in area for sure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

it was a comfortable stay.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: It had the beach right in front and clean.
Cons: The fact that their was a steak house.
Location: Their was trips once can make to excortion, and a close by mall with tillys, american egal etc.
The staff was always attentive that was around the pool with what we wanted. They had fun activities, zumba, volleyball games, bingo & plus they had shows each day that were of different acts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Posted Sep 18, 2016
love this hotel stayed there for 11 days and its was awesome will come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Nice hotel - close to pool and beach

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Great service from staff - from housekeeping, wait staff to bartenders. We were told at check in that their sales department was going to put us up at the Riviera Palace instead, but I refused stating I made reservations at the Playacar and not the other hotel. Other than that little incident everything else was fine. Evening entertainment was good and lots of activities throughout the day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Hotel too big, too many people not washing

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: BEACH, its beautiful not seaweeds
Cons: dining... people should wash their hands after using the bathroom..
Location: too far away from cancun, but the town of playa del Carmen are getting a little big and have some stuff like shopping, lots of excursion ..
I just recently stayed in RIU Playacar (Aug 7-11) .. as the saying goes you get what you paid for.. 1. Hotel is too big ,too much walking . 2. I don't like the fact that even for the especialty restaurant it is all buffet. cannot stand those buffet at dinner time.. people uses bathrooms without washing their hands ( gross, Bad ) I seen it first hands.. ( europian people ).. 3. my air condition was not working, my room was not clean the 1st day. 4. NO ELEVATOR.. I have to walk up 3 floors to bring my luggage with the heat with was tough. 5. NOT liking BUFFET for dinner, lunch is ok.. 6. they should have somebody standing by the door of its restaurant to make sure that people will use at least some sanitiezer for their hands since its buffet style dining before going in.. people are so gross they touch the food by their hands and put it back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Nice hotel, bad drinks service.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: New and very good facilities. Nice overall distribution and design. Beer is really good.
Cons: Service at restaurants and housekeeping are very deficient. Spirits quality is not so good.
Location: Close to downtown and midway to Tulum.
We went with friends for a long weekend escapade, check-in was fast and efficient, Rita at the front desk was really helpful. The room was very well located, closest to the pool area and conveniently on the ground floor (there are 3 floor buildings with no elevator), so we enjoyed the location. Playacar area is quite safe and not so far from Downtown Playa del Carmen, we rented a car and is very convenient. Parking is free at the hotel. The food is good, but not fantastic, yet the service at most restaurants is bad. It is buffet service and works fine, but drinks and special orders take forever.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Beach nothing else

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Horrible service, rooms are pretty standard, no room service, food is the same almost everyday(buffet style), no wifi in rooms. Don't get hurt here no on-site first aide but they will call a doctor for $175 just to look at you. Will not be coming back here