Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not what we expected

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Beach
Cons: The rooms
Location: Market nearby.
Hotel and food were good. Ocean view from pool area is beautiful and the beach was clean. The amount of people our first two days at the pool area was crazy. Cleared out day three and was better. Mexican restaurant and Italian were worth it but the steakhouse was a bit disappointing. Cons: no coffee maker in the rooms, no alarm clock/clock in rooms, drawers were musty, power kept turning off, one walkway for entire complex so there was a constant traffic flow of people all day (so many people!!) Pros: good coffee at the lobby bar, beach, market an easy 10 minute walk away, reps in the lobby all day for excursions and shuttles, kid friendly place. Will not stay with Riu again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Room has no luxury and hotel is crowded

Posted Feb 21, 2017
No coffee maker, no conditioner, body wash or robe. No alarm clock. Furniture worn, closet doors stuck, dresser musty, liqour dispensor broken. Crowded pool, bars and beach. A kid and children and family place. swim up bar is small but can see the ocean. Nice beach and decent food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Nothing like the pictures

Posted Jan 31, 2017
The pictures make the place look bright, modern, fun. Relaxing. And it was the complete opposite. The rooms lighting were dimmed and uncomforable. My sheets were stained when I got to my room. The drawers were dirty. And the restaurant's food was boring and bland. This hotel's pictures set me up for high expectations. it was nothing like I expected it to be. I spent as least amount of time there as possible so I forgot to take pictures. Lucky them. Oh and bring your own towels cause theirs are old and dingie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2017
It was a very relaxing trip. I went with my two daughters ages 17 and 29 and they both had something to do at all times. I wish I stayed for a couple more days.there are many excursions within 30 minutes of the hotel. The sunrise on the beach is incredible
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ma

Nice hotel,but...

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Staff,location
Cons: Yes, it should be definitely warm water in all pools,also rooms,especially bathrooms could be updated as well
Location: It is right at the beach;mini shopping center very close by,about 5min walk
Resort need changes ,updates,especially with water in all pools,including kids pool which was very cold.Staff is very friendly,helpful and kind.Food is ok, you can always find something for yourself. We came here with 4 kids and we wanted to show them something more than resort,so we booked 2 trips via Expedia representative in the hotel.He was totally not oriented about this tours,with on clue about details like transportation,timing etc. We ended up spending most of the day in the bus,very dissapointed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Everything was great! The staff was so beyond nice. The resort was clean and exactly what I wanted .....a minute walk from the water
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spring Creek, NV

nice hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Basic room condition..our sink and shower drained slowly, and A/C could not be adjusted. Nightly shows were not fabulous.
Location: Walk to 5th avenue was a little farther than we anticipated. Took a taxi back for about 7 dollars..well worth it!
this hotel is nice..The food was adequate, nothing fabulous, but many options and overall filled the need. The bars were good..staffed well, quick service. The beach access was great, nice sand, clean beach, lots of lounge chairs, and people willing to go grab more chairs if needed. The room was adequate, in need of minor repairs. Most exception part of this hotel was the staff. All extremely friendly and helpful. Vidal at registration was amazing! Also good to note..there are representatives from many travel companies in the lobby of the hotel..we booked a couple of excursions from them. We also used Happy Shuttle service to get to and from airport. They did a great job..highly recommend driver Alejandro. He was superb. Had we known he did excursions as well as airport shuttle, we would have booked with him.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Nice hotel on the beach.
Location: There are ruins that you can walk to by the gates going into the community. A fun place to visit.
This was our first time to Playa del Carmen and it was a good vacation. The resort is a basic Central American set up. Very basic, but good. Lot's of wild life, monkeys, coati, etc. A couple of reviews complained about the animals, but that would be like complaining about squirrels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Good place on a budget

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Clean, helpful staff, dining options, drinks were good. Good place to go on a budget
Cons: Bleach smell in rooms, temperature in rooms
Location: Minimal shopping and small placed to eat within the complex
The staff was nice and helpful. The rooms were clean but smelled like bleach from the water treatments. It was not too crowded so it was always easy to find a seat at the pool or on the beach. No problems making dinner reservations. Air conditioning was set to a certain temp and could not be changed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, beautiful beach.But Not all good!!!

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: Read above .
Hotel is nice, beach is beautiful. But Expedia advertised that you can use other RIU resorts in the area for drinks and lunches and dinners-THIS IS NOT TRUE AT ALL. I was told I could have lunch and lunch only at one other RIU hotel. And I had to get the proper paperwork from the front desk? Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. But one of the Desk clerks was very rude and unfriendly. He actually told me I should lean how to speak Spanish before I came to Mexico-No Joke he actually said that??? His manager was just as disappointing, her comment was "I'll have a talk with him". I wish I could attach her email back to me. So great beach & nice room. I'll definitely be back in Playa Del Carmen very soon, but not at any of the RIU PROPERTIES AND NOT WITH EXPEDIA EITHER. Rick