Ratings based on 3,135 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

All Inclusive, walk to town

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The staff is very pleasant and helpful
Cons: Some of the food could use improvement, and they need to upgrade the house wine.
Location: There are some adventure activities near by, 5th avenue is mostly a tourist trap
It's a pretty hotel. There is a lot of loud music and activities by the pool. It's kind of like a cruise ship but on land. They have some kind of show each night in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Perfect location for the beach and the town

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Great all around. Highly recommend for either lounging or partying, has every speed for different vacation styles.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Not relaxing and poor communication

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: location--right near shops and bars
Cons: Fix rooms, dreg the beach to have an area with fewer rocks
Location: cute little shops and bagodas
We were transferred to three rooms in 6 days! All rooms were in poor repair. The resort is very loud--both the hotel's own "entertainment" and the patrons were screaming and yelling from 9 am to 6pm every day. The beach is small and very rocky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newtown CT

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Not anything in particular, but over all very impressed on how well maintained rooms and grounds were maintained. Staff was so nice and helpful.
Cons: Food was ok. Not amazing
Location: Walking distance to downtown fifth avenue. Plenty of restaurants and shopping very nearby. 45 to 1hour from airport. Plan ahead your departure.
Hotel is beautiful. Rooms are kept up nicely. It looks as if someone is always maintaining grounds, rooms etc. Staff was very nice and helpful. Beach area beautiful. Pool was a bit noisy with afternoon activities and music but tolerable. Nightly entertainment was nice as well. I am not a picky eater, but some of the food at restaurants was just ok. Breakfast buffet was my favorite. I would stay again at this hotel. Very lovely 4 night get away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low End All Inclusive

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Arriving to our hotel we were told to sit and wait for "2 minutes" to check in. 30 mins later we were taken by our concierge to check in. We bought a "Royal Swim up beachfront walk out" paying $2,400 for 3 nights. Our room, 508, didn't even have a pool in front of the doors. It was not as advertised at all. I went back and talked to the concierge and she agreed with me, but said 508 was in the same category so I got what I paid for. She said the only thing I could do was pay an additional $150 per night to be moved to the Presidential suites. We didn't want to do that because the Presidentials are in the back and we wanted to be on the beach. Furthermore it was the principal that we weren't getting what we paid for. So, my husband asked to speak to the manager and we were told they weren't available. Finally a concierge came and moved is a few doors down to a room that was a swimout-513 What a hassle and half a day wasted. Overall, this resort is a low level all inclusive. It's loud, and filled with spring breakers.The food was fine, the pools are freezing. Massages at the spa were great, recommend Flor and Lucy. Both Fri AM and Sat AM we were awakened at 6am by construction of cabanas right next to our room. Sat I called the front desk and they said the workers weren't supposed to be doing that and they would stop it. It didn't stop until 7:30. Everyone there was commenting about the loud banging that started at 6am everyday. I would not recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Awesome stay

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The spanish style was awesome. Nice large pool. Great options for dinning. I really could not complain about anything!
Cons: I like the all adults resort. We did get a senior class group, some did not appear to be 18, they did get a little out of hand but nothing to bad.
Location: lots of shopping and dinning in walking distance
Very nice hotel, central to shopping, dinning, bars and a beautiful beach. The staff was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place, delicious food and drinks

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Sixth visit, wonderful every time! Comfy rooms, friendly staff. Beach was a little crowded this visit, lots of people sitting on the private beach that we not staying at the Royal. This is the 1st time that has happened. Regardless will return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Beautiful hotel on the beach.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Great food, excellent service and just the right amount of activities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Highly recommen this resort.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Beautiful resort on the beach and opens up a block away from 5th avenue. Food was amazing at every restaurant we went to. Room service was great too, always very speedy. Staff was great, always made you feel special. Always kept the mini bar stocked. The only thing i can say is that our room was truly not an ocean view, unless you stood at the corner of our patio on your tippy toes, however, our room opened up to the pool area and we were only about 50 feet away which made up for it. The hotel is large enough that you never felt it was too crowded and small enough that you meet great people and build a friendship while you are there. Loved the hotel, would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Best place I have had the pleasure of staying at!!

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Wonderful trip, everything was first rate. The place was very clean and the staff extremely attentive. Favorite restaurant was the Marie Maria.