Ratings based on 2,444 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Posted Feb 11, 2016
I have been to the resort before and the staff and resort is excellent. Great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MN

This is our third time at The Royal. 2/2016

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Food, Drinks, location is on the beach and one block from 5th Ave. The beds are so nice, wish my bed at home was as comfortable.
Cons: Restrict the time people can reserve chairs on the beach and pool. If you wait too long you cannot get one.
Location: 5th Ave is a lot fun. When you want to go out of the resort and do shopping, catch live music go to 5th Ave.
We love this resort, everything from the location, food, drinks, staff and comfort. That is why we keep coming back, it is hard to top it. I only had a few things to complain about this trip. We paid extra for an Ocean view room, don't waste your money. The view was not of the ocean, it was of the building across the court yard. To see the ocean you had to go out on the balcony, and look far to the left to see the ocean. I wasn't happy with the shower, I had to take two cold showers before I got maint. to fix it. They tried to tell me that I didn't know how to turn it to hot, which mad me angry. The only other issue was the beach and pool looking for a chair. Other guests will put towels on the chairs to hold them so there are none available, there should be a time limit if not used. The liquor is top shelf and the food is awesome, very good and filling. The staff is amazing, will do anything for you, especially if you give tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great hotel and close to everything

Posted Feb 10, 2016
This was our sixth year in a row to this hotel. We love everything about it. The food is great and very accessible. No reservations needed for most of them. The hotel staff is wonderful, from the bellmen to the wait staff and everyone in between. Walk out the front of the hotel and you are only 1 block away from 5th ave and all of the shopping you ever wanted. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to stay in Playa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

30th Anniversary Getaway

Posted Feb 10, 2016
My husband and I stayed at The Royal for our 30th Anniversary and I honestly can't think of one thing I'd complain about. The rooms were comfortable, with an amazing view of the ocean. The pool and beach area were top notch with daytime activities, if you chose to participate. The restaurants were great and there was a good variety of cuisines to choose from. The drinks were fabulous and plentiful. The hospitality of the staff was fantastic. The nightly entertainment was so good. The location can't be beat with 5th Avenue shopping, bars and restaurants just a block away. We've never done an all-inclusive resort before and this is definitely the way to travel and this is the place to do it. I don't think you can go wrong staying here. We can't wait to go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Excellent resort close to everything!!

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, food and service.
Location: 1 blocks from 5th ave shopping, bars and restaurants. The ferry to Cozumel is about 8-10 blocks. 45 mins from the airport.
This was our second stay at this resort on Feb. 3-7th 2016. The service is what you would expect from a 4-5 star hotel. The staff are very attentative and friendly. This place has 7 restaurants to choose from and only 2 require reservations that are not hard to get. What I like best about this place is that you can walk off the property and you are right around the corner from 5th avenue where there are many places to shop, eat and drink. It is also about 8-10 blocks from the ferry that can take you to Cozumel. I would definelty recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Our 6 day was wonder. We were treated as royalty ,so much to do and every restaurant had great food. Room service was great room very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved our beach front swim up suite

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Our phone didn't work 3 out of 7 days there. Had to remind staff to refill fridge daily. There was a de-humidifier that was plugged in and had to run 24/7 to keep the room comfortable and I had to empty it at least 3 times a day! Maid service was great and bed turn down every Eve was nice! Room service was quick and yummy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Outstanding Staff and Service

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Staff was superb. Charon the wedding coordinator was phenomenal.
Location: shopping, food, anything you could possibly want.
This resort is top notch, I would recommend staying here if you are going to be in Playa. Great location, food, staff and facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Great place. Staff excellant. Room beautiful

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Loved the place with only a couple minor complaints. Staff FABULOUS!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing hotel, staff, and food!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
I would go back to this hotel in a heart beat! The staff was honestly amazing; they were incredibly attentive and nice. The cleanliness of not only the rooms, but the entire resort was exceptional. We saw the staff doing major upkeep the entire time we were there from scrubbing the flower pots to spackling the pool bridge. The rooms were cleaned minimum twice a day and those towel animals were always fun to come 'home' to. The food was so good! Totally would recommend Asiana and Maria Marie's. The tapas place for lunch had make your own tacos which were to-die-for. Service was excellent at every restaurant. Totally would go back and recommend it to everyone!