Ratings based on 1,081 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Honestly.

Posted May 23, 2017
The only thing that I would change is the music in the dicotec. Music they play was gear toward crazy music. There is not a mixture of different types of music is just more of that boom, boom and more boom for the whole week we were there. Please be aware that there are other nationally other than Canadian and American that like to dance.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Lizeth Arratia-Web Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your stay at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. We appreciate your comments regarding the music at our disco. You can rest assured that they will be forwarded to our Entertainment Manager for his consideration. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Excellent place

Posted May 20, 2017
Took my wife for mothers day and 19th anniversary. Hotel stuff was excellent. Special thanks toMaria at front desk. She went above and beyond to make sure we have everything we need. We will definitely going back soon. Wish the have a more food selection for breakfast, lunch and Dinner. I understand it's all inclusive but they can use a better quality and selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Lizeth Arratia-Web Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Dimitris, Thank you for choosing Sandos Playacar Beach Resort to spend your 19th anniversary . We are glad that you and your wife had an excellent time with us. We appreciate your recognition of Maria, be sure we will share with her your comments. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

good for families

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: plenty of too eat, plenty of activities, everyday is a different theme with drink of the day.
Cons: smoking areas!!! there are a lot of families and children that do not need to smell cigarette smoke.
Location: Sandos playacar is a semi gated community of hotels. you do have to get a taxi or a take a long walk to the main road.
this is a great place for families, with plenty of activities. you don't even have to leave the hotel. the only thing i didn't like is there is smoking everywhere despite the numerous NO Smoking SIGNS!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by Lizeth Arratia-Web Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, I would like to deeply thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. We are glad to see that all in all you had a pleasant stay with us, enjoying the different activities the hotel has to offer. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
My girlfriend and I went for 5 days and the resort and staff exceeded our expectations. I would recommend this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Lizeth Arratia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience. It is always gratifying to read that our staff exceeded our guests’ expectations and we are glad that you and your girlfriend enjoyed the service. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Amazing family vacation!!!!!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
We had a wonderful vacation! We travelled with three children and the facilities, programs, food, staff, surroundings and beach were amazing. We mostly ate at the buffet because it was easier with the kids and always impressed with the variety and quality. Asian restaurant was just ok. Not sure about the other specialty restaurants. Mexican food at the buffet was super. Great kids programs. Very safe for children. Natural surroundings and the opportunities to see animals on the property was fun for the kids. Expedia rep very helpful. Will definitely go back!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Luis Ramirez - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, While extending you a warm regard, I would like to deeply and sincerely thank you for the nice review you have posted regarding your recent stay at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. We are very happy to know that you and your family fully enjoyed our hotel and the services as well as the attention from our members. We thank you for your selection and preference and I assure you herewith that we will keep up the good work and will continue to improve our services as well as the state of our facilities. Best wishes,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Great service the staff is very dedicated.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
It was a great vacation the facilities are very nice and the staff was absolutely wonderful. Hector in the cafeteria was there for us all week with fresh coffee every morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Luis Ramirez - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, While extending you a warm regard, I would like to thank you for your selection and the time you have invested in sharing your review with us regarding your recent stay at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. We are extremely happy to read your beautiful review in which you let us know that our hotel met your expectations, and that you had a fabulous stay with us and our staff did their best to pamper you and provide you with excellent service. We are glad to see that you fully enjoyed the attention from our members, especially Hector who is indeed one of our finest members. You can rest assured that we will keep up the good work and further improvements and addition of services to our hotel will be made. We hope to see you back at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach and facilities.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds, children's club house, the animals wondering about. The family area was quieter than the big pool area which was nice. Our room w
Cons: Listen to your customers and follow through with your commitments. Get better beds, very, very hard. More ice machines
Location: Lots to do, never an uneventful day....close to beautiful Xcaret where u can spend hours of activities.
Loved everything except the customer service. I have bad hips, we had a standard room and the bed was awful. I asked at least 6 times to get something to put on top of mattress. Everyday, with different staff we were assured that it was no problem, but nothing showed up. All I wanted was an extra quilt but it was exhausting just having to call them and explain everything again. It took my husband going to the lobby and speaking with the manager very firmly. It took 3 1/2 days of constant complaining to finally get something so I could get some sleep. Very disappointing, I asked for an upgrade but of course that was not possible, said I would pay for it but again nothing. The rest of the holiday was awesome. Food a little boring.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Luis Ramirez - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, While extending you a warm regard, I take this occasion to deeply and sincerely thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Sandos Playacar Beach Resort with readers of this social media internet site. We are sorry to hear that the issues pertaining some of your rooms were not properly addressed by our staff. I will review both of your observations with both, our maintenance and housekeeping managers to put into effect expeditious corrective measures. For the remaining issues you have brought to our attention through this review and for which we are grateful, I apologize to you and promise to review each observation you have made, and give the utmost consideration so that effective corrective actions can be expeditiously implemented aimed at elevating that quality of our services. Rest assured that we will keep up the good work, and we hope that in the future we will have the opportunity to welcome you again. Kindest wishes,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: everything been there a dozen times
Great location friendly staff good food better than other resorts in the area
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Javiera Figueroa - Web Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Dear guest, While extending you a warm regard, I would like to thank you deeply for the nice review you have posted regarding your recent stay at Sandos Playacar. We are very happy to see that you had a nice vacation and enjoyed of our services. We hope to see you soon back at your new home away from home. Kindest wishes,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sandos Playacar Resort:

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Had lots to see and do.
Cons: Provide a resort map and explain the resort system to the guess when they checks-in.
Location: Enjoy the white sand beach.
The resort was very big and had a lot to offer for families. Nice white sands beach that goes all the way to the town of Playacar. When I checked in they put me in a very undesirable room, but after some effort on my part they moved me to a very nice room. A lot of the guess I met had the same experience. The color coded wrist bands were very confusing. I wished someone would have explained the system and provided a resort map when I checked in and not be told to look at the small resort map in they hard coved book in room. Overall, the staff was great, the food was very good, and the Sandos Resort had a lot of activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Javiera Figueroa - Web Relations Manager , Hotel Management
While extending you a warm regard, I would like to use the occasion to deeply thank you for your selection of our hotel for your recent vacation as well as for the time you have invested to compiling this review. We are very glad to know that all in all you had a pleasant stay with us regardless the couple of situations you have described, we appreciate your feedback regarding some areas of opportunity. We will certainly keep up the good work and will further improve our hotel facilities and services. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the services and attention from our members. We hope to have the honor to welcome you all back to your new home at the Mayan Riviera. Best wishes,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Besides the gentleman handing out kayaks trying to charge my wife $30 for the use of 3 kayaks when they are supposed to be free we had a great time. The beach is great the resort is good and we would go back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Javiera Figueroa - Web Relations Manager , Hotel Management
While extending you a warm regard, I would like to thank you for the time you have invested to share your review attached with readers of this internet site. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, our hotel and our beach. We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have had regarding the kayak company, rest assured that we will address this to the manager of the kayak company so they can take measures to avoid similar impressions to the one you left our hotel with in future customers. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards,