Ratings based on 3,255 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

great hotel on beach

Posted May 25, 2017
This hotel is beautiful, on the beach with the added perk of having the local town just steps away. We enjoyed the pools and beach, and went shopping in the local stores. The hotel is also a spa with great amenities but a little pricey. I had a great massage at the spa, but also had a massage on the beach by Hector that was incredible and less than half the price. A great place for vacation!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from needles ca.

Beautiful hotel and location

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Dining pools staff
Cons: Checking linens more carefully
Location: Nearby shopping great. Excursions quite a long distance away from hotel. I understand you have to travel to locations for all excursions.
Room was beautiful. But my wife received bites on her legs that turned into blisters every night after waking up in the morning. She looked up on line and it said they were bed bugs. It's hard o believe with a beautiful hotel and a fantastic hotel staff that this could happen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect resort!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Great food, great service and extraordinary views.
Cons: only minor issue was they were a little short staffed on the beach & servers around the pool.The bars were very quick, just servers couldn't keep up.
Location: perfect central location in downtown Playa. right on the beach
We thought the Royal was perfect. Great food, great service and extraordinary views. We can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus oh

Very nice stay

Posted May 21, 2017
Had a great time can't wait to go back food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted May 21, 2017
Love this hotel! This was our second time staying here and we can not wait to return in 2018.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Beautiful grounds, the staff was amazing!

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: grounds, room, restaurant selections, close to 5th ave
Location: 5th ave shopping, directly on beach, safe area
Great hotel, great staff!! Will go back next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland Ohio

Even better than we expected

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff was wonderful. The room was clean and the turn down service with the fun animal towels each night was a very nice added touch.
Cons: Please find a way to control the people who work for the "Real Club" so that they do not give your resort a bad image.
Location: We strayed from the resort to visit the town of Playa del Carmen, and found it to be somewhat charming and authentic Mexican culture.
The Royal Playa Del Carmen came hightly recommended by a friend, and we were not disappointed. The facilities were beautiful, the pools were awesome, especially for an adults only resort and the restaurants and drinks were of the quality that we expected for the amount of money that we paid. The beach was generally clean, but really over-run by sea weed, that I suspect could have been "raked" up each morning to provide a better beach experience. (since this is an act of nature, its hard to fault the resort for this) There was 1 very disappointing element to our visit...the people in the lobby who tried to pass themselves off as resort employees who where there to help, were actually from a timeshare (they don't use the word "timeshare") sales company who really tried to arm twist you into "joining the Club". This really felt like a high pressure scam that this facility needs to distance themselves from. Now that I am aware of this, on future visits I will simply decline any offer that these people make to "help" me with my stay. Overall, our stay at The Royal Playa del Carmen was a week of care-free sun bathing and fun evening entertainment enhanced by a very pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maumelle, AR

Fourth visit in eight years.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The service, cleanliness, location, and food were great.
Cons: It would be helpful to know that you had a room in the requested area from day one. We had to move to a better room the second day.
Location: Nearby shopping and day excursions.
This was our fourth visit to this resort. We have been to other all inclusive resorts in the same area. THE ROYAL outshines them all. As many reviewers have said, the staff and service really make it stand out. Saw many familiar faces. Food was very good. Plan to go back in future. Our Bellman, Miguel, was so helpful. Just a quick note: We did see a raccoon on the 4th floor when we returned to our room one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Looking for a quiet place to relax? This is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Couples Get Away

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: The staff, the food & the atmosphere.
Cons: Pay more attention to room maintenance issues before checking guests in.
Location: It's right in the city and you can walk to pretty much anywhere including 5th Street for shopping and the ferry to Cozumel.
My fiancé and I chose this adults-only all-inclusive resort for our first ever week long getaway. We were not disappointed with our choice. Our experience here was amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful, all the restaurants we tried were very good, the bar staff was very accommodating. We did have a few maintenance issues in our room on arrival but once they were fixed we had a great stay.