Ratings based on 543 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good food, great drinks,nice staff, amazing beach.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Place was great and safe, staff were very friendly. Food was good and drinks were great. Beach was amazing. Walking distance of a small shopping plaza.Family friendly, kids have a lot to do. Enjoyed night shows. Would recommend staying more than 5 days if you want to do the wonderful tours to be able to enjoy the beach more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach!

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Great staff! Many activities to participate in through the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A quick Winter get-away.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: The food was abundant and very good. the atmosphere was one of fun and carefree relaxing entertainment.
Cons: If possible, clean the air ducts in the rooms. A moldy odor can be detected in all the rooms I entered.
Location: The location was excellent and convenient to Carmen Del Playa. Very beautiful grounds.
All of our experiences on the Yucatan peninsula have been positive, but this stay was the best! I felt very comfortable at this resort. The poolside activities were very enjoyable and I made some friends from getting up and dancing with Senor Jerry. There were people from all over the world there and they were having an awesome vacation, too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rui Yucatan

Posted Apr 7, 2017
This resort was great! Very clean the food was excellent and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Added bonus there are all kinds of wild life running around the resort. The size of the resort is perfect so guest don't feel on top of each other but you don't have to walk miles to food and activities either. Can't wait to come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent all inclusive

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: The only restaurant that was good in this hotel was the dinner buffet. I was surprised that the buffet was better than the a la carte restaurants.
Cons: The a la carte restaurants were ridicoulous. Literally similar quality to getting dinner at a hospital cafeteria. Luckily the buffet was good.
Location: Going to Playa del Carmen 5th ave was fun. $12 taxi ride for 6 people. Safe and fun.
I was hoping this might be a better overall experience. It wasn't bad, but not great. The best thing about it was the beach. That area of beach was awesome. We stayed at a resort right very close to this last year, and decided we liked the beach, but figured we should try something different. I regret not just going back to the other resort. I thought Riu might be awesome, but it was instead moderately nice. My brother has a time share at a close by resort that is about 150 yards down the beach from this place and he always says the feels like he is treated like a king when he is there. I thought he is was being silly, but sure enough when we stayed at his resort, it was awesome. At Riu Yucatan we were treated nicely, about like you would get at a McDonald or something, but no above and beyond treatment the whole week we were there. One thing that I didn't understand well when we booked was that by staying at Riu Yucatan we could only use the facilities at Riu Playacar and Riu Tequila. We could not eat dinner at those resorts however, just lunch and probably breakfast. And we could not go on to the any of the three Riu Palace properties. For some reason I thought that we would be able to use all of the Riu properties when I booked, but it wasn't till a while later that I figured it out. Also I was suprised by the ammount of partying and drinking. I'm not a prude and shocked by people enjoying themselves, but it wasn't as family friendly as I thought it would be
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near a beautiful beach

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Wildlife at the resort, pool, beach
Cons: Food
Location: You can walk, bike, or take a taxi to the many other Riu resorts as well as a street with lots of shopping for a $5 cab ride.
This hotel is a great getaway for the money. The pool areas can accommodate just about anyone. There's a quiet relaxing pool near the hotel with a bar, or 2 pools closer to the beach with bars, music, and entertainment. There was lots of seating for people who want sun or shade. The breeze off the ocean was amazing. Rooms were clean everyday with fun animals made out of the towels. There was only one issue with the a/c one night which made for a warm night but they had it fixed the next day. The only difference from other results that I've paid more for is the food. But like I mentioned, for the price you really cant complain. All the staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great in all respects. Beach, Pools, Restaurants

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Location: Water activities, shopping, relaxing
Spent 9 days and it was wonderful. Couldn't ask for more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Great stay!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
This is our 3rd time at this resort and we will go back again. We just love it! And it is in our price range which is a factor. The food is good, the staff is wonderful. It is very clean and we loved sitting on the beach all day. The only down side is that the entertainment in the evening ranges from wonderful to mediocre. The beds were hard, but we knew that. The room was very clean and the air conditioning worked well. So we would recommend this resort to anyone!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Staff was less then friendly. Food was good Room was large
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everyone at the front desk should be fired and you should hire people who are trained in the customer service field.
I wish I could give this hotel a negative 10. We have stayed at many hotels in this area in the past and this one was painfully horrible. The customer service is none existent. My husband came a day early to surprise me and the kids and he wasn't allowed to stay in our room because the computer system wouldn't allow them to add an additional person. They knew we were now stuck at their hotel and forced to purchase a second room. Unfortunately, this wasn't the end of it. My daughter turned 11 during our stay and they insisted on charging us extra because for her age! By the end of our trip we ended up being charged twice the amount we thought our stay would cost! We had to visit the front desk a few times a day because they kept messing up our reservation. We also asked for extra pillows and water but got nothing. I could go on and on but I'm limited in characters :) There are plenty of great all inclusives in this area that great you warmly and know how to take care of their guests.