Ratings based on 1,806 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

WORST HOTEL EVER !!!!

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: NOTHING ,NOTHING , NOTHING oh yes sorry LEAVING THIS HOTEL !!!!! THAT WAS THE BEST PART!!!
Cons: Basically EVERYTHING ,from the medium size pool to the huge line at the bar to the service to the food to the cleaning to the sand ( dirty )!!!!
Location: Location was ok nothing to do around unless you pay for the outside trip ( Maya temple , swimming with dolphin ....) kind of not cheap .
ok well to start , NO service from the front guest to the cleaning statff.There is nothing good about this hotel , 1st contact was very but very bad .This place is HUGE and from the front desk to the room no one can help you and i do speak some spanish ,enough for the staff do understand me . 2nd none of the review tell you do have some water shoes and that should be mandatory !!! There is rock EVERYWHERE on the water to basically swim you have maybe 2 or 3 feet in a water to have access to 10 feet by 10 feet to enjoy the nice water after this rock everywhere and the best/ worst surprise are THE SEA URCHIN that's why you need water shoes . In 10 days over there not 1 day where we didn't see no one get injured by the SEA URCHIN, including kids and adults ,3rd is probably the food with those " 9 restaurants " none but i mean none of them was acceptable , i really mean it ,you find nothing good from the beginning to the end , and having some cut fruit on a hot plate i mean seriously that's not saying that you have to wait for the plate of course + when it rain it's happen it's ok tropical weather , be careful where you eat because you might enjoy the rain right on your plate !!!the other thing is not having a clean beach towel everyday seriously !!!! how can this happened ... not a good place a all for a family vacation kids can easily get lost and the info are definitely not enough to find everything
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all please accept our sincere apologies for not being able to serve you to our best; it would also seem we were simply not the kind of hotel you had in mind originally when deciding to stay with us since little appears to have worked for you on your time with us. We never like to read such comments; our guests satisfaction is our top priority and we know how important is for them to receive feedback from our clients as it is our best resource to continually improve our services. Our concierge, guest services, Management team and many other members of our staff are partially or in some cases completely dedicated to hear to our guests’ concerns and pamper them. We apologize for the impression you got from us and we feel truly concerned since your experiences are in no way representative of the usual positive feedback we receive and the high standards we aspire to. We would like to change this perception from us based on your latest experience given you decide to visit us again in the future. We will be most honored to assist you with any special requests you may have all in order to make of your next stay at Sandos a truly special one. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ellicott City, MD

Needs improvement.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Resort is more geared toward kids. That being said, all the equipment in the game room is in a very poor condition. Tennis courts and volleyball nets are also in poor condition. Live night performances were ok. The water park was good. Kids pool was dirty, but the kids didn't care. If your family is into culture, natural, and history, then you might like this resort. This resort has a lot of mosquitoes because it has fresh water river and pond that you can snorkel in. The beach is rocky and has seaweeds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We am very sorry to see that our hotel fell short of your personal expectations. We are sorry to see that you were not particularly happy with your room location and bedding type. We do always our utmost to fulfill our guest’s requests, but due to availability, and although we do our best to accommodate our client’s wishes, we certainly are unable to honor each single request, this is something we always advise beforehand and we apologize if there was any sort of misunderstand regarding this policy. Ours is a really beautiful beach, but certainly it has become rockier with the passing of time due to natural Mother Nature causes. We know how important is our beach to our guests and we work very hard to make it as close as possible to a paradise. Besides the normal daily cleaning of the beach we also organize monthly beach cleaning events where all the hotel departments get involved. Even regarding the latest seaweed situation that affected this region we have doubled our cleaning efforts and we are very proud of the results achieved. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience and service that thousands of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Beds were hard and uncomfortable pool water was very hot and not refreshing at all not enough staff at the front desk. Never answer the phone when I called. I originally booked a 2 double bed room and was given a room with 1 queen bed and when I asked for the 2 beds they insisted that I just use the sofa bed. Which by the way was bent and didn't even flatten out all the way. So they just gave use a portable single bed. My kids did love the aqua park so at least they enjoyed that. Also food wasn't bad at the restaurants. But I differently wouldn't stay there again. Also the pool was far from the rooms and the beach had so many rooms the kids didn't enjoy the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank your for choosing our resort to spend your holidays and for sharing your feedback with us. We are disappointed to see that our hotel fell a little short of your personal expectations. We are sorry to see that you were not particularly happy with your room and bedding type. We do always our utmost to fulfill our guest’s requests, but due to availability, and although we do our best to accommodate our client’s wishes, we certainly are unable to honor each single request, this is something we always advise beforehand and we apologize if there was any sort of misunderstand regarding this policy. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience and service that thousands of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Only go if you love animals

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: I loved the restaurant Steak and Fish. It is hidden and not easy to find, but it's worth getting lost.
Cons: The hot water pressure for the shower needs to be improved. Remove the big, dangerous rocks from the beach.
I liked the waterpark for the kids, the fact that you did not have to make reservations for the restaurants, except one (the hibachi grill), the pool was not too deep and my daughter could stand in it at age 6, and the Steak and Fish restaurant. I am not an animal person and did not know when a zoo was on the property, it meant free roaming animals. There were cats, raccoons, hog-nosed coons (they were in trashcans), birds, and even dogs on leashes. The fogo de Brazil restaurant is opened and cats kept coming around while trying to eat. I had to leave as I could not enjoy my meal. A gecko got in my room, just hanging in the ceiling, and it took 45 minutes from the time I called for someone to get to my room to get it. I liked the location of my room as I was close to restaurants, the snack bar, the main pool, and beach, but I had to walk through a mini jungle and was scared of the raccoons. I was told by a guest that other parts had monkeys and deer. The beach was fine, except you definitely needed swim shoes if you got in the water as it was extremely rocky. One person told me her husband cut his foot on the rocks. I saw another person getting treated for his cut. I went to their sister resort in Playacar, and their beach had no rocks in the water. Someone should really address this to some degree. I would not return here, but I would go back to Playa del Carmen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this detailed review regarding your recent stay at Sandos Caracol, and for the constructive feedback which is truly important to us, as we can recognize areas of opportunity and take the right actions to improve. It’s current and recent state of our beach is mainly due to a natural erosion caused by external factors to us. While we as a private company constantly perform cleaning jobs on the beach, per federal regulations we are not authorized to undertake major works and corrective actions which will could improve the overall aspect of the beach. Thank you also for adding very generous remarks of your stay with us and for mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again, do not hesitate to contact us in case you have any special requests for your next visit at Sandos Caracol, we will be really pleased to help you. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shepherd, MI

Nice family friendly resort

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: We liked how nice and clean it was. They were also attentive to your needs and very friendly. I loved the beach.. I could sit there all day!
Cons: The service/food at the restaurants could be improved and more consistency on the drinks.
Location: We didn't really venture away from the resort...
Pros: Very big resort with lots to do and see Lots of food options to choose from Lots of bars/refreshment areas for drinks Rooms are very nice, clean and quiet. Room service was great. Pool area in Adult Only area was perfect. Also enjoyed the Breakfast/Lunch options available to the Select Club members. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great beach area and club house for the select club members. The waiter was always coming around with drinks and the club house always had snacks available. All the bathrooms/facilities were very clean. They monitored the select club areas very well and would ask people to leave who did not pay for the upgrade. Cons: There tended to be a sewage smell lingering in the air in some spots. The bartenders were not consistent on the drinks at different bar areas. The food was okay.. we had a bad experience at Las Riveria. It took an hour to get in and the service was even slower. We left before desert was served because it was taking too long. It was our last night too so we left on a sour note. Wish they had some form of transportation from the beach and back. It was quite a hike, but the beach was worth it! The beach is rocky so beware!! Some lady cut her foot pretty badly. Bring water shoes or tread carefully.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We thank you for your wonderful comments and feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to know we managed to exceed your expectations for the most part. You can be sure we will take your bullet points into consideration and improve the areas where necessary nevertheless. We hope you can visit us once more in a close future; we will be delighted to have you. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Worth, TX

Perfect for young families & 30+ crowd

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Great place! Great value! Great on-site attractions, not just a box hotel on the beach, plenty to explore, water park is decent sized, adult areas are nice and truly kid free for relaxation, restaurants are good, beaches are not like Cancun's fine sand extending into ocean, you can get out in the water, but bring water shoes because it's rocky, limited room to play in the ocean for kids but room on shoreline, everyone is very friendly and accommodating. We will go again because it's a good value and entertaining without having to do excursions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with all of us your review. We also appreciate the kind comments about the great service provided by our staff and for adding your remarks of the positive sides of your stay with us by mentioning the services you were able to appreciate the most. We will be more than honored to welcome you back soon. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ANNECY

hotel dans la nature,proche des animaux...

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: la propreté,le choix et la qualité des repas,le parc aquatique,la proximité avec les animaux,les activités proposées au sein de l hotel.
Cons: les piscines qui nécessiteraient un bon coup de rénovation et de nettoyage ( beaucoup de carreaux cassées dans l eau),
Location: nous étions dans le bâtiment 18 pas encore rénové mais trés propre, tout proche du parc aquatique ,demandé a etre en étage a cause de l humidité
magnifique complexe proche de Playa del carmen,grand complexe mais pas la foule,plutôt familiale,tres peu de personnel parle le français mais ils sont tous tres souriants et serviables,nous avons eu un soucis d eau et d electricité tout a été reglé le jour meme,les restaurants sont tres bon,la nourriture variée et toujours un etat impeccable! Les restaurants a la carte sont dignes de nos grands restaurants...il y a des animaux de partout pour notre plus grand bonheur...la plage est impeccable prévoir cependant des souliers de plage car il y a de multiples rochers ( fort agréable pour les poissons qui y sont cachés),j avais prévu un transfert pour l aéroport plus cher que les tarifs proposé par l hôtel (38 dollars),les cocktails y sont délicieux, petit reproche..dommage que les spectacles ( d excellentes qualités) soient les mêmes durant les 2 semaines,les serviettes de plages sont fournies ,ainsi que la lotion anti moustique! nous avons été ravi de notre séjour et sur que nous y retournerons...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by L'équipe Sandos Caracol, Hotel Management
Chér kiki, Merci beaucoup pour votre belle avis sur notre hôtel. Nous sommes très heureux de voir que vous avez eu un grand temps à Sandos Caracol Eco Resort, de restaurants, la nourriture, la sélection de boissons et de nombreux autres aspects. Nous voulons remercie aussi de vos aimables paroles au sujet de notre personnel et des votres critiques constructives. Nous esperons vous avoir encore avec nous bientot! Cordialement, L'équipe Sandos Caracol
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FD

Faune et flore exceptionnels

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Hôtel aux infrastructures vieillottes surtout les chambres... (Mobilier indigne, équipement en panne, propreté limite) Personnel très sympathique et très à l'écoute. Le cadre du resort est fantastique, les animaux rajoutent à la magie et le cenote est un vrai luxe! La plage est sauvage et on oublie les rochers dans l'eau qui la rendent un peu pénible pour se baigner. Les piscines mériteraient un rafraîchissement général et surtout un peu de discipline pour empêcher les Américains et Mexicains de s'y baigner en mangeant...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by L'équipe Sandos Caracol, Hotel Management
Cher Monsieur, Ca nous fait vraiment tres plaisir de savoir que vous avez eu une belle vacance. Notre objectif est celui de creer des memoires et de continuer a' ameliorer nos services et notre hotel! Les commentaires et suggestions de nos invités sont très importants pour maintenir la qualité et le service dans notre hotel. Nous esperons vous avoir encore pour pouvoir vous gater comme vous meritez! Cordialement, L'équipe Sandos Caracol
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seron

Overall was good except the food was awful

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Allots of activities to do and specially for kids but the food was really poor everywhere including ALaCarte, there shows was ok but I've seen better
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for choosing Sandos Caracol as your holiday destination and for your review. However we find ourselves surprised to learn that your impression of our food was not great, especially since most of our reviewers speak very highly of our restaurants including the food selection and variety. Our cooks and chefs work very hard to satisfy all of our guests visiting us from various countries. We have 8 different restaurants including 6 a la carte, where guests can enjoy dishes from all over the world like Italian, Asian and fo course Mexican. Nevertheless we appreciate the feedback as we know there is always room for improvement. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. Sincerely,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Don't be fooled by the water park. Stay away!

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: See the Write about your experience section.
Location: Definitely go to 5th Ave for restaurants and shopping. Best part of my vacation was getting away from the resort, what a shame!
One of the worst vacations I've ever taken! Thanks Expedia.com I'll start off with the room. If you're thinking about staying in a standard room you can pretty much expect to get a motel style room (Motel 8). Other than the beds and pillows being comfortable the rest was outdated. Tube tv, loose plumbing, AC cover flying off the unit in the middle of the night, never enough towels (3 guest occupied the room, we were lucky if room service left 2 towels / when they didn't they told us waiting time was an hour). Food was very poor quality. They do have 2 dinner restaurants that were good but that's about it. No real Mexican food. The pools were dirty. My friends daughter cut her toe in the Tortugas pool due to loose tile. We complained but no follow up. The water park had about 8 slides and the kids did enjoy themselves but honestly I would have been better off staying home and taking them our nearby water park for a week and they would've been just as happy if not happier. Entertainment was below standard. I've gone to Mexico several times and time location failed to entertain us. Drinks were water down. Not one time did we get offered a drink by the workers there. Be prepared to get out of the pool and get you're own drink. And expect long lines sometimes, what a joke! The beach has lots of rocks, very uncomfortable to go inside. Take you're water shoes if you're planning on going in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2016 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are very sorry to learn that our hotel fell short of your personal expectations and even more since nothing seems to have worked out for you in our property during your stay. We never like to read such comments however we appreciate your opinion since it can certainly assist us to ensure we maintain focused on providing only the very best to our guests. We assure you that improvement in all our services is an ongoing process and our priority is every guests’ satisfaction; we are constantly and currently improving our installations, the public areas, and the quality of rooms. Of course this won’t excuses for the inconveniences you encountered but at least you should learn we, as a resort, are currently systematically upgrading our facilities, performing regular maintenance works, refurbishing restaurants and other public areas. In the next few months a great amount of our rooms will be completely renovated and the hotel will even feature a new section additional to the already existing ones. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We have carefully noted each point you raised and would like to apologize for your experience and your feedback has already been shared internally with the managers of the departments involved so prompt actions and solutions are carried and in order to avoid situations like yours from happening to future guests. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience and service that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely,