Ratings based on 1,453 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Always a Pleasure

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Wonderful staff, very clean, mid size hotel on the beach, good food, newly remodeled rooms, live band at Nico's bar Sat nights.
Cons: We miss the Mexican food and entertainment night in the theater. The pottery attendant only speaks Spanish.
Location: Walk either direction from of the resort to nearby shops. Some Mexican temple ruins to see on the way to 5th Ave.
We are repeat visitors of the Reef Playacar Resort. I could go into detail about the newly remodeled 3 story buildings in a jungle setting on the best white sand beach in Playa, with a great buffet and white table cloth dining in their restaurants....But.... it is their kind and gracious staff that keep us going back to this hotel !! We have made many friends there over the years just by asking how their day is and about their family. We teach each other Spanish and English. We've found that humans are all the same, we just come from different places. And everyone wants to be of value and acknowledged for their service. We just booked again for October...can't wait to have on of your omelets Victoria!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Something for Everyone!

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: The beach infront of the resort is very nice and the reef shop has plenty of water activities. There is food and entertainment around the clock.
Cons: The pool bar needs to open up earlier for day drinkers and the Wi Fi code should be given to EVERY guest - not just VIP.
Location: Brisk walk to 4th Ave - the shops, restaurants, ferries to Cozmel.
I have stayed at the Reef several times and find it is one of the nicest resort in Playa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Amazing!!!! Loved it.... Our crew had the time of our lives.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Overall the room was pretty standard but The bed was really uncomfortable and the ceiling was leaking in the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago area

11th return to property

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: We enjoy the size of property. You are able to get to all areas very easily. Love sitting on balcony overlooking jungle like setting.
Cons: Twice we ate in buffet around 9 pm and some hot items weren't as hot I would like to recommend a rail by pool steps to assist with getting out
Location: Location of property 15min walk to town by beach or walk way. Very safe area
11th time returning to the Reef. We usually had a small issue with checking. This visit went excellent checking in. This year I was on crutches and requested first floor and close to Pool and restaurants. The accommodations were perfect. Staff is always great. It was great to see several of the same staff from previous years. We felt that the quality of food has improved. The Mexican restaurant upstairs was delicious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nothing too spectacular.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
The hotel was decent however I had requested a king size bed and was told I wasn't guaranteed that once I got there. The front desk basically said you get a standard room with two beds. We had a problem with our safe and the whole time we were there nobody fixed it. We ended up using our friends next door. The rooms aren't like the pictures on Expedia they are pretty basic. Overall the staff was nice except for the little hiccup at the beginning. The hotel was decent however I would probably stay elsewhere next time around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Nice, not excellent.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Close to beach, staff was friendly, not over the top service, but was decent. Food was decent or "ok". Amenties were nice. Spa, small gym, ice cream parlor. Rooms were nice. Hot water took a while to warm up. TV channels were all mostly Spanish. Only CNN was in English. In a nice residential secluded area of Playa. Short taxi ride to 5th Ave. Overall relaxing, comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2017
The food was awesome and the staff were very friendly!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reef Playacar

Posted May 23, 2017
There are a couple of issues the hotel could improve. First would be the towel service. I had to protect my towel with my life and during vacation I didn't need to be preoccupied with towels. Rooms are smaller than expected but can't do much about that. The front staff need to be more courteous to guests. This needs great improvement. I had to request the management several times. The restaurants were good and the coffee was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, ok

Excellent beach location

Posted May 21, 2017
Right on the beach, beautiful views. Rooms are basic but very clean. The only issue was the shower, the water never got past lukewarm and it has very low pressure. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I would also recommend the spa, the massage was awesome.