Ratings based on 2,102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great hotel in close proximity to everything.

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: Lots of restaurants, elegant feel, very welcoming.
Cons: Out door area by the pool and beach could use some more shade spots/ubrellas. The lobby and main show area could use fans to mitigate heat.
Location: Very close walk to shopping and area restaurants. Extremely convenient.
Check in process was very welcoming. All staff was very nice. Restaurants were very nice. There was something for everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, Az

Wonderful place to stay!!!

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Cons: Only thing I can think of to improve would to have an authentic Mexican restaurant on the property!!
Location: We scuba dived in Cozumel, did a wonderful day trip with Edventures, swam with the dolphins and took a catamaran ride. Fabulous time!
The grounds were spectacular, the staff amazing and very friendly! We booked many excursions through the hotel and couldn't have had more fun!!! Highly recommended!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from big bear Ca.

nice place to vacation

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Nice place to stay and very enjoyable everything was great and as advertised my only negative comment would be about the bed was just a lil lumpy and worn down king bed pool side beach room other than that it was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC UT

Very nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING was great!
Cons: In my opinion, everything was perfect.
Location: Great location, right by the beach and so close to the shopping district. We will DEFINITELY go back.
We enjoyed this hotel so much that we didnt go out like we had planned initially. I wanted to stay at the hotel and be pampered as it was WONDERFUL! We booked the Temazcal and it was incredible as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

"Simply the Best"

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: Cleaning , Place , Food , Staff , Rooms ,Entertainment
Cons: yes the air conditioner in the lobby and coffee shop
Location: The location was Great !!!! , you can walk across the street and enjoy the Mexican life
The Royal is simply the best hotel in Playa del Carmen . The service from the staff upon arrival right through to the wait staff in the restaurants was amazing. The rooms, hotel lobby and the restaurants were very clean. The food was great. I was really impressed ,7 great restaurants to choose from. The location is near to every place in Playa del Carmen , next to the ocean and to 5th avenue I have only one negative thing to say: no air conditioning in the lobby and in some place like the coffee shop July and August is too hot to be there Overall was a very amazing trip and we would definitely stay in this Hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very nice hotel and stay for the money

Posted Sep 2, 2015
The staff were extremely curtious from arrival til departure. The food was excellent and you definitely get your money's worth. The room was perfect and came stocked with a mini bar with great drinks, such as Johnny Walker, Jose Quervo, Bacardi, and Absolute. The only minor complaint is if you're really wanting to go to the beach, it's not very nice looking and there are a lot of rocks and seaweed. But I'm from Florida and didn't really care. Also if you want a cold drink you have to ask for lots of ice. But that is not stopping us from going back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: all inclusive, always clean
Location: location is great close to playa del carmen plaza
Friendly employees they are willing to help when you need it. Especially Andre and Miguel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Monterrey

Estancia en Playa del Carmen

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: La ubicación es de lo mejor si quieres estar cerca de la quinta avenida.
Cons: Las camas.
Location: Esta excelentemente ubicado si quieres estar cerca de la quinta avenida.
En general la estancia en el Royal fue buena solo comentariia dos puntos: 1. Se supone que es todo incluido y tiene varios restaurantes. Solo que al llegar te informan que el supuesto mejor restaurante noe sta incluido en el costo y que tienes que realizar un pago adicional. 2. Las camas no están muy comodas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

"Lebhaftes" Hotel am Strand in zentraler Lage

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Zimmerausstattung, Service, Essen und Getränke
Cons: Strand, Meer attraktiver gestalten
Location: Zentrum von Playa Del Carmen, neben der Fußgängerzone am Meer
+ Zimmerausstattung + Service + Essen und Getränke - Meer ist nicht schön (Lage neben Steg an dem Ausflugschiffe/Fähren anlegen; gr. Steine im Wasser) - Strand mit Liegen zugepflastert - Hauptpool recht voll - in der Ankunftshalle herrscht Gefühl von Massenabfertigung - Trinkgelder sind durch hohen Anteil von amerikanischen Gästen im Vergleich zu anderen Regionen in Mexiko schon "verdorben"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Awesome resort

Posted Aug 31, 2015
The service was great. The rooms were a little old looking but overall the resort was great. It was close to the beach and the food was great.