Ratings based on 2,857 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, United States of America

Great service

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, Excellent service, good food, location.
Cons: I wish there was a night club in the hotel. This is an adults only place, and you don't always want to go out of the hotel for night life.
Location: This hotel is close to 5th Ave, where you find lots of restaurants, clubs, and bars among other things.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Amazing Hotel! Book it!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: The hotel went above and beyond my expectations. The pictures do not do this hotel justice. The staff is friendly and willing to assist you with any needs. The restaurants are amazing and there is so much variety. We made reservations at Maria Marie's 3 times because it was absolutely wonderful. The rooms were spacious, clean, and the cleaning staff was great! No complaints about the stay. Best hotel I have ever stayed at! Will definitely go back again. My husband and I couldn't believe how lucky we got with this amazing place! Entertainment was great! The room offers complimentary snacks within your room with a fridge full of goodies and your own bar, all included with your stay. So worth the price!!! Weather was always 85 and sunny! Beach was great! Lots of extra activities offered by the hotel which are included!
Cons: The hotel was perfect! I have no complaints about it. The staff went above and beyond our expectations! They truly care about giving you a wonderful experience. There is nothing that I can think of that I would change about this hotel. The pools were huge and they have a swim up bar with easy access.
Location: So much to do nearby! Shopping, entertainment (Xcaret, Xplor, and Xel-ha) and more! We went to Xcaret and it was magnificent!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The Royal

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: EVERYTHING ! The daily evening shows were a plus! The staff was wonderful! The amenities the hotel offers were unbelievable.
Cons: I seriously do not have any item that the hotel can improve upon as everything was superb!
Location: OMG, location was PERFECT! You are right there walking distance to the town and 5th Avenue!!! Loved it!!!!
I have never experienced such extraordinary service! I literally have no complaints. Every single thing I can think of that a person needs or wants from a vacation was met to full satisfaction at The Royal !!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Most amazing trip!!!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Cons: N/A
Location: It was super close to 5th Avenue. My husband and I walked it almost every day we were there.
My husband and I just came back from our 15 year anniversary and first all inclusive trip. I cannot say enough good things about this place. From the minute we arrived to the second we left, we were treated like royalty. Everyone was incredibly nice and so welcoming. Our concierge, Adolfo, was THE BEST!! He welcomed us with such a warm smile and gave us all the information we needed for our stay. The food was amazing! Our server, Abraham, was so accommodating and said if there was something we wanted, he would make sure it was made for us! Our bartender, Jeysson, was such a wonderful bartender and now an even better friend! Along with Francisco and Janeth, they all made our stay incredible. This is the perfect resort that has the best of both worlds. When I wanted music and dancing, it was available. When I wanted some peace and quiet, there was an area for that too. Truly AAAMMMAAAZZZIIINNNGGG!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Perfect location
Great hotel great location loved the food would stay here again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

The staff treats you like royalty!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The staff, food, and beauty of this resort made for an unforgettable vacation. This was our first time visiting this resort, and we were treated no differently than those that come every year. The facilities and food are outstanding, but what truly separates this resort from any other I have been to is the staff. We did a couples massage in the resort's spa, and it was by far the best massage I have ever had. 5th Avenue is about a block from the resort which is where all of the best shopping in the area is. The night life on 5th is a lot of fun. Coco Bongo is a must, and is only a couple blocks from the resort. When you buy your tickets at the resort, they have a representative from Coco Bongo walk you from the resort to the club. Do not go to Playa del Carmen without going to Coco Bongo, and this is coming from a big skeptic at first. It was an unbelievable experience.
Cons: The beach left more to be desired. The water and the beach had some large rocks and seaweed. The beaches are not the quality of Cancun, but that is no fault of the resort. The pools are beautiful, and we spent the majority of our time there.
Location: Coco Bongo, 5th Avenue shopping, parasailing, and fishing were all a lot of fun. Do not do the "recommended" snorkeling with Playa Mia, it's terrible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Mostly "Pros"

Posted Oct 23, 2016
I will share my pros and cons of the resort honestly, but overall, our experience was great - a 4.5. We are an average couple who traveled for a long weekend getaway, and I think the following points will relate to most. Cons - I wish I would have known the following things before traveling: * Many rooms are not ocean-facing, and upgrades are outrageous. * The hair dryer in the room was CHEAP!! The same kind 2 star motels use. I lost a lot of hair through the back of it (see photo). * The bath towels were not soft at all, especially on tender, sunned skin. * The sheets in our "junior suite" seemed old and worn - there was a lot of pilling (tiny little balls you could pick off). * The beach had a lot of large rocks. Swimming is not possible. The Pros - * The food!!! Some of the best we've ever had! The little taco window and Asiana were our favorites, but Spice had a very large selection for breakfast. * The events planned were pretty good. The local bands that played in the lobby were trying too hard to appeal to American tourists. They *tried* to play/sing songs like "Sweet Home Alabama," and we found ourselves wanting to hear more native music, like salsa. * The service everywhere was exceptional, from the waiters, to the cocktail servers by the pool. We brought $100 in single bills to tip - they were worth it! * I visited the spa twice, and was impressed both times. * We loved being close enough to walk down 5th Avenue. DON'T take a cab anywhere!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from el salvador

Nice and comfortable hotel. Very complete'

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Room was clean and spacious , it included many basic necessities like a comb and toothbrush and shaving kit which came in handy at the time. The only thing that was not very comfortable was the pillow. Other than that everything in the room was great. Hotel staff was always nice and attentive and food was good most of the time
Cons: The waiter that was assigned to us at the Maria Marie French Mexican fusion restaurant. We didn't take his name at the end or complained , but the guy did have attitude and was not very kind and that bothered us. On the other side, The waiter that took our drinks was nice but he didn't stay with us all the time.
Location: Beach was not very nice, a lot of seaweed at this time of the year . I've seen nicer pics of this beach but probably its because of the season
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing hotel, amazing vacation!

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Love this place!!! Our second time and won't be our last
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

wonderful food and services

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Service
Cons: None
Location: It was great location that everything was close by. We went Explore which included z-line, swim river, buggy ride, and rafting, and it was underground
clean room. Made service twice a day. Fully stocked mini bars every day no extra charge. Excellent shows nightly. Multiple pools to hang out. Free cabanas at beach. Excellent food with great service. Friendly staff