Ratings based on 762 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel mas o menos

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: servicio
Cons: creo que necesita una remodelacion en los cuartos
El hotel es antiguo, los cuartos se ven viejos, la atencion es buena, la comida es buena, pero la proxima vez me quedaria en el riu yucatan que tiene acceso a la playa
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from O

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Love my stay the staff was super cool, the jalisco buffet was delicious, there late shows next to the bar were just great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

not as nice as initially thought.....

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: breakfast buffet was good and staff was very nice
Cons: rooms are terribly outdated and look like they have not been renovated in 20+ years!!!
I booked this hotel thru Expedia which gave the property a pretty good rating (4.2 stars) and while the surrounding grounds, buildings are nice, the hotel rooms are terribly outdated! The staff is very nice though and did a great job welcoming us to the hotel. Once we got to our rooms though, everything went downhill. The locks on the doors are difficult to open, the room decorations look like they have been there since the 1970's, air conditioning does not work too well and even and electric socket came completely out when I was removing a plug. We booked the hotel for 3 nights and only stayed 1. When we checked out early, we were not even asked why...so I assume this happens a lot. With that being said, the breakfast buffet was very good and again, the staff was great. I would NOT stay here again though! Too many other good choices in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buen hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Todo excelente, a excepción de los animales en la alberca.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice environment, pleasant!

Posted Sep 21, 2016
I stayed 7 days and we enjoyed RT, the staff is nice, the food very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No me encanto el Hotel Riu Tequila

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Cerca de la Quinta Avenida
Cons: Remodelacion total
Location: Cerca de los parques y Quinta Avenida
Hotel No esta ubicado frente a la playa, hay que caminar MUCHO para llegar a ella. Hotel esta muy deteriorado. Techo de algunos gazebo del area piscina dañados, cojines sillas area piscina rotos.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L


Posted Sep 18, 2016
Nice, close enough to the beach, excellent food, no hassle a la carte dinning, staff attentive to detail. Will be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

It is so nice to be able to use all 3 Riu resorts.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Riu tequila has always been my favorite but it seems to have gone downhill a little this year. The pool was dirty, bed was very hard. Saw cups and cans laying on the grounds (never saw that before). Thank god we were able to use the Riu Playacar resort everyday for pool and beach time. I would still recomend Riu Tequila to friends and hope that this week isnt representative of the future of Riu Tequila.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Over all good food, closed to the beach

Posted Sep 9, 2016
It was a pleasant experience for the most part. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful except for the reception staff. There were not Expedia representatives available when needed. We had access to other Riu hotels wich made it very convenient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver Co

Third Riu, Third place.

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Clean and another consistent Riu
Cons: Getting older, needs a makeover.
Location: Great location with activities available and the beach 10 minutes away.
This place is nice. Like other reviews point out it's older but still charming and the staff works hard. This is our third time in a RIU and it's not as nice as the others but still I'd go back. Food is decent and no pushy timeshare reps that won't give you any peace. For me, the distance to the beach is just too far to make this place a preferred destination. Considering it's a 10 minute walk, that makes me lazy I suppose. Guilty. For my fellow Americans, depending on how you see it, the lack of other Americans in this hotel can either be a deal breaker, or a reason to go. For us it was still fun. I think most of the country of England was there and that is cool, just tell them to speak slower when drinking and do NOT try and keep up! If you can't have fun with them, you just can't have fun. Lastly, the staff really mostly only speaks Spanish. But it's Mexico so I blame me not them for me not knowing more of the native language. They work hard and do it with a smile. Rosey was tending bar at the swim up, and she was awesome.