Ratings based on 725 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Middle of the road facility; not sure I'll be back

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Cons: A/C in rooms. And have WIFI in rooms.
Location: Cenotes were wonderful. Beach was very nice & clean. lots Lobby has a crowd of vendors pushing all kinds of outings, so it's easy to find something
Pros: Clean. Food was decent. Staff was nice, except for Joshua at front desk. Boy, did he have an attitude! Everyone else was helpful, kind and competent. Check-in and check-out was painless. Grounds were always in perfect condition. It was relatively easy to get drinks. Service in restaurants was good. Cons: A/C barely worked. Very, very humid in the room. Swimming pool water was so hot, that it felt better being OUTSIDE the pool. Nothing refreshing about that. Only place with free WIFI was in lobby, and it's open air, so one must suffer the heat and humidity. Asian restaurant's food was just terrible, but everywhere else was good. Minibar had decent tequila, but none of the other liquors were worth consuming (bad, bad!).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p dallas

Nice hotel for the money

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: check in , landscaping , staff and the restaraunts are decent (ribeye at the steakhouse was the the winner) ... Cons : place shuts down early . No room service , pools are very warm . Avoid the food in the sports bar at all cost .. Very far walk from beach .. If you go stop and buy tons of bottle water and natural sunscreen and bug spray ... You will have to buy on all exclusions . Save the money ..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Posted Jul 16, 2016
This was our second time staying at the Riu Tequila. We brought my in-laws and our five year old with us this time around. This was by far my favorite vacation. The food, staff, and entertainment was on point. We will be returning on our next trip to Mexico.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff great food

Posted Jul 15, 2016
We enjoyed our stay very much, staff was friendly,professional & accomadating. Food was wonderful & plentyful. A family friendly place. Would return again. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Nice hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Loved the hotel and staff only wished reservations for dinner could be extended a bit longer.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Everything was great, the staff were very helpful and very nice. I wasn't too happy about the club being renovated doing my stay but I everything else made up for it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Our Stay

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: The hotel was clean and well maintained. The amenities and free activities included were relaxing and fun.
Cons: The food including the 3 free restaurants were sub par.
Location: There is the pool with activities conducted by the entertainment staff all day. The beach is close by. There is a Sports bar and nightly shows.
Overall our stay was great. The only hiccup was transportation to and from the airport. On the way back to the airport at the end of our stay, the hotel staff provided us a return taxi shuttle to the airport for 7 people at the price of 750 pesos. The staff member Joshua mentioned it was the friend of one of the hotel staff. We get to the airport and pay the 750 and the driver asks for 1500 saying he has nothing to do with the hotel and would not except credit card. I got the hotel on the phone specifically, Joshua and he acted like he knew nothing about it. We did not want to miss out flight and the driver riled up the local people and authorities, so we ended up paying him the cash. Basically, the hotel staff and the driver colluded to take advantage of American tourists who had a language barrier. It was completely unacceptable and ruined the entire trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Hace falta mas tiempo de transportacion para la pl

Posted May 17, 2016
Lo unico que no me gusto los colchones muy duro lo demas super bien
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Great Hotel. Fantastic value

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Large resort with small hotel feel, it never felt over crowded
Location: 10 minutes from downtown Playa Del Carmen
What a great resort! The pool, restaurants, bars, rooms were all fantastic. Of all of the all inclusive hotels I've stayed at the Riu Tequila had by far the best food and food selection I've ever had. There is easy access to the beach that is a very short walk or a golf cart ride away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would not recommend this hotel

Posted May 5, 2016
I went to this hotel and found the food was not satisfactory what so ever. I like good food so I was looking forward to good food and it was very hard to find at this hotel not to mention the one decent restaurant that is sit down (all other are buffet) has to have a reservation that you must make each morning by 10:30