Ratings based on 1,041 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Vacation Bliss

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: The staff are Secrets Silversands' best asset. Management has assembled a great team!
We had a wonderful second visit to SSS! The resort has a lush, tropical feel and is exceptionally clean and well-maintained. The best part of the resort however is its wonderful staff! They are very kind, friendly and can't do enough to make sure your holiday is amazing. There are lots of things to do at SSS if you like to keep busy. The entertainment staff is really fun and engaging and have lots of fun activities organized each day. You certainly won't go hungry or thirsty here either! SSS has a variety of places to eat at. Their lunch time barbecues are incredible and the food carts are a really nice added touch (ice cream, shaved ice, tacos). The hibachi tables at Himitsu make for a fun dinner experience in the evening. The pool area is really great at this resort. There are 7 different pools in quiet or more active locations. The swim-up pool/bar area gets pretty rowdy throughout the day but that's usually the case at resorts that have this. The beach is not great. If you are looking for aqua water on a long stretch of beach that you can swim in, this is not your place. SSS more than makes up for this though in other areas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Nice place! Would go back some day. The food was very good but the check in was very slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We apprecite your kindly words. Is your feedback our best tool to improve and we thank you for it. We really hope to have the honor to host you back very soon. Sunny regards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Absolutely loved it!

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Location: We would highly recommend booking a massage at the spa and getting the spa day pass. Also, make sure you visit Co Co Bongo with Miguel!
My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon at Secrets and we had a perfect stay. Our room was clean, cool, and beautiful. The welcome staff made sure to stock the minibar with our favorite drinks and that our room was to our liking. The entertainment staff worked day and night to offer activities and make sure all the guest needs were met. The food and drinks were hands down the best we've ever had at al all inclusive resort. We even travelled during the 4th of July and the staff had a huge celebration, BBQ, and pool party to commemorate. Our only two complaints would be that some days it was very quiet and mellow, which is relaxing, however, they have so many pools and bars they could easily play some louder music at one of them for guests who want a more upbeat day. The other complaint would be that the beach wasn't the greatest we've been to, however, the staff worked hard to keep it clean and enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oceanfront swimout room

Posted Jun 30, 2016
The room was ok. We had an issue with air conditioning and a bug problem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Relaxing getaway for 2!

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Location: 20 min ride to the airport, very easy
We we're very pleased with this hotel! My boyfriend and I visited in mid-April 2016. At check-in we upgraded our amazing deal from Expedia for an oceanfront room - I highly recommend it! It was quiet and every night we sat on our balcony and listened to the ocean. It was also right on top of the beach. The breezes from this resort are perfect. The beach is not the best as it's pretty small, but didn't bother us. Hey, you're in Mexico! The food was very good, and I loved the fact that there we're no reservations. My favorite restaurant was the Asian and outdoor Steakhouse. Also very good is the French and Mediterranean restaurants. Our room was very clean, and and spacious. It was a perfect romantic relaxing getaway for 2! We'd definitely go back, and want to try other Secrets resorts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane,Wa

great service

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: The food and service.
Cons: Fix the rocks under the water in the beach.
Location: A person can go snorkeling with just a ten minute walk north.
We had great service everywhere from the servers around the pool to the hostess's and the waiters . The food was outstanding especially the fish and deserts. The best part was Roger Front Desk Manager and his staff they were outstanding we had trouble with our air conditioner in our room and he moved us right away to a even more wonderful room that was cool. We enjoyed everything about the resort. The only draw back was there was a lot of rocks in the water at the beach.. We would like to say thank you to Nancy and Monica the hostess's and Miguel and Jose the spa representatives that were all great. In all we will certainly consider coming back .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from schaumburg illinois

Beautiful time at Secrets Silversands

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Clean, grounds being pruned daily, great restaurants
Cons: Seating at restaurants was up to six, we had a party of seven always a hassle
Location: Cancun was fun
Great food, pool service, great outdoor entertainment. Excellent outside food and drinks. Weather was great excellent room service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: All of the employees were very helpful and we were treated so well by all.
Location: Close to downtown Cancun to go parasailing or shopping. Took a fun bike ride to small Mexico town nearby.
This is a beautiful resort that works very hard to please every guest. So much fun!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great resort, with some shortcomings

Posted May 13, 2016
Great place, rooms are aging slightly, but my major concern was the hassle we received with dinner! It was like the end of the world trying to get a table together for a party of 7. This policy should be stated on the website, if we knew this ahead of time, we would have chosen another location. The resort staff is amazing, some of the staff had language barriers and we wouldn't get what we order, however that was ok because they were so friendly! My parents had an issue with their checkin that ate into 3 hours of their first day as they finally resolved their issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Tommy G el, We appreciate you have taken the time to write a review about your stay with us. your comments are really important for us as they are our only confident tool to improve in our service. We sincerely apologize if there were any shortcomings in our ends. Please feel confident that we will take the proper measures to prevent reoccurrences like this in the future. Our guest’s feedback is truly important for us and we will consciously revise all of your remarks. We look forward to have the honor of welcoming you back home to offer you a truly remarkable experience. Warm and sunny regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Great hotel but ...

Posted May 6, 2016
Restaurants had good food, room was beautiful. The only thing that we can think to say bad was the front desk and concierge staffs had no smile and kindness.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2016 by Social Media Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feelings about your last stay with us through this way. Please be confident that we are taking the proper actions briefing our team and sharing with them you comments. You can trust we are pleased improving with your comments as tool. We really hope to have the opoortunity to host you back very soon, this way you can experience our improvements. Best regards,