Ratings based on 794 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan, Canada

Small Resort, amazing beach. Construction annoying

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Overall we enjoyed our stay. Pros: our concierge Gerardo did all he could to accommodate every request. Daniel at the pool was always there to set you up on the beach with towels and sun covers. The food was wonderful, we only had one buffet that we weren't fond of but you're always full so can't complain. The resort is a very nice size so the walk to the beach is short. Cons: The construction was really hard to listen to after a few days and we didn't get to go to the dinner theatre because of it which was one thing I looked forward to. Music was only by the pools which left you only listening to drills hammers etc. Service was slow on the beach at times but the servers are oh so friendly. Zero nightlife so it was a relaxing vacation versus entertaining. The food was the entertainment since the meals were about 2 hours long.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

grest beach and service

Posted Nov 24, 2016
The place is great. Close to the beach and the staff waits on you at the beach The waiters and all the staff are great. Our third time to be there. Will go back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

relaxing paradise

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: the relaxing atmosphere and no crowds.
Cons: the dining experience. they should have one restaurant with informal dining. and I couldn't figure out why I couldn't get the hour I wanted to eat.
Location: Beside the water sports you can go out and walk and find stores to shop
the accommodations and staff are great. The only gripe is the inflexibility with dining schedules. I also did not like the fact that all restaurants have a dress code for dinner. Part of relaxing is not to have to dress up. though the hotel wasn't full we could not get the time we wanted to dine, either too early or too late. Other than that it was an excellent place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Excellent adults only hotel , with beautiful beach

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Cuisine and staff are second to none! Unfortunately during our stay the resort is undergoing major renovations so all of their amenities were not available to us during our stay. That being said the trip was nevertheless a great experience and I would recommend this resort to others with the caveat that they should check with the resort regarding the renovations before deciding to book!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great resort, service and food.

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: The employees set this resort apart from all others we have visited.
Cons: Wish the showers were a little larger.
Location: Great location in Playacar which we felt very safe. About an hour ride from the airport.
We stayed for 8 days and it was wonderful. Food the best of any resort we have visited. All of the employees were great. We ate dinner at the Italian restaurant 3 times and all meals were over the top. Beach was wonderful. No rain the entire time there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our stay are amazing and the butler Aldo was great

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The food was amazing and the Butler Aldo was amazing. The beaches and pool was beautiful.
Cons: All the restaurants was al carte and somenights was a buffet
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not a paryt resort!!! Perfect!!!

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: You can walk to 5th avenue, but there is no reason to ever leave the property except for snorkeling or scuba.
Everything about Royal Hideaway was exceptional. The beach is very mellow and safe. The food was nothing short of incredible. The staff seemed to always have an eye on us in order to be ready for any of our needs to be met. Every other hotel we saw seemed to be jam packed with party people. If you're looking to be a loud drunken idiot, then don't stay here. It is an exemplary quiet and calm vacation resort. Despite the hotel being booked, we rarely even saw other guests, save for at the restaurants. This is the only place my wife and I will ever stay at.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great experience - would go again

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: The staff was great and very accommodating - always willing and anxious to help. Beaches and pools were outstanding and really comfortable to spend the day at. Grounds were well kept, and beautiful.
Cons: Food was good, but I wouldn't call it remarkable. 4 out of 7 restaurants were open, and while there were a couple of memorable meals, I was hoping for more of a wow factor. That being said, I certainly didn't starve!!
Location: The location is somewhat limited in terms of things to do nearby, but in a gated community so great to get out and go for a walk.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing hotel for couples!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Location, rooms, beach access, hotel amenities, hotel grounds/landscaping.
Location: Tulum, Cozumel, several snorkeling excursions, jet skis, kayaks, beach volleyball, horseshoes, cooking lessons...etc.!!
This vacation was incredible. I would recommend this resort to anyone. The atmosphere, the cleanliness, the attention to detail from the resort staff...it was all amazing. I have traveled all over the world and this is one of the best vacations I have ever taken. We cannot wait to come back. Perfect setting for couples, very romantic!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Beautiful resort

Posted Nov 6, 2016
This resort is beautiful. The staff are fantastic. I loved the location of this resort, it was in such a nice area. My biggest complaint is that there's absolutely no entertainment here. I'm used to nightly shows, there's none of that. There's not a lot to do here. When I booked this resort I didn't realize half of it would be shut down for remodeling. There were only 3 restaurants open. I probably wouldn't stay here again because of the lack of entertainment.