Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from el sibrante, ca

The worse place a person can stay.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Horrible experience. Worse place to stay. It was infested with the worse and ugly animals you can imagine. They were everywhere you sat. I cried all night and had anxiety attack. The room smelled like mildew. There were ants everywhere. I will definitely take this up with Expedia!!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buen hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: Todo esta muy cerca por ser playa del carmen una ciudad no muy grande
Hotel muy amplio con buenos lugares para comer y muy bonito
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

we will be back

Posted Oct 31, 2016
everything was outstanding this time as it was last april. we will be back again. the food was outstanding (bacon, bacon, bacon). then help bent over backwords to help. the beach was very good also even if you had to walk there. it was a short 10 minute walk.they have a 7 person gulf car to take to and from the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel mas o menos

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: servicio
Cons: creo que necesita una remodelacion en los cuartos
El hotel es antiguo, los cuartos se ven viejos, la atencion es buena, la comida es buena, pero la proxima vez me quedaria en el riu yucatan que tiene acceso a la playa
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from O

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Love my stay the staff was super cool, the jalisco buffet was delicious, there late shows next to the bar were just great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

not as nice as initially thought.....

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: breakfast buffet was good and staff was very nice
Cons: rooms are terribly outdated and look like they have not been renovated in 20+ years!!!
I booked this hotel thru Expedia which gave the property a pretty good rating (4.2 stars) and while the surrounding grounds, buildings are nice, the hotel rooms are terribly outdated! The staff is very nice though and did a great job welcoming us to the hotel. Once we got to our rooms though, everything went downhill. The locks on the doors are difficult to open, the room decorations look like they have been there since the 1970's, air conditioning does not work too well and even and electric socket came completely out when I was removing a plug. We booked the hotel for 3 nights and only stayed 1. When we checked out early, we were not even asked why...so I assume this happens a lot. With that being said, the breakfast buffet was very good and again, the staff was great. I would NOT stay here again though! Too many other good choices in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buen hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Todo excelente, a excepción de los animales en la alberca.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice environment, pleasant!

Posted Sep 21, 2016
I stayed 7 days and we enjoyed RT, the staff is nice, the food very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No me encanto el Hotel Riu Tequila

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Cerca de la Quinta Avenida
Cons: Remodelacion total
Location: Cerca de los parques y Quinta Avenida
Hotel No esta ubicado frente a la playa, hay que caminar MUCHO para llegar a ella. Hotel esta muy deteriorado. Techo de algunos gazebo del area piscina dañados, cojines sillas area piscina rotos.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Awesome!

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Nice, close enough to the beach, excellent food, no hassle a la carte dinning, staff attentive to detail. Will be back.