Ratings based on 1,163 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, VA

nice family vacation

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: room is spacious, very nice big pools, lap pool is nice too. Plenty of foods choices to eat at the buffet. Les Morales restaurant is excellent
Cons: check-in, information about resort restaurants, and activities in and around the resort
Location: downtown Playa Del Carmen is about 15 mns away.
very nice main pool and lap pool. plenty of chairs by the pool and the beach. nice beach with plenty of shades. check-in is a little slow. food is good at the buffet and pool side restaurant. Les Morales food is excellent but need reservation. drink is good, but there is a added cost for the top-shelf drink. nightly entertainment is kind of limited, but it is good if you prefer peace and quiet. Resort is safe, the security personnel is doing a great job to make sure that all guests are in the safe environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by SandraR., Hotel Management
Dear SP72, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you had a nice vacation. We hope that you and your family made some incredible memories that will last for years to come. We hear from many of our guests that our clean and spacious villas are a great way to end an eventful day of sightseeing. It’s always nice to be able to spread out and enjoy the comforts of home while on vacation. We appreciate your feedback regarding our opportunity areas and we hope to see you again soon! Best Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mini vacation all inclusive.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: very roomy and spacious.
Cons: Not too many activities and entertainment.
Location: Good.
The resort was very nice and clean and we enjoy it very much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We're delighted to see that you liked our clean and spacious accommodations. We're sorry to learn you weren't able to take advantage of the many activities that the Social Activities department has scheduled throughout the week for all our guests to enjoy. We're glad to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Best Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Relaxing with a view

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Choice of several pools, activities, great food and friendly wait staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Ivonne: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our resorts are built with relaxation in mind and we always aim to offer a relaxed experience taking care of your good rest without noise or any annoyance. We're glad to learn you enjoyed this relaxation. We appreciate your comments about our staff's friendliness and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, Utah

Beautiful hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 25, 2017
My husband and I stayed at the Royal Haciendas in mid June. The hotel grounds are beautifully maintained and the rooms are very nice inside and kept clean. We had an ocean view room that was spectacular! The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful as well. My only complaints are some things are not covered in the all inclusive package so be observant. For example, they advertised prime rib night in the buffet during our stay but charged $8 per person if they ordered it. There are meal options in the restaurants that have a surcharge, in addition to some room service items and a few popular brands of alcohol as well. Just be sure to look at the menus closely, especially if you purchased the all inclusive package expecting everything to be covered. The food itself is just ok too. Overall, those minor complaints didn't ruin our stay and we still had a great experience. I would definitely recommend the Royal Haciendas to a friend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Shandra, Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review of your stay. We’re happy to hear that we were able to provide you with clean and well-kept facilities to make the most out of your vacation. We always strive to give our guests the best location, value, amenities and service. We strive to communicate clearly and assertively with our guests about the amenities included in our REFINE All Inclusive package. The menus are designed with a symbol indicating the premium items that have a surcharge. We're sharing your comments with our management so that we may find ways to improve. We are constantly working to improve the experience of our guests, and truly appreciate your feedback. We're glad to see that you would recommend us to your friends and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx, New York

Awesome place to stay, not the best place to eat

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Valet parking, wonderful staff, great bar, only two restaurants, close to the beach, and many pools. The rooms were a good size, each with its own balcony or access to the garden. Playgrounds for the kids, hammocks. But every Saturday, you get moved to a different room, a little inconvenient but it does make your stay a bit uncomfortable. 24 hour room service is great. The staff is very professional and you can feel the hospitality. Everything is truly great, except the food. The food was either bland, burnt, or not good. After 3 days of eating there, I had to leave the resort for some good food. If you want a great place to stay, and you only want to eat to survive, this is it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Al, Thank you for posting about our resort. We always take special care when preparing our food and beverage items and our restaurants are certified by Mexican Ministry of Tourism. However, the best certification we can achieve is our guests’ satisfaction. We're disappointed to read your review and learning we didn't achieve our goal of providing our guests with the highest standards in food. We're sharing your comments with the appropriate departments in order to improve future guests' experiences. We're glad to learn you enjoyed your overall stay and we hope you visit us again during your next vacation in Playa del Carmen. Warm Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Nice hotel and beach but not all inclusive

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Pros: The rooms and beach
Cons: Make it all inclusive
Location: Playa del Carmen is about 15 min drive. Free shuttle there about $10 for the ride back
Royal haciendas First of all... 1 hr wait time to check in. There were three people checking people in. Then you had to go to a second desk for directions to our room The Royal Haciendas is NOT all inclusive. Once you check in they tell you there are premium drinks that are not included. Most liquor that we drink in the US (Bacardi, Cuervo, jack Daniel's, patron) cost extra. The same is for food. Lobster, prime rib, and fine cuts of meat will cost extra. Ismael was an awesome server by the pool and on the beach. He remembered what we were drinking everyday and brought fries for the kids! Always attentive to our needing mas. Towel boys/men were great, too. The rooms were very well designed for families with children. Plenty of room for everyone. our kids loved the outdoor jacuzzi tube. There're two good restaurants for dinner. A nice sit down place (which you need to make reservations by 0730) and the one by the Luna grill. The wait staff was always nice and respectful. They also have a buffet for breakfast, lunch, and a constantly changing dinner selection. Our maid was great. She kept our room nice and clean. Especially after being at the beach and pool. We always gave her a tip and she was extremely polite. Restaurant and bar staff seem under staffed. 45 min wait for two beers on the beach. The grounds were well kept. Very clean walk ways. Phones and Tv did not work for over 24 hrs. Not a big deal unless you have kids, which is what this resort is all about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Zach, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We're glad to see you liked our rooms and location. We hear from many of our guests that our clean and spacious villas are a great way to end an eventful day of sightseeing. It’s always nice to be able to spread out and enjoy the comforts of home while on vacation. We're sorry if we failed to communicate during your stay that among the brands available in the REFINE All-Inclusive package there’s Bacardi Blanco, Solera and Añejo, as well as Jose Cuervo. We do have Jack Daniels available with a 30% off to our all-inclusive guests. We appreciate your comments about our opportunity areas and we have shared them with our management so we may take the necessary measures to improve. We always encourage our guests to let us know right away if there are any issues or needs that they experience during their stay with us as we want the opportunity to make it right. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First review ever...... Disappointed Traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: The rooms were nice and clean but air conditioner was broken.
Cons: Get rid of the all inclusive or make it ALL INCLUSIVE! The way you have it set up now pits the staff against the all inclusive patrons.
My first review ever..... We had a large party for a wedding on the beach. The hotel room was very nice and clean however the air conditioner broke in the bedroom and we had to sleep in the living room for three days of our stay. I had to stand in the lobby at the front desk and threaten to not leave before someone would show up to look at the issue. We paid for the all inclusive and received wrist bands which made it hard to get any service from the staff. They would pass us by to get to patrons without wrist bands because they didn't pre-pay. This made it very frustrating when we got there first and were helped last! The up charges for everything was also disappointing, you had to pay extra for even a Corona beer??? makes no sense! All inclusive should mean ALL INCLUSIVE!! even if you pay more up front to avoid having the staff pick and choose who they are going to serve. At the end of the day we felt cheated!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Royal Haciendas. We are disappointed to hear your sentiment and of your experience from your recent stay with us. We strive to make sure that all of our guests have the best vacation experience possible and we're sorry to learn that we didn't achieve this goal with you. We receive so many positive reviews about our staff's service and cordiality so we are disappointed to hear your recount of what you experienced. Please know that this is not what our guests have come to expect from a vacation with us. We hope we have the chance to connect with you offline and welcome you back once more to enjoy a vacation that's up to the high standards we've held for our Royal Resorts owners and guests for 40 years. Warm Regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE UGLY

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Resort was beautiful, relaxing, and fun for our family - two kids 5 & 7. The food & drinks were good, beach was nice, and kids loved the kids club.
Cons: Another restaurant or two should be added. Las Palapas on the water is beautiful but more options would be nice.
Location: I think this is clear -AVOID MEXICO. Sad but our travel tourism is not valued nor protected. XCaret was a lot of fun once we purchased real tickets!
Let me start by saying, I had a great trip but I wouldn't go again. I travel often and have been to Mexico before. I am not naïve. I had no bad feelings going in but EVERYONE we encountered was trying to scam us. Next time, I will pay the extra and go somewhere I feel safer and not taken advantage of. I would rather give my money to another country that values and protects our tourism. Mexico, you have lost another loyal fan! From Rafael at the travel help desk at the airport who scammed us selling us XCaret "tickets" when it was actually a hotel timeshare pitch and no tickets were received (across from car rentals do not talk to anyone or stop for maps), to the EZ car rental we purchased through Expedia that tried to charge us $2,500 deposit for our car rental and additional insurance despite already purchasing (do NOT use EZ it is a scam!), to the cab driver we ended up getting who charged us twice as much, to the concierge Marce who wanted to "help" us with the ticket scam only to try to scam us with his own timeshare pitch, to the staff member who showed up at breakfast telling us Marce signed us up for a presentation we never agreed to .... DESPITE ALL OF THIS, IF YOU STILL WANT TO GO TO MEXICO, this hotel was very nice and is a good choice. Mexico 1 (Terrible) - Royal Haciendas 4 (Very Good). If you are looking to party, this place is NOT for you. If you are looking for fun and exciting new restaurants or menus each night, this place is NOT for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Kat, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Feedback from our guests is important to us. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed an overall relaxing and fun stay with your family. We offer guests incentives such as discounts in attraction tickets in exchange for their time to preview the resort and its amenities. These presentations are a great way to find out about all of the amenities available around the resort, as well as to find out what vacation ownership can do for the way that you and your family travel in the future. However, we understand that time spent on vacation is valuable and that these optional presentations are not for everyone. We're sharing your comments with the appropriate departments to improve and avoid future misunderstandings. We're sorry to hear about your negative experiences with third parties and we are disappointed to learn that these affected your overall perception of Mexico which is known to be a very warm and welcoming country. We hope that our spacious accommodations and amenities will encourage you to return to The Royal Haciendas as a guest again in the future. Best Regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great experience! Would stay here again!

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Beach access, employee helpfulness/positive attitude and cleanliness of room and common spaces.
Cons: Nothing! Though, I wish Corona Lite was included in the all-inclusive.
Location: Location is about 30-40 minutes from the Cancun airport. 5th Ave is a 10 min cab ride. Tulum Ruins about 40 min away.
We had a one bedroom suite, which was PLENTY of room for two people. The room was modern and very clean. Housekeeping did an excellent job every day. The resort is very clean as well. The resort is not small and not overwhelming large (easy to navigate around after the first day). Never had to rush to get a seat at the beach. The water at the beach was beautiful and warm. Waiters come to the beach and pool to take drink and food orders all day and into the evening. The food at the resort was great (room service, La Palapas buffett, pool bar, were all good!) The Rotunda bar serves great drinks at night and coffee drinks in the morning (Leonardo is the best barista ever!) The restaurant, Los Murales, was excellent. You have to make reservations, but it is worth it. Miguel, our server, on the last night, made an amazing Mexican Coffee that was show itself and delicious! The activity center for adults and children offered so many fun things. For adults, we participated in many fitness activities such as Zumba, yoga and step aerobics. The instructors (Maximo, Jorge) were very nice and enthusiastic. The fitness center is a decent size, clean and has everything one needs to do basic work outs. The staff ranging from the front desk, to the grounds keepers, to the servers were so unbelievably friendly and helpful. I did not encounter one rude or dismissive staff member. They truly made us feel like relaxed and happy, allowing us to forget about real life.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Kristen, Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review of your recent stay with us. We’re happy to hear that you were able to find more room and more value out of a stay with us. It’s great that you were able to enjoy the amenities around the resort and give yourselves the time you deserve to relax. We are honored that you would choose to stay with us again. We will see you then! Warm Regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland tn

Beautiful resort

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Maybe some adult entertainment. Seemed to be fair amount of activities for children
Location: Fifth avenue for shopping was pretty close . Took 10-15 minutes by taxi and the charge is very reasonable
Room was very large and clean. Probably could use a little updating with the sofa and the mattress was hard. But overall we enjoyed our stay very much. Staff were so nice and helpful. Enjoyed having the room service. We felt very welcome. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Sandra R., Hotel Management
Dear Patricia, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're happy to hear that you were able to enjoy yourselves around the resort and that the resort staff made you feel right at home. You couldn't give us any higher compliment than a return stay, and we would love to host you again in the future. Best Regards.