Ratings based on 780 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the surroundings

Posted Feb 21, 2017
We love just walking around the resort. It is so beautiful. Not alot of concrete, please keep it that way. Will come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st. louis

Hotel on backside of road by beach

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Third year I have stayed here, always a good experience. Good value. Hotel across street from beach but guests are able to access beach and also use the pools, restaurants & bars at two sister hotels there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The hotel was great ! I usually experience a weird odor in staying in tropical hotels but this hotel did not ! Upon entering they greeted us with 2 drinks and had our room available upon check in! The drinks were wonderful! Our favorite bartenders were Federico at the swim up bar and the bar near the entertainment area were rosy and Ishmael. As far as the food were went to the buffet every night and was not left unimpressed ! The food was good and fresh ! One night we went to the Asian restaurant- wasn't too impressed and went back to the buffet! Staff were nice ! My only thing was that it wasn't on the beach and didn't notice that while booking but on a brighter note you can use the hotel buffet linked to the riu but there food wasn't great! They have about a 8 min walk to the beach or you can wait and there's a golf cart that brings you to the beach ! Beach was clean and staff were friendly! Every night at 930 they had a show that was great! Every night there was a different show! Awesome ! I would def book there again next time in Mexico ! Also here's another tip ! If you can change your money at your bank before going to Mexico ! When I went they were giving 1 USA dollar for every 18 pesos. If I would have changed it here in the states I would have gotten 21 pesos for every dollar . The shops all have different currency exchanges . All items and excursions are negotiable so don't get suckered ! Have a great time in Mexico and drink some tequila !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

👍

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Just returned from our 2nd stay at the RIU Tequila. My wife and I love it, laid back Mex atmosphere, good food/drinks, beautiful beach. Short walk to town, bet we'll be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Mold in the rooms

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: All inclusive. Did'nt have to worry about meals and alcohol. Except on New Year's eve when they only had one resturant open and it was full.
Cons: Customer service
Location: Playa Del Carmen is a great little city right next to RIU resort.
4. My girlfriend and I arrived at RIU Tequila resort on Monday December 26th, 2016 late due to the airline delays. We had dinner and shrugged it off. We stayed in room 2706 at the resort. On Wednesday the 28th, 2016 my girlfriend complained about feeling sick and I noticed mold in the shower. I promptly reported this to the front desk and they sent someone on Thursday 29th, 2016 to clean the shower. She continued to get sick so I kept looking and found a lot more mold in the bathroom itself. It is December 31st at this point when I advised the front desk that they had to do something. That is when I started feeling sick. I remember the exact moment I told the front desk because I was trying to find a place to eat for New Years Eve and was denied entry to the Gala that night. My girlfriend spent the next three days sick and taking whatever over the counter medicine we could find. They never once asked how they could help us or even offered to move us to another room. Our vacation was basically over halfway through it. Now I know it may be hard to believe, so I took pictures and both of us went to the doctor when we got home to show you what the mold gave us. The pictures will be attached to my email to you and if you need the doctor’s diagnosis, it can be provided. We arrived back to Nashville early on January 4th due to airline delays again and I went to the doctor on January 5th, 2017 where I was diagnosed with and treated for Pneumonia from the mold exposure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs a massive update.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The hotel needs a massive update. Everything looked very dated. Saving grace was amazing service by the staff. Other Rius in the vicinity were much better looking.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids,MI

the hotel is nice but far away of the beach

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: the pool, the pool service is pretty good, the team for entitlement the same good, the plaza of good and tidy.
Cons: as I stated, you could improve the menu and better check the composition of the food that is served in the Cabinet for food
Location: the hotel is in a good area and can be used and the other hotels of the RIU tequila and safe
The hotel is a neat ,check in we quickly and without problems, and it's unfortunately all I can happen at the reception of a different kind of help does not exist we asked for help for taxi but we didn't get they sent us everywhere just to disturb them, service in the room and clean-up is great, the food was clean and super but there's not enough salami of chicken , Turkey and beef, and if there is no clear inscriptions on the composition of the food they don't eat all the pork due to health or religious reasons
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from el sibrante, ca

The worse place a person can stay.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Horrible experience. Worse place to stay. It was infested with the worse and ugly animals you can imagine. They were everywhere you sat. I cried all night and had anxiety attack. The room smelled like mildew. There were ants everywhere. I will definitely take this up with Expedia!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

we will be back

Posted Oct 31, 2016
everything was outstanding this time as it was last april. we will be back again. the food was outstanding (bacon, bacon, bacon). then help bent over backwords to help. the beach was very good also even if you had to walk there. it was a short 10 minute walk.they have a 7 person gulf car to take to and from the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Bernardino, CA

Simple one of the best

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: A few blocks from 5th Ave.
Exelent every thing, food, location, rooms, loby, real frendly staf.