Ratings based on 2,599 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: the food
the food is just average, we ate at the same place everynight
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice resort. Close to shoppind

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Pool, location
Cons: Most of food just mediocre.
Location: Location good, interesting area
Enjoyed being close to Fifth Avenue. Weren't confined to resort grounds. Nice pool. Helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Service, Food, Location, Amentities
Location: Great location near the heart of Playa Del Carmen. 2 minute walk to 5th Avenue where you can shop, eat and relax for hours.
Perfect Resort in Playa Del Carmen. Location is perfect for relaxing on the beach or visiting town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Excellent Experience

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The location, staff, restaurants, pool, beach, everything was excellent.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was great, close to 5th Ave, short ride to/from Cancun, short ferry ride to Cozumel.
Our stay at THE Royal was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The resort was wonderful and in a great location. We will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Must Visit

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Excellent service, staff, location, food, I could go on and on! Strongly recommend this place!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best service ever. Friendly staff.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
There's all inclusive and there's THERoyal. Top notch room service, waitresses providing drinks constantly, and a very friendly staff. Thank you Royal for a great vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wake Village, TX

Excellent all around with great location

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Close to 5th Avenue and town, with beaches you can walk in either direction. Great service
Cons: Chef's Plate, we did not have a good experience.
Location: Great location, close to lots of things to do. Walking around town or strolling the beaches.
This was our second trip to The Royal Playa del Carmen and already looking forward to going back. Wonderful staff and amenities. Varity of restaurants for dinner, never have to eat the same thing twice , unless you choose to. Beautiful grounds and well maintained. Adults only...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place in playa!

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Great staff, wonderful food, and excellent beach. They even have top shelf liquor at the bars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Wonderful service and pool; not such a great beach

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: The service was amazing...the staff were so attentive and friendly. The food was very good at each location we tried. The pool area/property was clean
Cons: The beach experience is very disappointing...over crowded with boats that dock just yards away.
Overall had a very positive experience at the resort. The service, restaurants and the spa were highlights. The room was very clean and constantly refreshed. Our group was very disappointed in the beach scene. It was over crowded with people who arrived by boats at the dock just yards away. It felt like a completely different experience inside the resort then walking out to the beach. We went out one afternoon and not again during our visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This is my second visit to this hotel. I am impressed with the consistency and quality of their service. They provide a fun environment throughout both the day and night. The personnel is always friendly and willing to provide service with a smile. I love it's location within walking distance of 5th ave and the ferry to Cozumel. So far my favorite place to stay when visiting Playa del Carmen