Ratings based on 3,098 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on beautiful beach

Posted Mar 1, 2017
This place was amazing! Great food and drinks, amazing service and beautiful room. This maid service was awesome. I would highly recommend this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Great Time!

Posted Feb 28, 2017
We went with several couples, it was not overly crowded, the pool areas were very well laid out,. The food was really good, the drink service by the pool could have been a little better but all in all, this was our best all inclusive experience in Mexico and we have been to several resorts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Clean, excellent service & walk in to downtown

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Location, excellent staff.
Location: Location is the best, right in the down town. All shopping and various restaurants are nearby.
Nice and clean resort, right on the beach and in the down town of Playa del Carmen, out the door steps and you are in down town. Staff from the front desk to the restaurant service were great, very helpful. We have tried almost all restaurants in the resort and in the sister resort Gran Porto. The best one was the Maria/Marie and the second best was the buffet. In the buffet they have best selection of your choice. The Chef was always pleasing and asking how the food is and if we can prefer anything else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston,Ma

Beautiful resort

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Wonderful experience, highly recommend. All staff was outstanding. I forget our concierge's name but was excellent. We arrived Monday morning and t was a woman. Also Luis at the bar was great and Kevin at Maria Marie. We received a couple message from Alejandro Nd Oralia who were outstanding! Thank you to your hospitality. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Perfect hotel and great location.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
This had to be one of my favorite trips in quite a while. I returned well rested because I had a great trip. The facility was great, the staff was wonderful extreamely pleasant. The hotel was located perfectly close to many activities and town. The resort is perfect and the quality of the food was damn near impressive. Great selection of reaturaunts was plentiful and as mentioned the food was well prepared and presented well. The bartenders were also good and overall the facility was perfectly kept and maintained. I usually am not one to repeat vacation or facilities as I like to try new things, but I will be going back to the Royal for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Birthday Vacation

Posted Feb 25, 2017
My husband and I had a five night stay at the Royal Playa del Carmen. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff. Our room was really nice. Huge bed, balcony, shower and overall great suite. The resort had top shelf liquor and the food on the resort was very good. I would recommend to anyone going to visit Playa del Carmen. The resort is right across from the shopping, bars, and clubs on 5th Avenue and right on he beach. 45minutes from the airport. Perfect location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Socal

Our Playa de Carmen trip

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The service, the pool area, the location across from 5th street area and the food.
Cons: The quality of the bed.
Location: Centrally located next to the main strip at Playa de Carmen, everything is easily accessible by walking.
Overall great atmosphere with entertainment every night, excellent food and great service. We had a beach walk up room that we did not use enough and the view was somewhat obstructive with all the cabanas and people walking in front. The one problem was dealing with the bed which we felt was too firm but the Jacuzzi was very nice. Would definitely go to this resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

The Royal is a must stay if you are visiting PDC

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Beautiful hotel centrally located beachfront and city center. Amazing staff who made us feel right at home. Christina in the spa did my bridal hair and makeup perfectly. You must visit the spa facilities, they are great. Anat, the wedding coordinator made our day better than we could have imagined. Food at every restaurant was exceptional. Once you stay here, you won't want to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent resort on the beach

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Yet another great experience at the Royal. Freddy Lopez and the rest of the staff were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
This hotel is a must!! I would want to live there if I could. Absolutely wonderful staff and scenery!! Would definitely go back!!