Ratings based on 2,078 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Owasso, OK

Excellent service!

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: The impeccable service by the entire staff and the variety of things to do.
Cons: The night time entertainment in the lobby.
Location: We enjoyed eating at the Italian restaurant across from the resort and walking 5th Avenue.
We visited August 21st-26th. Had a great time! The beach had seaweed the first few days but it cleared up before we left. Everyone went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The ice machine outside our room was not working but as soon as we reported it, someone brought us a bag of ice and fixed the machine! Mario at The Tequela Bar always had our drinks waiting on us as soon as they saw us. Magdalena Salas kept our room looking great and Leticia was awesome with the turn down service. This was our second time at the resort and the food had improved 100%! The waitress kept the drinks coming all day at the pool. We hope to return again and again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of the best vacations

Posted Aug 27, 2015
There is no other word that execellent in everything. I would totally going back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tyler,Texas

The perfect vacation and wedding get away

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: Add music speaker around all the pool just not the larger section.
The resort took care of all our needs every time we asked. The wedding was beautiful and without any issues. The staff was very helpful and very polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it

Posted Aug 25, 2015
This place was amazing they greeted us with champagne as soon as we walked into the lobby. The staff was really nice and helpful. We were recommended this resort by a family member and it did not disappoint. We are definitely staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and awesome staff

Posted Aug 25, 2015
We were late getting to the resort because of the airline, but they were amazing and very welcoming. The food was top of the line. Pool was great. Lots of areas of shade and lots in the sun. The rooms were large and kept clean! The spa was wonderful. If you're looking to relax, this is the place. Flavored water lines the counter, a jacuzzi, a steam room, and a sauna all are free for use. Along the beach, there is a lot of stuff to do. The resort is in very close in walking distance to the Playa market, and they have cool stuff to see. We did the Wayan Fish Spa while out and about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown and Royal treats you well

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: The rooms are beautiful.
Cons: The Italian restaurant needs improvement in the food.
The Royal staff does a great job keeping the place looking great and are very nice. The hotel is perfect for couples or adults traveling for a good time. The rooms are big and the view is great. The beach is small and a little rocky but the location is great access to downtown shopping and clubs. The food was great except for the Italian one. Asiana was the best.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: The food was the best I've had at an all-inclusive, lots of variety!
Cons: There wasn't any shade at the pool area. Our room was in the main building and it was very noisy with the evening entertainment music & in the AM
Location: The location was right next to all the shopping.
The food was great, the staff was great. I wish there had been more shade options near the pool. The biggest complaint was the noise in our room. We were in the main area right off the lobby and in the evening the entertainment was great but was so loud in our room till about 12am then the music started up again every morning about 6 am. Although it was nice piano music for the people enjoying breakfast it was a So my daily alarm clock. Which I was not wanting on vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin tx

Great hotel!

Posted Aug 25, 2015
All the staff were exceptional but I want to recognize, Jose (Butler) as he was friendly, knowledgeable, and timely. He made our trip very special! If you go to The Royal, ask for Jose when you arrive. Also.... Get upgraded to the junior suite or swim up suit... The extra money is worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Wonderful all-inclusive resort!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: It was beautiful, spacious and very clean. They had an excellent choice of restaurants, activities and other amenities!
Location: Walk out of the resort and there is the main market center with the local shops! Very convenient location!
I can't say enough wonderful things about The Royal Playa del Carmen! The Resort itself, the staff, the restaurants, the service, the entertainment, really everything is the most amazing I have experienced! The Resort is beautiful, luxurious and super clean! The staff is the friendliest, most helpful staff that I have seen. They were genuinely happy to assist us in whatever we needed or wanted or just to offer a smile in passing. Kudos to Marcello, our concierge, Enrique, Spa Massage Therapist, Jasmine, Spa Facials, Javier, our waiter at Spice Restaurant, Diego, Carlos Chan, Ahmed, and Pastor at Maria Marie! ( Maria Marie Restaurant is awesome). They and many others made our stay so special and enjoyable. The resort has a great entertainment staff that is in charge of all activities, of which they offer a wonderful variety throughout the day and evening, with amazing performances nightly that shouldn't be missed!! The number of restaurants on property was impressive and the variety in dining choices was excellent. I am vegan (which they make a note of on check-in) and was thrilled to have the restaurant chefs willing to make special lunch or dinner options if there wasn't anything on the menu. Loved that! I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting a quality all-inclusive adult resort for a reasonable price! It is well worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterrey

Muy buena ubicación...esperaba más del hotel.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Me encantó la ubicación...decepcionada un poco de la comida...regular. poca variedad...muy triste la alberca....sin actividades buenas.....sin música padre.... El personal del hotel muy amables y serviciales....