Ratings based on 946 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Co

Great Stay! Fantastic Beach!

Posted May 18, 2016
Overall, Sandos was great. We were there for a relaxing vacation and to sit on the beach and enjoy the sun with a drink, and it was awesome. The Beach was clean, the water was beautiful and to the right of the resort is a secluded stretch of beach and jungle. This was very nice. We were 2 miles from 5th ave at Playa Del Carmen so it was a nice beach walk up there for a fun night. We tried every restaurant at this resort and were never disappointed. All the bars were great. There was a beach bar in the adults section of the resort, which I suggest you stay in the adult section for private pool and beach locations without kids. They upgraded us for free to the adult section when we arrived! Additionally, the staff and service at this resort was fantastic!! Friendly and very, very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2016 by Joao Silva - Web Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at Sandos Playacar.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

4TH Visit to Sandos Playacar!

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: The shows are entertaining and the beach and ocean are stunning. There are plenty of options for food and drink and entertainment.
Cons: mmmmm.....don't give someone an "upgrade" for being a loyal customer and then loyal customer returns to be told no more "free" upgrades.
Location: Lots of shopping and swimming nearby.
We have previously stayed at this hotel, and they have made many awesome upgrades to the resort and restaurants. We were assigned to the Riviera section which is a 5 minute walk to the meeting place and 10 - 15 minutes to the beach so the walk is not too bad. They did have a shower head problem which caused some water / mold damage to the wall, I don't know why they don't fix the fixture problem instead of continuously repairing the drywall. Anyway we had a lovely time snorkeling at the beach, parasailing, jet skiing and a visit to Xel-Ha to swim with the Dolphins.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2016 by Joao Silva - Web Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again soon at Sandos Playacar. Best regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Last hotel in Playacar good location

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Last hotel in Playacar good location next to wild section on the beach and sea Brazilian Steakhouse good experience Thai Restaurant bad experience Mexican Restaurant was closed due to remodeling process Overall good experience We used Best Travel Team on site to schedule all trips and adventures I recommend them - good prices and able to book in last second
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2016 by Joao Silva - Web Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again soon at Sandos Playacar. Best regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 11, 2016
This was our first trip to Mexico, and we will definitely be coming back!! The hotel was wonderful with a lot of activities and things to do. Very family friendly. The resort is very big so it never felt crowded. Our room was Ocean Front and worth every penny. I am glad we were up by the water because if you are in a room towards the back of the resort it is quite a hike to get to the beach. The staff were all wonderful and go out of their way to help you. Food was ok. We mostly ate at the buffets and there is enough selection that it was easy to find something that you like. The water is so clear and beautiful!! I definitely recommend this resort to others!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2016 by Joao Silva - Web Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again soon at Sandos Playacar. Best regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Decent all inclusive for kids

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Great beach area. Accommodations are average at best if you are not a "premium member" which means part of the time share group. Wi Fi is poor. Food is fair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2016 by Joao Silva - Web Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again soon at Sandos Playacar. Best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Nice

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Perfect nice job ..............................................................
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2016 by Joao Silva - Web Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again soon at Sandos Playacar. Best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsfield, MA

Excellent hotel in great location

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Pros: The location and the quality of the premises.
We stayed at the hotel during 13 days. The room was a junior suite very comfortable. It was located almost one half of a mile from the beach but a courtesy shuttle offered transportation to the beach and to all restaurants and facilities of the hotel every five minutes. The food was good at all restaurants which offered different cuisine styles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2016 by Joao Silva - Web Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are much honored to know that you enjoyed the Sandos Playacar Experience, our accommodations, meals, pool time, beach time, and social activities, all those details are part of our brand and the compromise that we have to offer to our guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Large, Very Nice Resort

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Originally booked standard room. Standard room was not available so they moved us to king room with jetted tub in quiet adults only section with premium wrist bands, no extra charge (very nice). Section quite a ways from the beach but walk ended up being a pleasant walk. Very clean resort on nicest beach in Playacar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2016 by Joao Silva - Web Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your review. It honors us to receive such a compliment and encourages us to continue exceeding our clients’ expectations. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know we are providing a good service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Not nearly worth the price

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Pros: The pools, the restaurant staff
Cons: The price. Sandos Playacar isn't offering what they should for what they charge.
Sandos Playacar should be a lot better than it is for the price they charge. There are much better resorts in the area for 1/2 the price Sandos Playacar charges. Check in took 20 minutes after 36 hours of travel. The reception staff seemed untrained. The restaurants were clean and had good food but not the variety or 'authenticity' we'd experienced in other resorts nearby. During peak hours the food vanished and wasn't replaced quickly enough. The rooms were clean and large but the cleaning staff didn't change the sheets after a specific request because our daughter had tracked in a lot of sand. We had a junior suite but TV doesn't swivel so we couldn't watch it from anywhere but the bed. Nothing in the refrigerator or coffee station was refilled during our entire stay. The pools were excellent and the staff at the restaurants and at poolside were all great. The shows in the evening were very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2016 by Joao Silva - Web Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again soon at Sandos Playacar. Best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansas

hospitality and comfort with amazing views!

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: The staff as well as the hotel amenities and comfort of rooms and beds was great!
Cons: The deserts at the restaurant were overall pretty bland tasting and generic with the exception of a few pastries.
Location: Playa del Carmen is a vibrant town with plenty of shopping and restuarants. The ferry to Cozumel cruises every hr. sandos has acitivities for everyone
Even though it was spring break and we expected some crazy kids bobbing around, it was nothing like that. We were on our honeymoon and had an amazing experience. The accommodations, the staff as well as the food was all beyond what we expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2016 by Joao Silva - Web Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are much honored to know that you enjoyed the Sandos Playacar Experience, our accommodations, meals, pool time, beach time, and social activities, all those details are part of our brand and the compromise that we have to offer to our guests. Warm regards