Ratings based on 1,357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Very nice hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Loved our stay. The beds were a bit hard but lots of pillows helped with that. The Italion restrant was excellent. The buffet was about the same every day. I liked the hamburgers at the grill. Service was very good; everyone was very helpful if we needed anything. Very well kept place and clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We always like our stay here!!!!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We stayed for ten days September 9 thru the 19th and while it was crowded service still seemed very good. The staff here for us is always great,food was good with some things exceptional,like the grill out by the pool in the middle of the day was awesome.Beds are really hard but most of the hotels beds are.Always enjoy our stay here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Nice hotel close to the beach and close to 5th Ave
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver co

the reef playacar in play del carmen

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: great staff and very clean but best of all close the beautiful ocean
Cons: the security in front lobby we feel that the resort should of given us money for all that we had to pay, to get passport and all taxi rides,
Location: Tulum is near by and cosemel and shopping and a golf club
this was a nice clean resort and all staff were great, but the security is not up to par. we had our luggage taken right next to us in the lobby as we were talking to a excursion person, unbelievable, it was next to our legs and they came from behind , as there were a lot of people checking in, these professionals the thiefes knew what they were doing . we lost all ID s. they told us this has never happened to the resort before. so if you go there chain your luggage to your legs, and you will enjoy the resort, it is nice and clean and friendly staff. but like most reviews the beds were very hard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nj

Beautiful beach

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Customer service, great beach, close to town, dive shop on sight, jungle court yard, layout of the resort,shows,view of Cozumel,
We had a great time at this resort, staff extremely friendly, the beach is perfect, the resort has a great relaxing charm. We enjoyed the many different cultures of people attending the resort,it was fun people watching. We read hundreds of reviews ,many good and bad ones, before attending this resort. My girlfriend and i are very easy to please .here are our findings. Our room was pleasant and cleaned every day. The staff were very accomadating,we liked having an expedia rep right on site, she scheduled allot of our activities.we liked the fact that this resort is very close walking distance to playa del Carmen, we choose to take a taxi to town a few nights and the rates were fair. We also enjoyed taking the ferry over to Cozumel and rented a car there very eazilly, we read many reviews about the food here. Breakfast was fine with us ,we found plenty of choices for breakfast every morning. Lunch we had to work at a little harder and did use the snack bar several times, for dinner we really liked the Italian restaurant and could have easily had dinner there every night. I am sure some people would not find this resort high end enough for them, for us we found it to be an increditable value and loved it's charm. You can really relax at this resort and the water is beautiful. We loved the Mexican people ! As we were leaving we both agreed we could return here again. Thank you to all the staff at the reef for helping make our vacation unforgettable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice place.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
It is a nice place, I would say with the best beach around, is close to 5th Avenue. The staff is super friendly, all of them, I will go again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small rooms

Posted Sep 10, 2016
The pictures are misleading. The rooms are very small in size and the quality was not good. Close to the beach which is nice and good food at the buffet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

All inclusive - auch Baulärm

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Restaurant und Aufmerksamkeit des Personals
Location: In der Hotelzone, direkt am Strand. Gut geeignet für alle Aktivitäten am/im Meer, sonst. sportl. Akt. Kleiner Shopping Plaza in der Nähe.
Großes Zimmer, sauber, gutes Restaurant, mexikanische und internationale Küche, vielfältig, große Auswahl. Am 26. 08 waren den ganzen Tag Bauarbeiten im linken Nachbarzimmer, und am 2.9. im rechten. Beeinträchtigung durch Baulärm. Es sind ohnehin einzelne Häuser, wenn etwas renovierungsbedürftig ist, dürfte man halt das ganze Haus nicht vermieten.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great location ! Well maintained hotel! Food needs attention
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chihuahua, Mexico.

Excelente Ubicación y entorno selvatico acogedor.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Personal muy servicial, la distribución muy funcional, espacios acogedores, restaurant italiano, nieve y café Gourmet.
Cons: Limpieza y mantenimiento, se observan hongos en el baño y el inodoro con fuga, mayor accesibilidad al teatro para adulto mayor. Variedad en bufette.
Location: Puedes ir caminando a la 5a Avenida en 15 minutos en un sendero muy agradable rodeado de vegetación y ruinas arqueológicas.
Es la segunda vez que me hospedo en este hotel, la estancia fue placentera, el personal muy agradable y servicial, muy funcional la distribución al tener al alcance los puntos de interés alberca, playa, restaurant, todo en un entorno muy acogedor, selvatico, hermosos jardines, cascadas y respeto a los animales del entorno. De los hoteles todo incluido en Playacar, The Reef tiene envidiable ubicación, puedes ir caminando a la 5a Avenida en 15 minutos en un sendero muy agradable rodeado de vegetación y ruinas arqueológicas. Los espacios muy acogedores el café Gourmet en la terraza y la nieve hacen tus tardes deliciosas, el restaurant italiano riquísimo. Las áreas de oportunidad son limpieza y mantenimiento en las habitaciones, se observa hongos en el baño y mantenimiento de inodoro presenta fuga de agua, poner mayor cuidado en limpieza a ropa de cama, revisar estado de mobiliario. La ubicación del teatro no esta accesible para personas de tercera edad debido a tanta escalera, falta variedad de comida en buffete solo es un restaurant y los horarios están muy limitados. Mayor limpieza en albercas. Desde mi punto de vista, el Todo incluido debería ser homologado, y no hacer restructivas áreas, tipos de bebidas y comidas según el nivel, pues las áreas VIP, se ven casi vacías y sub uilizadas.