Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Great value nice location

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Food was great, hotel was clean, facilities were nice. Location to everything was great. Workers were nice and friendly. Rooms were clean but a little loud. It seemed like the doors slammed so hard when closing, you could hear Everyone in the building close their doors which was the only bad part.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.S.A florida

I really enjoy Riu Yucatan I had an amazing time

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff and awesome food
Cons: The bathroom in Lobby
Location: Cancun playa car great shopping and could walk there
Beautiful place great service food amazing would definately go back . I really enjoy my vacation will miss you very much Riu Yucatan 😃
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Front desk is very welcoming and accommodating; Hotel grounds, all facilities and beach are ket very clean; Greay food choices and themed buffets.
Cons: Seating times for specialty restaurants are either too early or too late. Some rooms need to be more thoroughly cleaned from mold.
Location: Location is great. Close to Plaza Playacar.
Really nice family vacation. Hotel worked out from kids and adults. Mexican themed night were really exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Hills, Ca.

Beachfront-Great location-Excellent service!!

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: We liked the service which was always superior. The a la carte restaurants were a nice change from the buffet and had good choices from the menu.
Cons: I can't think of anything except the humidity and mosquitos which can;t be helped!
Location: Walking distance to a local shopping outdoor mall and a Starbucks. The sister hotels were close by; we felt there was no need to use their facilities
After reading many reviews about Riu Yucatan, I decided to book our trip here. The rooms were clean and well stocked with cold drinks in the refrigerator. The buffet had many choices to choose from and the a la carte restaurants were worth getting up at 7am to book. The white sand beach was beautiful but there were days the seaweed was very bad. They tried to clean up daily and haul away. The last day we were there, the water was an amazing 4 shades of blue, made for a picture perfect moment. We booked a Cozumel snorkeling trip with H20 Cozumel which I highly recommend. I never understood visitors who choose to stay every day at the resort and don't like to experience what the country has to offer. Drinking all day in the pool bar area is just plain GROSS! You won;t be disappointed with this hotel; the service was exceptional!!! We enjoyed the Michael Jackson show and the Mariachis. It was a great vacation all in all!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Worse experience

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: only the location. nothing about the hotel itself.
Cons: Everything from the hotel to the staff.
Location: Close to La Quinta (downtown).
I've stayed at several RIU's in the past and have always had a good experience which is why I decided to stay at a RIU for my vacation in Playa del Carmen. There are several RIU's in playa, some of which are less expensive than RIU Yucatan but we decided to stay this hotel because it was recently renovated and its located on the beach. As soon as I walked into the Lobby I was disappointed with look. It just doesn't feel like you're at a hotel in Mexico. But anyway, I wish that would've been the only issue. So we got there early around 8am and checked in. The room we we're given looked like a run down motel, it was dirty, the furniture was worn out, there were bug stains on the walls and I just didn't want to stay there at all after that. So I complained to the staff at the lobby and they took me to 3 different rooms to see if I liked any of them, and they all looked the same. I wanted to speak to a Manager and one of the staff members there did call the Manager but as soon as he showed up another guy said something to him and he left. I couldn't even speak to the manager! I spent several hours at the lobby trying to see if they could move me to a better room or to a different hotel, but they said I had no other choice but to stay. They finally got me a different room that was cleaner but the room was still ugly, nothing like any of the other RIU's I've stayed at. Other issues include rude staff, horrible drinks at the bars, dirty pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was great having an all inclusive plan.

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Helpful staff, good food, nice pools etc.
Cons: need better interaction with the various shuttles to and from airport.
Location: i enjoyed a brief trip into the town of playa del carmen where I purchased some turquise and silver jewellery
My niece from Canada had a nice wedding & reception on the beach. 45 people flew in from Canada and US. Ocean water was great for swimming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

First Line beach Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Location, customer service, food quality.
Cons: Jetsky should be used only for tourist . Blankets kept into the room closets should be cleanned and checked more frequently.
Location: Close to the Playa del Carmen but separated and secure.
Overall was great. Blankets kept into the closet too dusty, they looked that never had been into the washer. 90% of all jetsky movements are for non-tourist reasons. Every time a jetsky cross by from one side to another you have the Noise and the Gasoline Smell around the beach, and the worst part is that it is used most of the time for non tourist people, only to move worker form one side to another at max speed. The beach is flooded of seeweeds, the first 15 feets are totally mixed with seedweds, water color is brown. The hotel view is very nice, the staff attention is very efficient, they work all day to keep every thing clean, good service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Horrible experience.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
I have stayed in many RIU hotels in the past Including one of my stays being my sisters wedding about 5 years ago. That being a great experience at the RIU Santa Fe in Cabo. Yet this is by far the worse hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms were extremely dirty and the furniture seemed old and worn out. Not only were the rooms nothing like the pictures or what we expected the staff in this RIU is nothing like I have ever experienced. When we wanted to share our concerns to the manager he was nowhere in sight. Although this is not the cheaper RIU hotel in playa del Carmen it sure felt that way. We decided to visit RIU tequila across the street and it was night in day the service was amazing and the staff was extremely accommodating. I cannot speak for their rooms but the service was like the RIU's I have experienced. We thought paying for a more expensive RIU would benefit our stay yet we were wrong. I do not recommend this hotel. What I do recommend is the RIU Palace Mexico the service was great, the food, and rooms were very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great time

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Everything is close, nice medium sized resort.
Cons: more variety of food during lunch
Location: we love Xcaret and Tulum
This was our 5th time at the RIU Yucatan. We love bartenders Noemi and Cruz they have been working at the resort for more than 8 years. Waiter Victor always had our drinks and anything we asked for at our table for dinner. The only negative was the few people that got too drunk at the pool bar. The beach and grounds were beautiful as always. We can't wait for our 6th stay at the Yucatan. we had our 18 and 21 yr old children and 1 of their girlfriends on the trip and everyone had a fantastic time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
loved the hotel very friendly staff the room we had was very quiet location the beach was beautiful and a lot of things to do and lots of lounge chairs on the beach