Ratings based on 422 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Highly disappointing

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Beach
Location: Get excursions at reasonable prices.
Down there for vacation during my Daughter's 21st birthday, talked with the hotel staff to get them to decorate her. Well they decorated the me and my wife's room. They also said they would have a birthday cake for her at dinner, we guess what that never happened. Highly disappointed. Will never stay at a RIU resort again. They also said we could go to other RIU resorts there, we did only to get rejected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2016
We booked this trip as a last minute get away. We have been to Cancun, Riviera Maya several times. I loved this location the best of anywhere we have stayed in Mexico. There was a Starbucks within walking distance and the hotel was in a very secure area. The beach was beautiful and We loved Playa del Carmen. Lots of restaurants and shopping but it still felt like a quaint authentic town. We would go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: The staff!!
Cons: The mini fridge needs updating, does not keep drinks cold....
Location: Too many things to do to list, have fun!!
3rd visit, love Playa Del Carmen, and the Riu Resorts are always nice!! Just do not not choose the cheapest Riu...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Christmas trip

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Beach, pool, hammocks. pool side chairs.
Cons: food, internet service, rooms
Location: good location. 50 minutes from airport. market was within walking distance
The pool, beach, bar areas, chairs, hammocks, were all very nice. Bartenders were friendly and pleasant. The desk help was average. We were not impressed with the food in fact after the second night two of the three of us had stomach issues. We are not sure if it was food, water, ice. The entertainment was sub par. The gym was average. We had a towel and a pair of flip flops stolen from our beach chair when we left for a short walk. The internet in lobby and common areas were off more than on. I had to make a few phone calls and calls were dropped. Bring a set of cards, they sell them in gift shop for $16 American dollars. They want $25-$30 for a bottle of sunscreen. We walked down to a market down the road and found sunscreen for 200 peso's =$ 14. I would spend a little extra for a 5 star establishment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Big hotel, close to beach and food.

Posted Dec 21, 2015
We were given a room far from beach and pools on second floor, without an elevator, and with a stroller and 5 bags. I complained that we didn't appreciate that inconvenience and that no one even helped us to the room. 20 steps with a baby and stroller and bags wasn't what I expected. Rosaro helped us and changed the room to a much closer room by pools and beach (and first floor) but we had to wait until the next afternoon. The employees were helpful, and the resort was clean. Besides the room beds being very uncomfortable and the troubles at check in with the room, the stay was pleasant. The entertainment wasn't great and they should have more activities for kids in the lobby and pool side to make the stay fun for them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: location and entertainment.
Location: shops about 2 blocks away and down town Playa is about a 25 minute walk or $15 cab ride.
We stayed there 5 years ago and enjoyed it. We were a little worried going back after 5 years. We were very please at all the updates they have done. Entertainment was great. All the Riu hotel in this location would be a good choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great placeto stay!

Posted Nov 13, 2015
I went two weeks and had a great time! Went with a group of friends for 4 night, everyone was wonderful. The rooms were clean, food was good, great vibes in general! But i cant explain how great the service was!!! Will definitely come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by CHRIS S.

Great Vacation

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Orbitz
The resort and staff were wonderful. The restaurants and the food were fantastic. Will definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cucuta, COL

A very relaxing hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2015
The hotel has lots of facilities to relax. It has its own beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cucuta, COL

Nice hotel with everything inclusive.

Posted Nov 5, 2015
The hotel has such a good facilities. It has its own beach, 2 big pools and 3 bars.