Ratings based on 564 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle wa

Nice hotel staff was great and service was great

Posted Jan 27, 2016
The stay was wonderful. Staff was very nice always smiling. Front desk checked is in fast and early room was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Fun resort on beautiful beach

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: I liked that there was an adult only section at this resort, the beach was beautiful I liked the food choices and that there was recreation provided
Cons: Have some backup entertainment or events when weather doesn't warrant the beach
Location: Great location, bikes are provided to use to go into town or taxi is like a five minute ride onto 5th Ave, excursions available to nearby attractions
Enjoyed this resort very much, after reading mixed reviews I can't believe anyone would give this place a bad review. The resort was fabulous lots of activities on and off the beach, lots of food choices on site, several al la carte restaurants, all very good. Staff were happy and hard working, always pleasant. Would not hesitate to recommend Sandos Playcar to anyone considering travelling to the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

room service

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Room service was a joke we were told that we have a snack bar (that we payed for) and it would be filled every day. I had to call many time just to get water and the snacks were never filled. The check in desk was a joke as we waited 3/4 hour to an hour just to get checked in. Food was ok and the resort was clean but not sure I want to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Great place to relax by the beach

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: The beach is very nice
Cons: The food can be improved
Location: It is conveniently located near Playa del Carmen Downtown. A taxi to 5a Avenida (5th Ave) will cost 90 pesos ($8 US) only, which is very convenient.
My wife and I were at Sandos Playacar last week and enjoyed our stay very much. The bedroom was very comfortable, well maintained and clean. All hotel facilities are clean and in very good condition. All personnel are very friendly and courteous. Special mention for Javier the cart driver who was always very nice and helpful. Although there is a big variety of meals choices, in general the food is not the best. However the Mexican restaurant GourMex was excellent so that we had supper there three times. The night shows and the mexican markets add a plus to our stay and made our time very enjoyable. We would like to go back to Sandos Playacar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Area só para adultos longe da praia e sem vista

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Simpatia do funcionários e instalações
Cons: Os horários dos restaurantes, todos fecham 23h.
Location: A área de adultos fica a 10 minutos da praia caminhando. A praia é excelente para banho.
O hotel é ótimo, tem várias opções de restaurantes, serviço de quarto 24 horas e os funcionários são muito simpáticos. Exceto o fato do meu marido ter passado muito mal por causa da comida, tudo foi perfeito.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great Girls Getaway!

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Great pick for a birthday getaway with 8 girlfriends. Hotel was clean and grounds were beautiful. Check out the Cat Cafe! Staff was helpful & friendly and the food was good - lots of variety! The adults only section was a 10 min walk to the beach but the beach and amenities were great! Only thing we would have liked to see was an outdoor jacuzzi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Italia

Hotel muy cerca del pueblo con zona para adultos

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Las instalaciones, la zona para adultos que incluye piscina, habitaciones, restaurantes y zona de playa.
Cons: Lo único podría ser que cambiaran las toallas que están muy desgastadas.
Un excelente hotel con todas las comodidades y actividades para niños, jóvenes y adultos. La zona para adultos excelente pues tiene su propia piscina, restaurantes solo adultos, playa. El personal de una amabilidad extrema. La próxima vez que vaya a Playa del Carmen seguramente volveré a este hotel. Recomendable al cien por ciento.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San fra

The worst resort in Mexico.

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Spa
Cons: Food, staff
The worst resort I have ever been to in Mexico. We stayed in the adult only area.  The adult only resort was far from the beach.  The staff at this hotel was horrible. The food was terrible. We also didn't like how the hotel had hundreds of cats!  We will never go back to any of the Sandos Resorts ever again! 
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Great staff! Beautiful resort but food was not the best. Asian and steakhouse were delicious though! Rooms were beautiful but bed is uncomfortable and our room was very musty smelling with mildew. I think it is a great resort for the price but it has a few small flaws! Tons of things to do on the resort and the pools and beach areas were amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2015 by Joao Silva - Web Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your precious feedback. Your opinion is very important for us has we know how important it is for the continuous development and improvement of our hotel's offer. We hope you can give us another opportunity of welcoming you back so that we can exceed your expectations at Sandos Playacar. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great hotel with beautiful beach

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Location: Close to Playa del Carmen bars/nightlife.
Great hotel, friendly staff, tasty food, and strong drinks
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2015 by Joao Silva - Web Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review about your experience at Sandos Playacar. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you really soon. Best regards