Ratings based on 823 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good for a weekend getaway

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Weve never stayed at an all inclusive, so this was all new for us. Villa rooms were in the process of being renovated - our assigned luxury garden view had no garden view, a broken safe, non functioning remote , missing table lamps and an overflowing toilet. There was no concierge at our villa to help us. Eventually changed to a better villa with a nice garden view. As the meals are all inclusive, we were not ready to be on the other side of consumer/clent services. It was very difficult to find dinner availability between 6:30 and 9pm. Restaurants claimed they were fully booked despite many empty tables. We were advised we could always eat in our room 24/7! You must reserve dining prior to arrival. As well, the beach was quite windy so the spectacular pools with ocean views were busy. unfortunately, there are not enough pool lounges for guests, guests were claiming chairs at 6am! The beach is truly spectacular, the hotel grounds are lovely and the food was excellent. Staff is very friendly, but not very accommodating. Drinks are watered down and the house wines need improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broward,Florida

THIS IS THE PLACE TO TAKE A TRUE VACATION

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Everything.I truly likes everything about R H . mainly it is ADULT only!
Location: We didnt do anything nearby as everyday there on the resort was paradise with great weather!
What is there to say that other reviewers have not already said... The place is phenomenal.. the food is fantastic, the facilities are top notch, the staff especially the pool staff mainly; Javier are great,hard workers. This vacation was very effortless due to pleasantry and helpfulness of the staff from check in to check out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We loved everything about the resort...

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Cons: We would suggest another bar open earlier in the day near the main lobby for arriving and departing guests, and another option for non-beach patrons.
Location: didn't venture out...
The hotel was beautiful. The staff excellent; gracious, accommodating, and kind. We felt like the price matched our expectations regarding the resort in every way. A great value. We would suggest another bar open earlier in the day near the main lobby for arriving and departing guests, and another option for non-beach patrons. Also, what happened to dancing during, after, in lieu of dinner? Why no discotheque? Everyone loves to dance or at least people watch...right?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would recommend to others

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The beach was beautiful with white sands. The resort had enough chairs and the view from the daytime eating areas was great. The restaurants were wonderful and always looked forward to the presentation. The service was excellent and many thanks to Santiago for our morning lattees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.W. Iowa

Love this resort. Definitely will return.

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Food, beverages and breach are heavenly...but, the staff is even better!! Beautiful grounds and accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aurora

Nice hotel located on a very clean beach

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The staff was pleasant and always greeting you! The food was absolutely amazing but our favourite was Palazzo Italian Restaurant. The hotel is located in a gated community of Playacar and the hotel also has 24 hour security and gated so we felt very safe. As for entertainment there was only one show that we saw which was Jersey Boys and they were very good. Overall it's a quiet resort for Adults only. If you want a nightclub atmosphere you would have to go to Playa del Carmen which is a 7 min cab ride.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

quick get-away

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: clean rooms, attentive service
Cons: more breakfast and lunch options at the other restaurants there are only 2 restaurants that serve food before 5pm also, the service is slow ;(
The Royal Hideaway is a little gem. We found the staff to be incredible - very nice, gracious, attentive. The grounds were very clean and the service, impeccable. The clientele is a bit older; we are in our early 40's and felt as though we were the youngest there. But, having the peace and quiet to come home to is nice. Playacar is a fabulous neighborhood. It's very safe and filled with people bustling around. And, downtown Playa is a quick walk from the resort - through neighborhoods or on the beach. Lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful hotel in a garden like setting.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Beautiful hotel in a garden like setting right on the beach. Wonderful staff. Lovely room. Comfy bed. Good food. The beach is spectacular. The spa was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ

Very nice place, elegant but unpretentious.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Everything. We never had the pleasure of a personal concierge; William in Villa 26 was ours and he was extremely helpful.
Cons: A firmer bed would have been nice.
Location: Beautiful, well groomed beach. We walked the beach about a mile north to Playa Del Carmen and spent the day shopping & eating.
Enjoyed everything about the Royal Hideaway. Beautiful place, warm & friendly staff (attentive but not overbearing), good food, top shelf drinks, very nice room and CLEAN.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great Resort For A Relaxed Getaway

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Almost everything. Favorite restaurants on site were Spices and The Grill. Our first night meal at Spices was by far the best we had -service & food
Cons: Very little. The phones in our room seemed to be problematic. The teppanyaki table at Azia was not at the level we had hoped but Sushi was great!
Location: We didn't really need to leave - everything was there! A spa for massages. Dive excursions leaving from the beach for Snorkeling!
We spent 4 days at Royal Hideaway and will definitely come back. The resort was just what we wanted - a relaxed getaway to a beautiful beach without the noise and Disneyland activities that you get at some of the non-adult only resorts. The grounds were immaculate. The staff was friendly, attentive and always helpful. Food was above average for all-inclusive resorts and alcohol choices were top shelf. And the view at the pools and beach were worth every penny!