Ratings based on 2,670 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Great location! This hotel is a hidden gem!!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
This was our 4 trip to Playa del Carmen and The Royal was our first time! It takes 1st place!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incredible hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2016
The best hotel i have ever stayed in, the most amazing friendly professional staff I have ever encounter
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Excelente

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Todo es excelente el poder ver el amanecer cada día.
Cons: Todo esta muy bien
Location: La ubicación es excelente justo a pasos de la quinta avenida y todas sus tiendas y actividades
Excelente ubicación trato del personal, comida, instalaciones excelentes, área de piscina y personal que atiende es muy intenso en servicio. El servicio en el rest Spcie es excelente en especial Mario Hernandez capitán de meseros excelente y María Torres quien arreglo la habitación cada día.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great Place and wonderful staff

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Love the staff and location of this place.
Cons: Only thing I wish they could improve was the beds, ours was a little soft and we prefer a harder bed.
Location: Right across the street from the 5th Avenue which is the place to be! Close to the ferry to go to Cozumel or where ever you want. LOCATION LOCATION.
Great location, great staff and I must say the food is much better than the last visit 4 years ago. The staff will do just about anything to make sure you have the best visit possible. They will cater to your every need. I can't say enough about how nice the staff is. Beautiful place and updated rooms. I can honestly say that this place has the best food I have ever had in Mexico and I have traveled there for may years.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel Terrible Beach

Posted Jul 17, 2016
I loved the resort and the food and service was great! If your not a beach person this resort is perfect if you want to lay at the pool. I like the beaches much better in Cancun and Tulum. The beach at this resort has a terrible odor and lots of seaweed. A block away from 5th Avenue so you can go to all the shops and restaurants everyday!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simply excellent

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Everything about the hotel will be better than you imagine. Fully recommend this place to everyone. We went for our honeymoon, and couldn't be happier about our choice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Treatment like royalty

Posted Jul 16, 2016
This is my second time in playa del carmen and i was amazed the first time. This time i was in the royal where i felt i felt like royalty. The hotel overall was very well kept and organized. The staff left a great impression on me from morning till night. The alcohol was top shelf and in abundance. the food, i am still speechless because i am from chicago and i still cannot eat such great food here compared to the royal. I would fedinitely recommend this if you are looking for great service, wonderful food from am to pm and great overall experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016
My daughter and I had a wonderful time at The Royal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Beautiful Resort in a Perfect Location.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
This place is absolutely gorgeous! The staff was phenomenal and treated you with the up most respect. There were 5 restaurants to choose from and the food was amazing. The entertainment was amazing as well every night. Lots of pool entertainment and activities. This was our first trip but will not be our last. We will be going back to The Royal and highly recommend it to all our friends and family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from League City, Tx

Beautiful, relaxing hotel!

Posted Jul 15, 2016
If you are looking for a laid back, fantastic food, beautiful rooms, friendly staff and a relaxing vacation, then this is your place. We enjoyed all the restaurants so much. If you enjoy swimming later in the evening, splurge and get a swim up room as the pool closes at 9. Make sure you go into town along 5th street for great shopping and if you're looking for a place to eat in town, eat at The Plank. We did a couples massage at the spa that was so amazing. One of the best vacations we have ever taken by far! I can't wait to go back!!