Ratings based on 3,086 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent resort on the beach

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Yet another great experience at the Royal. Freddy Lopez and the rest of the staff were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
This hotel is a must!! I would want to live there if I could. Absolutely wonderful staff and scenery!! Would definitely go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Relax, enjoy, and your dreams will come true!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: My favorite thing is the beach. I can spend all day there!
Cons: I think that when you return to the hotel, I think the gentlemen at the doorway should say "Welcome Home!" Then offer a warm towel to wipe your hands
Location: The hotel is about two blocks from "Fifth Street" where you can shop and dine at a wide variety of places.
Everything that is advertised is correct. Great location on the beach and great location to the local city for a walk off the resort. I felt safe on the property and felt that the staff was there to make sure my visit was very special. Staff members greet you at every turn with a hand sign and warm greeting. The food is excellent and plenty of it. There is nothing you'll need. The spa is a fair value for the services you receive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Beautiful resort in perfect location!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We had a great room with an ocean view in a more quiet corner away from the main pool. The room was very spacious and always in pristine condition! The huge jacuzzi tub was a great bonus. It was a short walk to the excellent beach. Staff were warm and attentive. We always had drinks when we needed them! Pools were expansive. There were a variety of dining options- our fave was Spice, and the taco bar at the Mexican restaurant right off the beach! Also this resort had the major benefit of being a quick walk from Quinta Avenida shops and restaurants when we wanted a change of pace. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SD

Nice place to stay, close to everything

Posted Feb 22, 2017
So convenient to be in the middle of everything, right next to or a very short ride to all attractions and everything was clean, people were friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Staff Here is Amazing

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The staff here will make you feel like royalty. This place is in an amazing location in a very nice part of the beach. You can also easily walk out to 5th street. The food here is really good and there's ton of things to do here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel and great location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This had to be one of my favorite trips. I was well rested and the facility was great and located perfectly close to activities and town. The resort is perfect and the quality of the food was damn near impressive. Great choice of reaturaunts and the staff was perfect. The bartenders were also good and overall the facility was perfectly kept and maintained. I will be going back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Wonderful All-Inclusive Resort

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Went with a group of friends for a girls' trip and had an amazing time! The staff really made the experience - always willing to help and go above and beyond to make our experience wonderful. We especially loved Mario at the hotel bar in the atrium. The rooms were amazingly clean, the beach was great, and we loved hanging out at the pool. Really, there wasn't anything we didn't love about staying here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Lenox, Il.

Outstanding Resort!!!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The staff at The Royal were the most attentive and friendly staff that we have ever encountered...anywhere. They truly went above and beyond!
Cons: While tipping the staff was not necessary, we enjoyed doing so for the phonemonal service we received. At times it was difficult to break larger bills
Location: No transportation needed! A few steps outside of your room is a beautifully manicured beach. A few steps the other way and you are on 5th Avenue!
First of all, everything went extremely smoothly with our booking of flights, ground transportation and the resort through Expedia. We couldn't be happier with each aspect of the experience. I wish we could rate The Royal Playa Del Carmen more than 5 stars. The resort is unbelievably clean and well kept. I was shocked at how large our partial ocean view suite was, it was much larger than it looked in the pictures, and clean,clean,clean! I cannot say enough good things about the staff at The Royal, every single person we encountered made us feel welcomed and pampered. The food was outstanding for an all inclusive, so many delicious, fresh, and cooked to order selections, we never tired of it. The beach was beautiful and pristinely cared for. One block away was 5th Ave., a mecca of shopping, food, entertainment and culture. Our stay at The Royal exceeded our expectations, we just returned yesterday and are already looking forward to booking a return trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

pleasure

Posted Feb 19, 2017
nice hotel great staff nice hotel convenient structured good food. not great good nitely showes hotel bar close to early ! the horel lobby bar should stay open till 1 am nice rooms. bed poor sewer smell from bathroom