Ratings based on 3,357 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017
I've been going to Mexico for over 5 years in a row this is far the best hotel ever I stood in..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from playa del carmen mx

Great sized adult resort.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The hotel was beautiful, super clean, and the amentites were top notch. We would defiantly go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Loved it! Would go back! But...

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: That said, we liked our rooms, the spa, the staff was friendly, and it was very clean!!! We will be back.
Cons: Some of the details. I understand that nothing is perfect which is precisely the reason that we will return.
Location: Loved the location and the fact that we could walk to shops and restaurants.
It is all in the details: first, they messed up the reservation. I had 2 rooms reserved. The second room needed to have 2 queen beds. They gave us two rooms each with a king size bed. They were sold out so changing the room was not an option. That said, the rooms are large enough that they actually brought in a second bed to make it work. We accepted. They never brought back wine glasses to the rooms despite the fact that we asked. The seem to always be out of straws at the pool! Order a frozen margarita and it is hard to drink without a straw. The photo shop is a separate concession. They closed early and it did not give us an opportunity to get our photos. We have since spoken to them and are awaiting a resolution. No call or email yet. My husband and I ordered room service. On the same night, my sons ordered room service. The 4 of us were not dining together. Yet, my son had my dinner and I had his. We had not spoken to them that night so we discovered it in the morning that our meals had been switched. Lastly, We were celebrating my husband's birthday! Awesome! Two days later, a cake was delivered to our room "Happy Honeymoon"???
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from amarillo, tx

Amazing resort!!!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
I went to playa del Carmen for my honeymoon and I couldn't be happier, it was an amazing experience. From Sunrise to sunset we were well taken care of, and the staff was nice and courteous at all times. We got the swim up with beach walkout and even though the restaurant Pelicanos is less then 100ft from our suite we were never disrupted by any noise. We ate at Spice, El Rincon, Asiana and had room service a few times. They were all great with very friendly staff. Julia at spice always had a smile on her face by far the best waitress I had while there. I don't remember the names of the girls who walked around the pool taking drink orders but they were always genuinely happy to help. The only cons I have are that I wasn't impressed with the way they kept trying to sell us timeshares. Anytime we were around the lobby area we were asked if we had gotten our "free" gifts. Finally after the 3rd time I finally sat down because he promised to answer a few questions I had. He answered my questions and then insisted we meet him for breakfast and then requested my Visa at which time I told him I didn't have one, he looked at me incredulously and said what do you mean you don't have a Visa everyone has a Visa, I told him I only had a Discover card at which time he stopped being charming and told me he couldn't give me my free gifts and abruptly ended our conversation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Walking distance to just about everything!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to it all! Beach massage, kayaking, Parasail, jet ski, spa, and Quinta Avenida (5th ave shopping). The best staff of any resort!
Cons: They forgot to bring us coffee one morning which we had pre-ordered. But no big deal - we called them and they brought it right away!
Location: Spa, pools, beach, hot tubs, swim up bar, entertainment, cooking shows, bike tours, kayaking, parasail, jet ski, beach massage, water zumba, & 5th ave
Fantastic! We stayed in suite 524 (oceanfront room) second level with nice balcony and hammock. Staff were most impressive! We were waited on, pampered and spoiled. They serve you drinks at the pool and ocean, clean your glasses for you, and even inflated our rafts. Lots of seaweed in July but they were quick to clean it up. 24 hour room service, coffee shops, clean pools, hot tubs, spa, nightly entertainment, cooking shows, water Zumba and aerobics, bike tours, and MORE! Very friendly and caring staff. Caribbean Sea was SO pretty - turquoise, blue and green in different areas. White sand beach. They even have a first aid medical guy, Doctor, gift shop with a pharmacy, and 24 snack bar that includes nachos, fruit, baked goods, and drinks. Housekeeping staff were fabulous!!! I will miss Danielle and Carla (zumba and aerobics instructors) and Jessica and her co-worker from Expedia, and Jessina (hostess who hugged and kissed us upon departure). Sweet people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
We absolutely loved the genuine courtesy of each staff member at The Royal. They truly made the experience one of a kind. The nightly shows were also an added bonus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Didn't want to leave :)

Posted Jul 18, 2017
First, staff was amazing from the start, greeting you with drinks and upgrading our room for a small cost (optional). We had a private butler which was cool. Pools are huge and they have activities each day which are cute. beach is nice but lots of seaweed and very strong sulpher smell. Food was excellent at every restaurant! So many choices and 24 hour room service . Rooms are immaculate and they turn down your bed each night and leave chocolates. Jacuzzi in the room is cool ( my bubbles didn't work) but who cares lol. I would def recommend and will be coming back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Excellent hotel. Best experience ever

Posted Jul 17, 2017
We made this trip to celebrate my husband 50th birthday and was the best experience ever. The hotel is impeccable in all aspects, the staff super friendly and respectfull and the food excellent. We recomend this hotel to everyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Fl

Wonderful resort close to everything!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Everything - especially the food options! We loved Marie Marie restaurant, went there 3 nights! Coffee House was a great option for coffee in the am
Cons: The AC wasn't very cool in the room when we first got there, once we called they fixed immediately.
Location: Loved the location close to 5th, enjoyed being near the markets and local restaurants, shops. Enjoyable walk in the evenings to take in the culture.
My boyfriend and I planned our first trip together to Mexico. We went round and round on where to stay, how much to spend, all inclusive or not etc... Finally I just pulled the trigger on Royal Playa Del Carmen and couldn't have been happier! Once we got there we were thrilled with our choice! The price value equation we found to be worth every penny. So glad we went all inclusive route for our trip. Less thinking, less debating, more enjoying! Room - We found our room to be just as advertised. Great Ocean view as pictured. Set back from the beach, we were also back from the pool area which we are happy about. We were above the main lobby area where they did hold shows and events in the evening, but they were always wrapped up by the time we were winding down. Room was very spacious, clean, bathroom separated nicely from sleep area and very good size. Wonderful bed. Staff - anything we needed staff was extremely accommodating. From maids, to waiters, to front desk the service here was exceptional! Pool - we really enjoyed our days lounging at the pool. Great chairs some that have shade at the top to block the strong sun. The waitresses at the pool area were on it! Gym - we hit this gym a couple times to work off the cerveza, great hotel gym with good cardio and weight options. We booked excursions ahead of time although it did appear there were staff to help you out with plans. If you are tired of looking at hotels options just pull the trigger on this one!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great place to stay!

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Cons: For this being a 4/5 star resort I would expect to see luxury mattress' in the rooms instead of a lower end firm mattress. More authentic Mexican food
Location: Xcaret, 5th Ave Shopping, Ferry to Cozumel
The good: The Junior Swim-Up King Bed Suite is amazing. Outside in the pool you have a view of the wedding gazebo and the ocean. The swim-up suites share a pool with 7-10 other rooms (this depends on which building you are in), with poolside drink service (Mario was a great server). These suites let you enjoy being in a pool in a quieter environment then being in the main pool area. Great service from Pedro at Rincon Mexicano and Jamie at Pelicano's. Also the best places to eat at while at the resort. You also have access to the Gran Porto next door for food and drinks. The okay: The other restaurants are good, but the style of food is not what I was expecting for a resort in Mexico. The Bad: During check-in we were told that the room we booked, almost a year in advance, was not available. But they had a double bed swim-up suite for us instead and that they didn't know when the our booked room would be available. We were asked to see if the double room would meet our needs. It didn't bed was way too small. They did get us into the suite we booked the next day, but I didn't like the run around. Seemed like they wanted to do a scam. One note: I have heard people complain about the drinks being watered down. We tipped our severs and our drinks were not watered down at all. I had a margarita that was nearly all tequila. So TIP your servers and they will take care of you.