Ratings based on 1,983 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Huge Disappointment...No Way a 5 Star Resort!!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Not much...
Cons: Restaurants (all), pool should be torn out and replaced with a modern infinity type and greatly expanded in size, open the sports bar during the day.
Location: Did not see anything of interest nearby.
I had high expectations for Secrets Capri and even allowed the front desk into talking me into a costly room upgrade (which was worse than my original room). The restaurants are all average to poor (no gourmet dining here). A hostess who worked several of the restaurants did not even smile once or even attempt to be friendly. A bartender at the lobby bar (Omar) was rude and arrogant. The pool (the only one) was at most 3 feet deep and mostly about 2 feet due its sloping sides (I witnessed an elderly woman slip on the slippery tile and hit her head hard...luckily she appeared to be ok). The beach area (what there is of it) does not amount to much and was always covered in seaweed. After just a couple of days my friends and I were so bored we paid costly taxi fares to transfer to Secrets sister resort Maroma (only allowed from 6pm to 1am). My overall recommendation is to stay elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Everything You Would Want

Posted Jul 19, 2017
This hotel is a medium sized resort that combines all the amenities you would expect of a larger resort but without all the people. Even better, it is adults only! The drinks flow quickly, the food options are many and delicious, and the amount of included activities is so many that my wife and I wished we had planned less day trips away from the resort! Overall loved it and will be back asap. The only negatives were small, for example some restaurants have a strictly enforced dress code which is frustrating. Also the resort credit we received when booking was actually coupons and you couldn't use more than $10-40 at a time depending on selection. Didn't use any because the things you could use them on were way to expensive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

AC in hotel stinks

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The hotel was clean and friendly staff. We really enjoyed the guitar player and singer on the beach at night time.
Cons: The air conditioner definitely! The bathrooms in the public areas smell bad and the rooms smell like mold.
Location: 5th Ave shopping is 20 minutes in a cab. We paid $18 to get there. Cancun is an hour cab ride from the hotel. We paid $55 going and $40 coming back
The hotel is nice. There are broken tiles at the pool and one of my group cut his foot at the pool, another slipped and fell. Be careful. The hotel and rooms were very warm, AC was next to nothing. The men were sweating through their shirts at dinner. The public bathrooms smelt like sewage (ewh). Rooms smelt like mold. The hotel was clean and the food was good but they give you the tiniest portions (order everything on the menu). Men need to wear short sleeve shirts at breakfast. The day time entertainment was pretty good. The place was shut down by 11. So if you are looking for a lively place, this is not it. The drinks do not have a lot of alcohol. Ask for a topper or bring your own bottle to the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Beds are comfortable Food is great Beach isn't as nice but still great Something going on EVERY DAY Bad reviews on here aren't really that bad. People are way to sensitive. Highly recommend you try it out the service is definitely five stars all around. Everyone working hard 24/7 to make your stay bad ass
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SECRC-eConcierge, & Social Media Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear carlos-karina, It is a pleasure that you enjoyed your holiday at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, we cannot thank you enough for choosing to spend your vacation at our resort. We feel delighted to know your opinion and we can not wait to get a future chance to serve you again. Best regards!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Service was below par

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The service was below average over all. Multiple problems with our room that we had to ask over and over again to have fixed. The pool bar closes at like 6 and they pick up the pool floats at this time. Hotel is very pretty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SECRC-eConcierge, & Social Media Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Scott, Thank you for sharing your feedback through this mean. Your comments are truly valuable for us, as this allow us to improve our service levels. We regret to know that we have not fulfilled your expectations during your visit. We assure you, that we share all of reviews with our team. If you ever wish to return and need any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us. Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The hotel is located on a beautiful piece of the beach. The location is great. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay great. The food is similar to resort food. The only complaint I would say about the resort is the constant pressure to pay more money. From the time we got there the hotel presented upcharge fees. They wanted us to upgrade our room. Then, they wanted us to spend 1.5 hours listening to a time share pitch. I was not a fan of all the up-charges. The spa and any extra activities were extremely high!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by SECRC-eConcierge, & Social Media Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel as well as our food, drinks and the service of our team, we will let them know your kind comments. It was a true pleasure to be your hosts of this holiday and we all hope that you will not leave it too long before you chose to visit us again Thank you very much for your review and for choosing our resort. Best regards!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Nice hotel close to beach. No long walks here.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Not a huge place that requires a lot of walking like some. Everything is close. Staff is very good. Beach service was outstanding. Very pleased.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by SECRC-eConcierge, & Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Secrets Capri Riviera Cancún for your most recent trip to the Riviera Maya. It is a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We value the time you invested in writing this comment, as we faithfully believe that it is through the perception of our guests that we can improve the quality of the services we offer every day. Thank you again for your recommendation and we hope you return soon to this your new home in La Riviera Maya. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dover,De

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Great place, our third trip to Secrets Capri. Top accommodations, Food and service. Many still on staff from our first visit several years ago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear guest, It is a great satisfaction for us to know that we fullfilled your expectations. It is very gratifying for Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun to read and realize throughout your comments that your vacation was pleasant enough to share your experience with the Expedia community. We are so pleased to know that our staff, which we are very proud of, was always helpful with your requests; especially Tomas and Claudia. They will will be sincerely grateful to know what you think about their work. We hope to welcome you back soon in the near future. Warmest regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great vacation spot!

Posted Jun 20, 2017
This was my 5th time visiting the same resort. It's one of my favorite places to go away and relax.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by & Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun as your host and taking the time to share your experience with us. It's a great pleasure to read that you have enjoyed for the 5th time with us. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back, allowing us the opportunity of providing you a truly wonderful and memorable experience. Warm regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Awesome place!!! Everything from the cleanliness, to the friendly staff, amazing food options..I would definitely recommend this place. The ONLY downside is the beach conditions. Overall, the best trip I have ever been on and will without a doubt be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by SECRC-eConcierge, & Social Media Coordinator en Se, Hotel Management
Dear Kim, On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway to the Mexican Caribbean. We are glad to know that you’ve found the view that characterizes our resort as breathtaking. We are also delighted to read that you’ve enjoyed the facilities and that you have enjoyed our staff’s attentive service and our restaurants. We would certainly be glad to have you back for another round of a wonderful stay. Please feel confident to reach us prior your next visit at econcierge.secrc@secretsresorts.com if you need assistance prior arrival. We look forward to have you back at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancún, your home in the Mexican Caribbean. Best regards.