Ratings based on 3,148 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Amazing!!

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The option to change the liquor in the room with out a charge.
Location: We hiked Tulum, swam at Cenote Nicte-Ha, Snorkled in the ocean, Swam with the Dolphins at Delphinus, went Scuba diving, and shopped on 5th Avenue.
I would definitely go back again! My only regret is that we didn't stay longer. The staff really treat you like royalty and for my birthday they used palm fronds to write happy birthday on the bed and rose petals to write my name. They put a bottle of champagne and a small cake in the room and filled the Jacuzzi tub with a bubble bath and sprinkled rose petals on top. The bartender at Pelicano's, Alan was the best! He was so friendly and creative in finding drinks for our group to enjoy. The resort was absolutely beautiful, the food was awesome, the service was excellent, the drinks were top shelf. They had spectacular entertainment every night and we enjoyed the pool side Paella. Also, if you're into shopping the access to 5th avenue is perfect. We felt safe on and off the resort and unlike some of the more remote resorts you can safely walk on the beach after dark. We brought lots of $1 bills to tip the staff and were so glad that we did because they deserve every penny!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not sure why it's a "4.5 star hotel"!!!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Mattress are super stiff. Room is not clean. Furniture is rundown (I attached pics). Room service food is horrible. I'm sure this hotel was great at one point but not great now. The only one positive Thing I have to say is that the staff is nice. But besides that, I don't see anything good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Best experience in a all inclusive ever. Will be going back very soon. Very helpful and friendly staff. Close to the 5th avenue fun and all that Playa has to offer. Easy to register, upgrade to a better room, and find your way around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ND

Top notch facility in excellent location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Relaxing atmosphere inside the resort with a beautiful beach. Ferry access to Cozumel is just steps away, 1 block from buzzing 5th St with excellent shopping and night life. The restaurants on the resort have a great variety of flavors and all are absolutely delicious. The bartenders didn't burn the drinks unless you asked them to. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the entertainment throughout the day and the evening show had us all in awe and laughing. Highly recommend as I have frequented a number of Caribbean all inclusives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

All Inclusive, walk to town

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The staff is very pleasant and helpful
Cons: Some of the food could use improvement, and they need to upgrade the house wine.
Location: There are some adventure activities near by, 5th avenue is mostly a tourist trap
It's a pretty hotel. There is a lot of loud music and activities by the pool. It's kind of like a cruise ship but on land. They have some kind of show each night in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Perfect location for the beach and the town

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Great all around. Highly recommend for either lounging or partying, has every speed for different vacation styles.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Not relaxing and poor communication

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: location--right near shops and bars
Cons: Fix rooms, dreg the beach to have an area with fewer rocks
Location: cute little shops and bagodas
We were transferred to three rooms in 6 days! All rooms were in poor repair. The resort is very loud--both the hotel's own "entertainment" and the patrons were screaming and yelling from 9 am to 6pm every day. The beach is small and very rocky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newtown CT

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Not anything in particular, but over all very impressed on how well maintained rooms and grounds were maintained. Staff was so nice and helpful.
Cons: Food was ok. Not amazing
Location: Walking distance to downtown fifth avenue. Plenty of restaurants and shopping very nearby. 45 to 1hour from airport. Plan ahead your departure.
Hotel is beautiful. Rooms are kept up nicely. It looks as if someone is always maintaining grounds, rooms etc. Staff was very nice and helpful. Beach area beautiful. Pool was a bit noisy with afternoon activities and music but tolerable. Nightly entertainment was nice as well. I am not a picky eater, but some of the food at restaurants was just ok. Breakfast buffet was my favorite. I would stay again at this hotel. Very lovely 4 night get away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low End All Inclusive

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Arriving to our hotel we were told to sit and wait for "2 minutes" to check in. 30 mins later we were taken by our concierge to check in. We bought a "Royal Swim up beachfront walk out" paying $2,400 for 3 nights. Our room, 508, didn't even have a pool in front of the doors. It was not as advertised at all. I went back and talked to the concierge and she agreed with me, but said 508 was in the same category so I got what I paid for. She said the only thing I could do was pay an additional $150 per night to be moved to the Presidential suites. We didn't want to do that because the Presidentials are in the back and we wanted to be on the beach. Furthermore it was the principal that we weren't getting what we paid for. So, my husband asked to speak to the manager and we were told they weren't available. Finally a concierge came and moved is a few doors down to a room that was a swimout-513 What a hassle and half a day wasted. Overall, this resort is a low level all inclusive. It's loud, and filled with spring breakers.The food was fine, the pools are freezing. Massages at the spa were great, recommend Flor and Lucy. Both Fri AM and Sat AM we were awakened at 6am by construction of cabanas right next to our room. Sat I called the front desk and they said the workers weren't supposed to be doing that and they would stop it. It didn't stop until 7:30. Everyone there was commenting about the loud banging that started at 6am everyday. I would not recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Awesome stay

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: The spanish style was awesome. Nice large pool. Great options for dinning. I really could not complain about anything!
Cons: I like the all adults resort. We did get a senior class group, some did not appear to be 18, they did get a little out of hand but nothing to bad.
Location: lots of shopping and dinning in walking distance
Very nice hotel, central to shopping, dinning, bars and a beautiful beach. The staff was wonderful.