Ratings based on 2,439 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

30th Anniversary Getaway

Posted Feb 10, 2016
My husband and I stayed at The Royal for our 30th Anniversary and I honestly can't think of one thing I'd complain about. The rooms were comfortable, with an amazing view of the ocean. The pool and beach area were top notch with daytime activities, if you chose to participate. The restaurants were great and there was a good variety of cuisines to choose from. The drinks were fabulous and plentiful. The hospitality of the staff was fantastic. The nightly entertainment was so good. The location can't be beat with 5th Avenue shopping, bars and restaurants just a block away. We've never done an all-inclusive resort before and this is definitely the way to travel and this is the place to do it. I don't think you can go wrong staying here. We can't wait to go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Excellent resort close to everything!!

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, food and service.
Location: 1 blocks from 5th ave shopping, bars and restaurants. The ferry to Cozumel is about 8-10 blocks. 45 mins from the airport.
This was our second stay at this resort on Feb. 3-7th 2016. The service is what you would expect from a 4-5 star hotel. The staff are very attentative and friendly. This place has 7 restaurants to choose from and only 2 require reservations that are not hard to get. What I like best about this place is that you can walk off the property and you are right around the corner from 5th avenue where there are many places to shop, eat and drink. It is also about 8-10 blocks from the ferry that can take you to Cozumel. I would definelty recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Our 6 day was wonder. We were treated as royalty ,so much to do and every restaurant had great food. Room service was great room very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved our beach front swim up suite

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Our phone didn't work 3 out of 7 days there. Had to remind staff to refill fridge daily. There was a de-humidifier that was plugged in and had to run 24/7 to keep the room comfortable and I had to empty it at least 3 times a day! Maid service was great and bed turn down every Eve was nice! Room service was quick and yummy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Outstanding Staff and Service

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Staff was superb. Charon the wedding coordinator was phenomenal.
Location: shopping, food, anything you could possibly want.
This resort is top notch, I would recommend staying here if you are going to be in Playa. Great location, food, staff and facility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Great place. Staff excellant. Room beautiful

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Loved the place with only a couple minor complaints. Staff FABULOUS!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing hotel, staff, and food!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
I would go back to this hotel in a heart beat! The staff was honestly amazing; they were incredibly attentive and nice. The cleanliness of not only the rooms, but the entire resort was exceptional. We saw the staff doing major upkeep the entire time we were there from scrubbing the flower pots to spackling the pool bridge. The rooms were cleaned minimum twice a day and those towel animals were always fun to come 'home' to. The food was so good! Totally would recommend Asiana and Maria Marie's. The tapas place for lunch had make your own tacos which were to-die-for. Service was excellent at every restaurant. Totally would go back and recommend it to everyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicsgo il

Greatest experience ever

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Check in was great got champagne as we walk in, we had amazing views throughout the hotel. Everything is beautiful and the staff workers are too nice (scary how nice people are in this resort over other I have stayed). Food was amazing and drinks are made with top self alcohol at your request. Every restaurant had its own unique items and I loved it. Room was nice I got the mid level garden view. I will return one day I loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kansas City/Topeka USA

Vacation Playa del Carmen Royal Jan-Feb 2016

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Basically everything, see above comments.
Cons: Would liked to have had an evening outdoor beach or poolside "Fiesta." We have enjoyed this activity at other Caribbean resorts.
Location: Everyone should go downtown "Playa," at least once, to experience the shops, restaurants & bar atmosphere.
We have stayed at the Playa del Carmen Royal in the past and would return to this resort in the future. We would recommend this resort to others and our friends if you want to be within walking distance to downtown "Playa' and also have great beach access. We enjoyed the restaurants, in particular Pelicanos for lunch/dinner and the beach views. The service was great at the restaurants, poolside and at the beach. In particular severs; Amelia & Valenticia (sp?) were very cheerful & provided great service poolside and at the beach. Geronimo, Rodolfo & Toto provided great service at Pelicanos and Tapas. Juan & Alexander at Mediterraneo restaurant & outdoor bar also provided great service. The house keeping & mini bar staff were also excellent. The Coffee House was also a nice amenity. Kudos to the whole "Royal" resort and staff. Ray & Nancy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Paradise-Royal Style

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Amazing staff, suite, beach, and restaurants. The Spa needed updating, but otherwise the resort was perfect.