Ratings based on 918 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome resort!!!

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Sandos Playacar was even better than we were hoping for, lots of fun stuff going on with the different themed beach parties everyday with themed snacks and drinks. Beautiful grounds, great room, great food and the staff were all so friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

All-Inclusive Hotel on Beach

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Standard rooms are very close to beach, food, beverages (including alcohol) within easy reach and with quick service.
Cons: Restaurant quality varied. Mexican-Sit down restaurant was excellent, steakhouse was very average, "Asiana" was horrid.
Location: Beach was excellent and clean with good surf. Hotel is located on a guarded compound along with the other resorts. Downtown Playa is 30-40 min on foot
Sandos Playa del Carmen is an all-inclusive resort, with unlimited food, drinks (including alcohol), as well as some activities. The staff is excellent, with quick service, and with many speaking at least some degree of English. The hotel is located on a resort compound, walled and guarded from the outside, which creates an interesting environment very friendly to the tourists. The hotel is on the beach, with the standard rooms on the beach itself, the upper class suites behind, and the "adults only" section tucked way in the back; for better or worse, it is a very kid friendly resort and the kiddies can be seen just about everywhere, although there are adult-only sections at the beach (note - the "adult only" pool is for higher paying rooms only, and some sections of the beach are for vacation club members only). Guests are given different colored bracelets, depending if they are standard room, upgraded, or vacation club members; standard guest are not permitted in certain areas (such as the adult only pool). The standard rooms are very serviceable, although wear and tear was somewhat obvious (furniture, walls with defects, etc). Our room safe broke twice, but was repaired both times within about 30 minutes. Food highly varies, from the excellent Mexican sit-down restaurant (thank you Miss Valentina - Head Chef), to the good buffets, to the completely unauthentic and terrible Asian restaurant. Beach is excellent, clean sand, clear water, great surf.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

great hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2016
the hotel beautiful landscape with wild animals like monkey the food was good. the only wrong was a long walk for the buffet they did have a cart to pick u up 4 good rest to eat at. the pool was very colded whole resort was great I would go back but in feb k, il
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Not a good option.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Most of the staff is not prepared for their job. Not friendly. Not helpful. Always something missing, not available. There was always something missing at the buffet. Not even close to the service provided from the competition. Get ready for loooong walks, depending on the location of your room. There are many options in the area, go somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Sandos Playacar Stay

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: It was very well laid out. The food & drink were wonderful. There were many choices of food types. The grounds were very well kept.
Cons: The room cleanliness.
Location: Location was perfect with everything needed close by.
The staff and food were exceptional with the exception of our room. Our room was not clean- one day it was not even picked up or cleaned by the staff. The walls were so thin we could hear the people in the room next to us as if they were sitting in our room. They had a very noisy child who yelled and screamed all hours of the night. I would definitely ask for a different section of the resort if we ever come back. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Recent upgrades made the resort much more enjoyable. Deleting required restaurant reservations is the biggest and best change the resort has made. Food was very good. We have been to this resort 5 times and will continue our future vacations here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

The hotel was worth it-great experience!

Posted Jan 22, 2016
We stayed for a week and were very happy with the hotel-very clean, constant entertainment, and the staff was SO friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Pleasant stay

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness, friendliness of staff, good food, and pleasant relaxing surroundings.
Cons: Hated the sales pitch trying to get us to join the vacation club.
Location: We didn't leave the resort, so can't comment on things to do nearby.
We were in the adult only section of the resort. The pool was very low-key and relaxing, and our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Our balcony overlooked the pool, which was a pleasant view vs. the jungle view rooms. The only complaint about the room was that we were unable to adjust the thermostat, and the AC was set a little too low.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roma

Meraviglioso resort a ridosso del mare,

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Appena arrivati ,dopo il check-in ci hanno accompagnato con la navetta nella nostra stanza Suite Junior: che spettacolo! Un bagno enorme provvisto di vasca idro massaggio e due lavandini e stanza doccia , lettone tre posti a baldacchino e dalla porta finestra si accede alla.. Piscina e vasca idro caldissima sotto palme e buganville che io e mio figlio abbiamo subito inaugurato sotto un caldo cielo stellato con i fiori rosa che mi cadevano sulle spalle a salutarmi!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location, staff, food and service

Posted Jan 15, 2016
I can't ask for more. All went well, the only draw back was the humidity smell in my room, but they tried to help by providing the dehumidifier and it worked. thank you!