Ratings based on 1,135 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Fantastic hotel, great accessibility for wheelchairs too. All rooms have roll in showers. Pools are beautiful, food is great, although dress code at restaurants is strict and they are the only option for dinner, so plan ahead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, Missouri

Decent Hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
This is my first time to the Riveria side of Mexico. First, the staff, services, and food were all great and special shoutout to Daniel the bartender who took care of me for most of the week. The hotel itself seems to be in good shape, but our room seemed to be becoming dated and could use minor renovations to return it back to its newer days. The AC in the rooms was okay, but never got cool enough to be enjoyable as I would have liked. The beach does have seaweed, but is constantly cleared to be kept clean as possible for guests. We spent most of our time in the pools and it's a huge shame they close the pool bar at 5, pool side service at 6:30, and all the pools at 8:30. This resort has multiple pools and there is no reason one can't be kept open with bar service later into the evening. Another thing we found odd is that the only time music was played at the main pool was when the entertainment staff were hosting their games. When I asked if they could play music constantly they said no and to leave a review asking for it to be played. This turned me off along with the other issues I have noted when I know I can stay at newer and nicer resorts for the same price. Overall don't regret staying here as the main things (food, service, staff) were great, but I will be trying other places in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good food

Posted May 9, 2017
Hotel and accommodations were great. I was upgraded to a better room without even asking. The preferred club was not worth the money. Nothing really speacial, besides upgraded bar, but you would have to get through the pushy VIP concierge. Did not like being harrased about coming to a sales meeting. Food was wonderful minus the habachi table where you did not get a choice of food and was not even allowed to order sushi or given the traditional soup. We ate ate the Mediterranean restaurant one night and was even greeted by the head chief! Overall great Hotel, mixed drinks could use some recipe improvement. Staff were all nice and accommodating. The wait staff on the beech and pool were amazing! Everyone who works at this hotel works very hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

PERFECT!

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Our stay at Silversands was absolutely perfect. The room was modern, spacious, and clean. The food was excellent across the board, and they accommodated my various food allergies at each meal. The eight pools provided a range of atmospheres, ranging from rowdy (big pool with swim-up bar and music) to quiet (where we were the only two people in the pool). The staff went above and beyond what they needed to do to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We would absolutely return to this resort, and we will certainly choose a Secrets resort for our next tropical trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winnipeg, MB

Underwhelming

Posted Apr 24, 2017
This was my first time in the Mayan riviera area and I was excited to stay at this hotel since the reviews were so amazing. The hotel is actually quite dated, small, and didn't have that "wow" factor. Food was just okay but I am a foodie and particularly love Mexican food. In the past I usually stay in Cabo and find the food there amazing (in resorts and off the resort). I chose this resort because so many reviews were raving about the food but didn't find it all that great. I had a few good meals but in general it was pretty average. Surprisingly their Mexican restaurant was not authentic and didn't have much flavour. Tipping is expected at this resort which is different from my other all inclusive stays. If you don't tip you don't get good service at all simple as that. My boyfriend and I are in our mid twenties and were the youngest there. It was also all couples. Beach area is pretty dirty and not that nice. The best part about the hotel were the Rooms (modern and large). Unfortunately our room (5211) was right by a large building which made a lot of noise it was bizarre. We could hear it from our bed at night and kept us up until we got used to it. Not sure what that building was or if it was even part of our hotel. Overall I thought the $2000 we payed for this trip was not worth the stay and in the future will continue traveling to Cabo. We rented a car and did some excursions, I found this part of mexico quite corrupt and dirty. Didn't really feel safe off the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
This is a lovely, relaxing resort. The food is excellent. The staff is outstanding!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good food, beach is rocky

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Food
Cons: Drinks were watered down
Nice resort. Food was good and better than expected. Drinks were quite watered down. Beach sand was beautiful however beach water was rocky and non-swimable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service and foo!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Overall the service was outstanding and the food pretty good with certain exceptions. Unfortunately if you are beach person, this is not the hotel for you since it is covered in boulders and big stones.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Disappointing

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The grounds and pools are nice.
Cons: Front desk and bellboy service at check in, more beach chairs, better maid service.
Location: The beach was not good, not a good place to go if you like to swim in the ocean. Rocky in the water, can't take long beach walks here.
This is not a 5 Star Resort, 4 at best. It is old and seems dated. At check in we were given a map and sent to find our room, all 5 stars that we have stayed at (several) always accompany you to your room with your luggage. Room was large, not very clean, spit in sink from previous guests took 2 full days before being cleaned, glass bathroom door was dirty and never cleaned during our stay. Had 2 rooms with ocean view, not worth it, noisy fan from air conditioning in both rooms. Large decks with no chairs and a day bed that had a dirty plastic cover. Resort was crowded and were lacking beach loungers at the pools and at the disappointing beach. If you want a comfortable lounger, get out early and leave your personal items on it. (6:30-7:00AM will get you a spot) If you eat at 6:30-7:30PM be prepared to wait for 30-60 minutes to get seated. Beach is rocky and not good to swim in the ocean. Staff were overall very friendly and pleased to serve you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A.

Beautiful

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Beautiful setting, amazing staff and energetic atmosphere.