Ratings based on 2,740 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We loved everything about the Royal. This was our second stay with 2 separate large groups and the hotel is very accommodating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cómplices del amor

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: La atención y las instalaciones
Es un hotel con unas hermosas instalaciones, excelente limpieza y atención. Ofrece muchas actividades para realizar, y con acceso directo a la playa y solo a unos metros de distancia del centro de Playa del Carmen. Fueron cómplices del amor colaborando con una sorpresa romántica, por lo que nunca olvidare mi experiencia en este hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice all inclusive

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Everything good room, staff friendly, hotel activities, no kids but food ok.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montebello, CA

Treated Like Royalty

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The service was always exceptional.
Cons: I wish there was a dance club at the resort.
Location: Walking around on 5th Avenue was fun. Salesmen were a bit pushy but we were able to tolerate.
The Royal Playa Del Carmen was an awesome place to visit. We were treated like loyalty the entire time. Never short of food nor drinks and most important, never short of service. The service received was exceptional. Very, very happy with our stay. Roberto at the restaurant Pelicanos was awesome with his attention to detail, great personality and great service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The hotel is beautiful and the seevice is excellent. We recommend this hotel for sure
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but not good for a relaxing trip

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The overall hotel was very nice and clean. However the beach was a public beach and you could not go in the water much because most is blocked off because of rocks. Where you could go in still isn't great and is next to the ski doo area. When relaxing on the beach and pool there is no quiet and you are right next to another person because due to little property the chairs are packed tight. We stayed mostly near the "quiet" pool. This was more relaxing but very small still! I feel like overall we paid way more than we should have for this hotel. We have stayed in Mexico before for a lot lower of a price and much more room and was overall a better hotel. Staff was mostly very nice
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Good location, relatively good facilities, not so good clientelle.. Great staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome!!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Great hotel, highly recommened. Awesome service, nice pools, nice beach. Only complaint would be a softer bed, but still sleep ok.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Amazing

Posted Aug 22, 2016
For a first time stay in both this resort and Mexico, me and my wife would do it again. Amazing service, food, location, etc. Everyone was so friendly and willing to meet your needs and make your stay as comfortable as possible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Really nice resort for highly discounted rate

Posted Aug 21, 2016
A very big but lovely resort with most things included. Some good restaurant options. Quality of fruit cocktails not great given supposed to be luxury resort, cheap fruit syrups used not fresh fruit. Really good activities to get involved and to meet people if you would like to but no pressure to join in.