Ratings based on 1,159 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, New York

Awesome place to stay, not the best place to eat

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Valet parking, wonderful staff, great bar, only two restaurants, close to the beach, and many pools. The rooms were a good size, each with its own balcony or access to the garden. Playgrounds for the kids, hammocks. But every Saturday, you get moved to a different room, a little inconvenient but it does make your stay a bit uncomfortable. 24 hour room service is great. The staff is very professional and you can feel the hospitality. Everything is truly great, except the food. The food was either bland, burnt, or not good. After 3 days of eating there, I had to leave the resort for some good food. If you want a great place to stay, and you only want to eat to survive, this is it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Al, Thank you for posting about our resort. We always take special care when preparing our food and beverage items and our restaurants are certified by Mexican Ministry of Tourism. However, the best certification we can achieve is our guests’ satisfaction. We're disappointed to read your review and learning we didn't achieve our goal of providing our guests with the highest standards in food. We're sharing your comments with the appropriate departments in order to improve future guests' experiences. We're glad to learn you enjoyed your overall stay and we hope you visit us again during your next vacation in Playa del Carmen. Warm Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Nice hotel and beach but not all inclusive

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Pros: The rooms and beach
Cons: Make it all inclusive
Location: Playa del Carmen is about 15 min drive. Free shuttle there about $10 for the ride back
Royal haciendas First of all... 1 hr wait time to check in. There were three people checking people in. Then you had to go to a second desk for directions to our room The Royal Haciendas is NOT all inclusive. Once you check in they tell you there are premium drinks that are not included. Most liquor that we drink in the US (Bacardi, Cuervo, jack Daniel's, patron) cost extra. The same is for food. Lobster, prime rib, and fine cuts of meat will cost extra. Ismael was an awesome server by the pool and on the beach. He remembered what we were drinking everyday and brought fries for the kids! Always attentive to our needing mas. Towel boys/men were great, too. The rooms were very well designed for families with children. Plenty of room for everyone. our kids loved the outdoor jacuzzi tube. There're two good restaurants for dinner. A nice sit down place (which you need to make reservations by 0730) and the one by the Luna grill. The wait staff was always nice and respectful. They also have a buffet for breakfast, lunch, and a constantly changing dinner selection. Our maid was great. She kept our room nice and clean. Especially after being at the beach and pool. We always gave her a tip and she was extremely polite. Restaurant and bar staff seem under staffed. 45 min wait for two beers on the beach. The grounds were well kept. Very clean walk ways. Phones and Tv did not work for over 24 hrs. Not a big deal unless you have kids, which is what this resort is all about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Zach, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're glad to see you liked our rooms and location. We hear from many of our guests that our clean and spacious villas are a great way to end an eventful day of sightseeing. It’s always nice to be able to spread out and enjoy the comforts of home while on vacation. We're sorry if we failed to communicate during your stay that among the brands available in the REFINE All-Inclusive package there’s Bacardi Blanco, Solera and Añejo, as well as Jose Cuervo. We do have Jack Daniels available with a 30% off to our all-inclusive guests. We appreciate your comments about our opportunity areas and we have shared them with our management so we may take the necessary measures to improve. We always encourage our guests to let us know right away if there are any issues or needs that they experience during their stay with us as we want the opportunity to make it right. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First review ever...... Disappointed Traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: The rooms were nice and clean but air conditioner was broken.
Cons: Get rid of the all inclusive or make it ALL INCLUSIVE! The way you have it set up now pits the staff against the all inclusive patrons.
My first review ever..... We had a large party for a wedding on the beach. The hotel room was very nice and clean however the air conditioner broke in the bedroom and we had to sleep in the living room for three days of our stay. I had to stand in the lobby at the front desk and threaten to not leave before someone would show up to look at the issue. We paid for the all inclusive and received wrist bands which made it hard to get any service from the staff. They would pass us by to get to patrons without wrist bands because they didn't pre-pay. This made it very frustrating when we got there first and were helped last! The up charges for everything was also disappointing, you had to pay extra for even a Corona beer??? makes no sense! All inclusive should mean ALL INCLUSIVE!! even if you pay more up front to avoid having the staff pick and choose who they are going to serve. At the end of the day we felt cheated!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Royal Haciendas. We are disappointed to hear your sentiment and of your experience from your recent stay with us. We strive to make sure that all of our guests have the best vacation experience possible and we're sorry to learn that we didn't achieve this goal with you. We receive so many positive reviews about our staff's service and cordiality so we are disappointed to hear your recount of what you experienced. Please know that this is not what our guests have come to expect from a vacation with us. We hope we have the chance to connect with you offline and welcome you back once more to enjoy a vacation that's up to the high standards we've held for our Royal Resorts owners and guests for 40 years. Warm Regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE UGLY

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Resort was beautiful, relaxing, and fun for our family - two kids 5 & 7. The food & drinks were good, beach was nice, and kids loved the kids club.
Cons: Another restaurant or two should be added. Las Palapas on the water is beautiful but more options would be nice.
Location: I think this is clear -AVOID MEXICO. Sad but our travel tourism is not valued nor protected. XCaret was a lot of fun once we purchased real tickets!
Let me start by saying, I had a great trip but I wouldn't go again. I travel often and have been to Mexico before. I am not naïve. I had no bad feelings going in but EVERYONE we encountered was trying to scam us. Next time, I will pay the extra and go somewhere I feel safer and not taken advantage of. I would rather give my money to another country that values and protects our tourism. Mexico, you have lost another loyal fan! From Rafael at the travel help desk at the airport who scammed us selling us XCaret "tickets" when it was actually a hotel timeshare pitch and no tickets were received (across from car rentals do not talk to anyone or stop for maps), to the EZ car rental we purchased through Expedia that tried to charge us $2,500 deposit for our car rental and additional insurance despite already purchasing (do NOT use EZ it is a scam!), to the cab driver we ended up getting who charged us twice as much, to the concierge Marce who wanted to "help" us with the ticket scam only to try to scam us with his own timeshare pitch, to the staff member who showed up at breakfast telling us Marce signed us up for a presentation we never agreed to .... DESPITE ALL OF THIS, IF YOU STILL WANT TO GO TO MEXICO, this hotel was very nice and is a good choice. Mexico 1 (Terrible) - Royal Haciendas 4 (Very Good). If you are looking to party, this place is NOT for you. If you are looking for fun and exciting new restaurants or menus each night, this place is NOT for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Kat, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Feedback from our guests is important to us. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed an overall relaxing and fun stay with your family. We offer guests incentives such as discounts in attraction tickets in exchange for their time to preview the resort and its amenities. These presentations are a great way to find out about all of the amenities available around the resort, as well as to find out what vacation ownership can do for the way that you and your family travel in the future. However, we understand that time spent on vacation is valuable and that these optional presentations are not for everyone. We're sharing your comments with the appropriate departments to improve and avoid future misunderstandings. We're sorry to hear about your negative experiences with third parties and we are disappointed to learn that these affected your overall perception of Mexico which is known to be a very warm and welcoming country. We hope that our spacious accommodations and amenities will encourage you to return to The Royal Haciendas as a guest again in the future. Best Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great experience! Would stay here again!

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Beach access, employee helpfulness/positive attitude and cleanliness of room and common spaces.
Cons: Nothing! Though, I wish Corona Lite was included in the all-inclusive.
Location: Location is about 30-40 minutes from the Cancun airport. 5th Ave is a 10 min cab ride. Tulum Ruins about 40 min away.
We had a one bedroom suite, which was PLENTY of room for two people. The room was modern and very clean. Housekeeping did an excellent job every day. The resort is very clean as well. The resort is not small and not overwhelming large (easy to navigate around after the first day). Never had to rush to get a seat at the beach. The water at the beach was beautiful and warm. Waiters come to the beach and pool to take drink and food orders all day and into the evening. The food at the resort was great (room service, La Palapas buffett, pool bar, were all good!) The Rotunda bar serves great drinks at night and coffee drinks in the morning (Leonardo is the best barista ever!) The restaurant, Los Murales, was excellent. You have to make reservations, but it is worth it. Miguel, our server, on the last night, made an amazing Mexican Coffee that was show itself and delicious! The activity center for adults and children offered so many fun things. For adults, we participated in many fitness activities such as Zumba, yoga and step aerobics. The instructors (Maximo, Jorge) were very nice and enthusiastic. The fitness center is a decent size, clean and has everything one needs to do basic work outs. The staff ranging from the front desk, to the grounds keepers, to the servers were so unbelievably friendly and helpful. I did not encounter one rude or dismissive staff member. They truly made us feel like relaxed and happy, allowing us to forget about real life.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Kristen, Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review of your recent stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you were able to find more room and more value out of a stay with us. It’s great that you were able to enjoy the amenities around the resort and give yourselves the time you deserve to relax. We are honored that you would choose to stay with us again. We will see you then! Warm Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland tn

Beautiful resort

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Maybe some adult entertainment. Seemed to be fair amount of activities for children
Location: Fifth avenue for shopping was pretty close . Took 10-15 minutes by taxi and the charge is very reasonable
Room was very large and clean. Probably could use a little updating with the sofa and the mattress was hard. But overall we enjoyed our stay very much. Staff were so nice and helpful. Enjoyed having the room service. We felt very welcome. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Patricia, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're happy to hear that you were able to enjoy yourselves around the resort and that the resort staff made you feel right at home. You couldn't give us any higher compliment than a return stay, and we would love to host you again in the future. Best Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Food and staff are amazing

Posted Jun 4, 2017
They have a variety of food throughout the day and have 24/7 room service, we had sushi at the sushi bar had chilaquiles for breakfast in the buffet had a chef cook in front of us had awesome Mexican paninis ordered room service at 2 am it was food heaven! All the staff is friendly and very helpful. Our ocean view was not that great since it is a timeshare property but can't complain about all of the positives
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you were able to enjoy yourselves around the resort and hope that the resort staff made you feel right at home. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best Regaqrds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver, co

Ocean water was a bit rocky and full of sea weed.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Rooms, pools, hot tubs, sand on the beach.
Cons: Less rocks and sea weed in the ocean out front.
Location: Decent location close to activities.
Not the best stuff: Ocean out in front of the hotel was rocky in many areas and a lot of sea weed. There were a couple of small sandy spots, but most of the water is rocky, so have some beach shoes. Water temperature was perfect. Water was green and cloudy. Tried snorkeling, but not great because of the cloudiness. I was a little disappointed with the water because of all the rocks. Now the beach itself was great. Perfect sand and many palapas. Pools were nice, but not enough beach chairs. The system seems to be you have to get up early and claim your chairs by the pool by putting towels on them. Professional residents put the towels on the chairs and come and go throughout the day. Pretty lame system. Good stuff: Very clean modern rooms. If you want to stay in your room, this is the place to go. Food was tolerable and the staff was nice enough. Hotel was newer and very clean. Nice pools and endless drinks. Summary - Overall, a nice, newer hotel and a nice stay. The overall environment was a bit stale in my opinion. One afternoon about 5:30 PM, I wasn't allowed to wade in the ocean by security for reasons I'm still not sure of. Security guy was not able to communicate why. There may have been a legit reason. I was also told by another guest that swimming in the pools at night is not allowed. It would have been nice to have a bit more of a relaxed atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear BigT: Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our resort. We take pride on our resort's cleanliness and for us is rewarding to learn you've noticed it during your most recent visit. We're sharing your comments with the appropriate channels in order to improve future guests' experiences. We're glad to learn you had an overall pleasant stay at The Royal Haciendas and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
For the all inclusive most of the drinks and foods were not included as it was promised and you had to pay for it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Royal Haciendas. We truly appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that your stay didn't meet your expectations. Regarding the surcharges in our REFINE All-Inclusive package, these are only applied to premium items (lobster, filet mignon, etc). In addition, these items are clearly marked in our menus. We're sorry if we failed to communicate accurately and assertively with you during your stay. We're sharing your comments with the appropriate channels so that we may find ways to improve our service. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back. Best Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from albuquerque nm

Nice place

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Nice place to stay, good food and great rooms as well for families. The facilities within the resort are spectacular and a special note to Daniela for being very courteous and professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Sergio, Thank you for taking time to post about our resort. We're sure that the TripAdvisor community will appreciate your comments about our resort. We always strive to provide our guests with the highest satisfaction rates and we're glad to learn we achieved this goal with you. We'll personally praise Daniela for leaving such a nice impression on you. We look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Playa del Carmen. Warm Regards