Ratings based on 1,943 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor maintenance

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Good location great outdoors nice stuff, very old beds and furniture. Some ares stinks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneasota

Beautiful resort

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: We did the Mayan ruins tour however were very disappointed in the Go Mexico tour group. If I did any tours I would taxi there and pay to enter.
This resort was amazing. It had everything we needed for a nice relaxing vacation. The staff was so friendly. Check in was done in a timely manner and our room request close to the beach was granted to us. The room was clean, quiet and spacious. The fruit and champagne when we arrived was a nice added touch in the room along with a stocked mini fridge. The beach was beautiful. We also took plenty of walks around this huge resort. So much wildlife and beauty to see. The monkeys and raccoons very entertaining to watch. The cats, duck and peacocks roaming around were also fun. The beach and walking the resort is where we spent most of our time. The restaurant selection and food was fantastic! Our favorites were the Brazilian restaurant for breakfast and the Italian and steak restaurants for dinner. Our room was cleaned everyday and fridge restocked nicely in the room. The evening nightlife was great with vendors selling lots of beautiful stuff at stands. The sports bar to hang out. The disco was a lot of fun! The wedding we attended was beautiful on the beach and a reception roof top overlooking the ocean. The staff did an awesome job with the grooms dinner, wedding and reception. My favorite meal was for the reception.The overall experience was wonderful. We will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We feel honored by the amazing words you took the time to write regarding your stay with us. It is truly great to read that enjoyed the several aspects of our resort such as the night Xyaat vendors on site, as well as the many varied activities, restaurants, disco, and all the great amenities you mentioned in your review. We are happy to know you had a great time in the wedding your attended. It makes us happy to make our guests happy. Thank you for the recognition of all our staffs great work We will certainly be waiting for your return in the near future to provide you with new amazing adventures. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Everything was okay, the beach is not the best (rocks and stones)
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to see that you had a great time in our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. Here at our resort we care about our environment and take action to help preserve it. For this reason we respect the ocean and it's natural elements; adding that altering them could affect the fragile second largest coral reef in the world; which is located here in the Caribbean. Upon your next visit, we invite you to practice some snorkeling, as this environment is great to explore the diversity of the beautiful marine fauna. We hope to have you again with us soon Warm regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Wonderful experience

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Sandos Caracol was very clean and the service was above and beyond our expectations. The Service will definitely be the reason we will be returning.
Location: We took a taxi to 5th Ave in Playa del Carmen and it was a wonderful experience. We also took The ferry to Cozumel and took a snorkelling adventure.
Incredible service provided by bartenders Roy and Rubicel. They both continued to remember our family and each special request. They always gave their 100% and the service will stand out among the best. Above and beyond service by lifeguard, firstaider Gustavo. He not only stopped to help my daughter, but went a step further to make her comfortable while tending to her foot. His kindness and professionalism will be forever remembered. Carlos from the photo centre, needs a huge pat on his back for his happiness and carefree attitude in making us laugh and feel totally welcome. His professional manner kept us coming back for his smile and amazing photography too. We will be planning our next visit very soon to Sandos Caracol Eco Resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Susanne, Thank you very much for your review, we are so happy to hear that everyone in your group had a great time with us. We greatly appreciate your recognition about the dedication of our staff and the individual recognition of each person that excel in their services to create even a more memorable holiday; thank you for recognizing the professionalism. We will be waiting for your return in the near future Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Don't waste your money

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Stayed here Feb 9-13th for my birthday with my husband, and I wish we would've gone elsewhere. I've been to a lot of all-inclusive resorts and this is by far the worst. The food is less than mediocre, the rooms are small with weird configurations (there's no doors on the bathroom), and the drinks are made with the cheapest liquor around that will leave you with a headache. This part of the beach is extremely rocky and fishy smelling so we couldn't enjoy that, and the main pool is disgusting and feels slimy on the bottom. It's definitely a family friendly resort as there were kids everywhere, but kids leave a lot of mess and there's no one there to clean it up. There are nightly shows, but are hard to find as they have them in a different place each night. We tried to do the "bike tour" to the onsite Mayan ruins, but the bikes are very old and are hard to steer since they aren't constantly putting air in the tires. Also, the on site ruins and cenote are a sham. I'll never be staying in a Sandos resort again. Maybe another location would be better, but I won't be finding out. Oh, make sure to give them a firm no in the lobby if they try to convince you to go on their royal elite tour. They will hound you until you go, even if you have no intentions of joining their vacation club. The best thing about this resort are the swinging bar stools at the snack bar. But raccoons hang in the area since there's food, so it's hard to enjoy that as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Dana, We are sorry to read that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. Our guest’s comments give us important feedback on our performance and provide us with great ideas on how to improve. We truly appreciate the time you gave us to talk to us, and the opportunity to change the perspective of our service, as our goal is not only to make our guests return, but also to make you feel comfortable as you are here to relax in a stress free environment. Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your stay with us and your appreciation of our swinging bar stools at el Nido. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Special request not satisfied at front desk

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: I liked the food and the kids can enjoy themselves
Cons: If they dont know if they will be able to satisfy connected rooms they should tell you beforehand, not at the fromt desk once you arrived.
Location: Good location near Playa del Carmen. Downside is the beach is full of rocks
The Hotel is nice, I had been before. The dissapointing issue is that we requested 2 connected rooms ( I have 4 children all Young) and we get to know we would be on different rooms once we are at the hotel and not 4 months when we made the reservation. I had to pay usd$ 600 to get the room next to one of the ones assigned, but since it was Premium room we had to pay extra. This was very dissapointing, will not go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear guests, We will definitely take a look at why you were not informed that we the kind of request you made (connected rooms) is subject to availability. We are sorry that you had to endure this situation and will take proactive measures to make sure it won't be repeated in the future. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Wedding with 50+ people

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Place did an amazing job with my cuisens wedding, very friendly staff, food was great. Lots of animals to encounter and meet up close. Water park is perfect for kids. Beach not so good a lot of rocks. Would be nice if there was 1 adults only pool. Oswaldo was an amazing host/worker helped us out with anything we needed. Breakfast lines were slow in the omelet department but other then that food was great. Shows at night we're amazing as well especially for a kid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Brent, Thank you for your great review about your experience with us. It is great to read that you had an amazing time at your cuisine´s wedding. Thank you for your compliments about our staff, food, shows, and water park. Oswaldo will be really happy to hear your nice words about his service. We certainly hope to have you again with us in the near future. Best regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntley, IL

Needs updating

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Lots of walking. Rooms are NOT close to the beach or the pool. Beach was dirty and smelled really bad, like rotten eggs. Rooms were small. Needs lots of updating. No dressers in the rooms so we lived out of our suitcases for a week. No privacy in shower area as there are no doors. In-room "mini bar" consisted of 2 cans each of 4 different sodas and 2 cans each of a couple different beers. Housekeeping never replenished the fridge the whole time we were there. Even after notifying someone twice. Fridge was warm, water "cooler" in room dispensed warm water, not even cold. Food at all the restaurants was not good. The only thing I ate that was excellent over the 6 dayso was the steak fajitas served at lunch time poolside. Overall, we would not stay at this resort again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Becki, Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay with us. Although it sadness us to learn that you did not enjoyed your stay to the full, we appreciate your feedback, as we are in continues growth, and the amelioration of our service and facility is one of our main priorities. Again we really appreciate the good grading, and we hope you change your mind about returning Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for families!

Posted Feb 5, 2017
We had a great experience at this resort, staff is helpful and friendly. The layout of the resort is so fun for kids, many little trails and paths, that the kids think are great adventures. Our kids are 6 and 8, and found them to be great age for the water park. Young enough to still enough the splash park and old enough to ride the slides. The restaurants offered good food. Was nice to only had to book one al a cart, the rest were first come first serve. Which I feel always you to keep you say open and not have to worry about what time your meal is booked at. Beaches were nice, calmer for the kids to safely learn how to boggy board. There is a fair bit of rock and coral in the water, so we definitely recommend bringing water shoes. Overall we had a great time, for cost of resort and all it has to offer we would give it 5 stars and definitely return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Canadian Family, Thank you for taking the time to elaborate this amazing review about your last stay with us. It honors us to learn that everyone enjoyed their stay, and that your kids had fun in our water park. Thank you for your compliments about our restaurants. The chefs will be ecstatic to hear their food is appreciated. We hope to have you again with us soon Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Great Waterpark!

Posted Feb 4, 2017
This Eco resort has a great Waterpark with slides for kids of all ages! The beach is rocky, but everything else is really nice. Be sure to check out the fire dance and cenote show (on Sat and Thurs night) - these are awesome and very different then the entertainment found at most resorts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Family traveler, We feel honored to received such compliments regarding our shows, and water park. Thank you for your great review about your last stay with us. It is fantastic to know you had a great time. We hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again in the near future. Warm regards,