Ratings based on 1,441 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

No frills, but awesome beach!

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: The beach is one of the best I've experienced at a resort in Riviera Maya. Location is convenient to everything. Resort grounds stunningly beautiful
Cons: Rooms are dated, small, uncomfortable. Maid service was horrible. A/C worked well though! Food was poor but always able to find at least one item
Location: walking distance to 5th Ave and Playacar shopping area. Walking distance to ferry to Cozumel - Close, convenient location for all you want to do
For the most part, the staff was friendly. Only a couple minor language barrier issues, but most staff spoke English which was helpful. All the other reviews are on target with this resort so I'll just talk about a few things I would have liked to have known while picking a place to stay that weren't in the other reviews I read. The Reef Playacar is in the Playacar area just south of downtown Playa del Carmen. It is about a one mile walk from the resort to 5th Avenue shopping/party district. You can either go out the main entrance, turn right, and follow the very peaceful and pretty residential street into town or you can walk along the beach the entire way. About a 20 minute walk taking the street, almost 40 minutes to walk on the beach. If you go out the main entrance, turn to your left and walk, you will walk (still through a residential neighborhood) to a much smaller shopping area, Playacar, to buy souveniers, clothing, and artsy stuff plus they have a large pharmacy, a 24 hour doctor office (hopefully you wont need it but nice to know its available in case of an emergency) and a Starbucks. This is only a 5 minute stroll at most from the resort. cab to downtown Playa del Carmen from the resort, if you didn't want to walk, varied a bit. I paid as little as 100 pesos to a max of 200. This was equal to about $5-10 USD. Walking though felt great to us after dinner!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston

The best hotel ever

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Paulino the best waiter ever and Jorje very good service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort on the beach

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Overall experience of the resort was good. Recommend upgrading to premium status upon arrival....that gets you, free wifi, premium alcohol, free access to restaurants, and a few other things. Staff was very friendly. Free cabanas on the beach was very nice!!! Would definitely come back!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

It's a great place for family

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Everything is very close and convenient. Very welcoming and great staff. On this resort you feel like your living in a rain forest... serounding is very pretty, and useful in a hot day( has shade around your stay house )
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Marginal

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Rooms were clean.
Cons: New pool. It was leaking. Upgrade the beef in the cheese burgers.
Location: Xel Ha was a great place to spend the day. Playa De Carmen is the best town in Mexico
Having to upgrade to get average alcohol drinks, not top shelf was a joke. Having to upgrade to use the pool was also a joke. Breakfast was great but food went down hill from there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Reef Playacar

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and location!!
Cons: Have Free Wi Fi.
Location: Location was perfect with many activities available.
The hotel was in a perfect location. Right on the beach and very close to the 5th ave shopping district. Staff was exceptionally friendly!! Only issue was we wanted a king bed in our room and we got a room with 2 doubles. But the great hospitality and experience made up for that flaw.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Small and pleasant. Great location. Good atmosphere. Food in the buffet was surprisingly very good. Service is great. Rooms are a little old, but not too bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff - Some Upgrades Needed

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: It is a smaller resort and was not very crowded while we were there. The beach, pools and bars are all nice and the staff is very friendly.
Cons: There were a lot of small upgrades/repairs needed. There were issues with doors not opening/ closing completely and leaks in rooms.
Check in went smoothly and quickly but they didn't record the numbers on our wrist bands. Rather than contact us in our room to get the information, the staff simply turned our key cards off so later in the evening we couldn't get into our room without going back up to the lobby first. The room was nice but the bed was hard as a rock! The resort was very pretty with a jungle area in the middle and then the restaurants and the beach past all of the villas. The staff overall were very friendly and helpful. The restaurants were all okay but the specialty ones usually had very slow service. The bars we frequented were great. The premium lounge area was awesome and the main beach and pool areas were fun as well. It did seem that overall the staff was less fluent in English than other resorts we stayed at in the past but we never had issues with miscommunication.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Very nice hotel. Beautiful grounds. Immaculately kept. Great service, good food. Close to town. I'd go there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Hotel for the Price!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
The Margaritas and Beers are Cold!! The beach is great and the town is a quick walk being this is the first resort south of town. Villas are tucked away in a jungle like atmosphere which gives it a unique ambiance. Staff is great if you tip them in the beginning they remember you and are more heavy handed on the tequila! Food is decent the buffet is 3.8 of 5 with good variety and a nice dining area facing the ocean. For price 5 of 5. Beach 4 of 5 as far as beaches in Mexico go. All in all was a good experience!!