Ratings based on 867 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Perfect hotel for family vacation

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: Well maintained facilities, nice architecture, easy access to the beach.
Cons: Food options, whilst fairly authentic, were rather limited. Particularly breakfast had a bit of a 'Groundhog Day' feel to it.
Location: There is an endless stream of activities to do nearby. Dolphin sanctuaries, Mayan sights, adventure parks - you name it.
The Royal Haciendas is a perfect setting for family vacation. Its warm water pools, clean beach and varied activities provided a great entertainment for the little ones, thus giving us parents some rest too. Friendly and caring staff completed the joyful experience we have had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great Family Vacation

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: The rooms are very spacious and clean. The layout of the resort was great. Didn't have to walk far to the beach or pool.
Cons: More selection of meats at the buffet.
Location: The location was great. Walks down the beach looking at corral. Golf course just down the street.
My family and I had an amazing stay. Most of the staff was very helpful and catered to our every need. Lots of activities for the kids and great drinks for the adults. This was our first stay at this resort and we look forward to coming back. The beach was very clean. They kept the pools well maintained. Always had chairs available to lounge on by the pool. Our kids loved playing volleyball on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minneapolis, mn

Relaxing Stay

Posted Feb 9, 2016
You will not make a mistake by staying here. This resort exceeded my expectations. Clean, lots of activities for the active adult. Booking another trip now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Nice resort on the beach. Pools excellent for those who didn't want the beach
Cons: limited restraurant options
great weather and good accomodations with attentive staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and not crowded

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Very quiet and very clean. There were plenty of beach chairs available everyday and the beach wasn't crowded at all. The food and staff were great. Didn't like having to sign a bill after every meal or some of the upcharges but really wasn't a big deal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Nice facilities, beautiful beach.
Cons: Making guest switch rooms in the middle of their vacation.
Location: Short drive to Playa del Carmen, Tulum and the Cenotes.
We liked this hotel. It was quiet, the rooms were spacious and clean, the staff was pleasant and the food was good. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax, this hotel is for you. If you are traveling with young kids there are not many activities for them. Our only issue with the hotel was that we booked a Wednesday-Sunday vacation and when we got there we were informed that we were going to have to switch rooms on Saturday. This was a very big deal since we were traveling with 2 small kids. We had to pack our entire room on Friday and then again to Saturday to return home. That part was not disclosed when we booked our trip and because of that I would never stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Bar service by the pool
Enjoyed our stay, very clean, great gym, good food
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Beautiful hotel on a well-maintained beach.

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Beautiful facilities!
Cons: The food! The only truly yummy meal I had was a ribeye steak: but it was included with my all-inclusive package and i had to pay a surcharge for it.
Location: Shopping on 5th avenue in Playa del Carmen was lots of fun! Lovely beach with some great walks.
Check-in was a bit bumpy. The woman at the desk told us we had a personal concierge who would walk us to our room, and then sent us to wait for her. After waiting for a few minutes and seeing no sign of the concierge, we thought we'd check and make sure we were in the right place. I spoke to another woman at the desk, and she told me the concierge had gone home for the day. Oops! She showed us where our room was on the map and gave us directions, but we were confused, and it took us a couple attempts to find it. Once we found it, the room was lovely! Clean and airy with lovely tile floors. A nice big bathtub, complimentary robes to wear, and a lovely patio to sit out on. The beds were comfy, and the small kitchenette was very convenient! The only disappoint about the room was that it was described as an "ocean view". If you stood outside on the edge of the patio and looked around the building you could see the ocean, but not from the room. That was a disappointment. While we were there, the staff was friendly and very helpful. Our room was clean and well-maintained. The beach is lovely! There is always someone out there raking up the seaweed that gets washed on to the shore. The pools are gorgeous and the spa tubs, though they could have been hotter, were comfortable and relaxing. The major flaw that keeps this from being a true four star resort is the food. There was the occasional delicious tidbit here or there, but most of it was no better than all right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairport, NY

Beautiful resort on a beautiful beach.

Posted Jan 29, 2016
I found the entire staff , from people at check in, bell boys ,maids, bartenders etc. could not do enough for us. The personnel were outstanding. The resort did not cater to a younger crowd and night life was limited. The only drawback was the weather, which was no fault of the resort. The beach was beautifully maintained and there was no issue with seaweed while we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Living like Myan Kings!!

Posted Jan 25, 2016
I couldn't imagine how people could complain about anything. Even if a bad experience happened it would so easily be over-ridden with with good and beauty all around everyday.