Ratings based on 2,644 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Staff Here is Amazing

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The staff here will make you feel like royalty. This place is in an amazing location in a very nice part of the beach. You can also easily walk out to 5th street. The food here is really good and there's ton of things to do here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel and great location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This had to be one of my favorite trips. I was well rested and the facility was great and located perfectly close to activities and town. The resort is perfect and the quality of the food was damn near impressive. Great choice of reaturaunts and the staff was perfect. The bartenders were also good and overall the facility was perfectly kept and maintained. I will be going back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Wonderful All-Inclusive Resort

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Went with a group of friends for a girls' trip and had an amazing time! The staff really made the experience - always willing to help and go above and beyond to make our experience wonderful. We especially loved Mario at the hotel bar in the atrium. The rooms were amazingly clean, the beach was great, and we loved hanging out at the pool. Really, there wasn't anything we didn't love about staying here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Lenox, Il.

Outstanding Resort!!!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The staff at The Royal were the most attentive and friendly staff that we have ever encountered...anywhere. They truly went above and beyond!
Cons: While tipping the staff was not necessary, we enjoyed doing so for the phonemonal service we received. At times it was difficult to break larger bills
Location: No transportation needed! A few steps outside of your room is a beautifully manicured beach. A few steps the other way and you are on 5th Avenue!
First of all, everything went extremely smoothly with our booking of flights, ground transportation and the resort through Expedia. We couldn't be happier with each aspect of the experience. I wish we could rate The Royal Playa Del Carmen more than 5 stars. The resort is unbelievably clean and well kept. I was shocked at how large our partial ocean view suite was, it was much larger than it looked in the pictures, and clean,clean,clean! I cannot say enough good things about the staff at The Royal, every single person we encountered made us feel welcomed and pampered. The food was outstanding for an all inclusive, so many delicious, fresh, and cooked to order selections, we never tired of it. The beach was beautiful and pristinely cared for. One block away was 5th Ave., a mecca of shopping, food, entertainment and culture. Our stay at The Royal exceeded our expectations, we just returned yesterday and are already looking forward to booking a return trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

pleasure

Posted Feb 19, 2017
nice hotel great staff nice hotel convenient structured good food. not great good nitely showes hotel bar close to early ! the horel lobby bar should stay open till 1 am nice rooms. bed poor sewer smell from bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful services and quality!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
excellent quality good prices were very satisfied
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, excellent service

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The accommodations were very good, and the entire staff was excellent and very friendly. We really joyed the pool area, and the food was also excellent. Very close to 5th Ave. for good shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown Playa del Carmen

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Restaurant options were good, buffet option was quite good for a buffet. The hotel is smaller than the larger resorts out of town.
Location: Good hotel to explore the downtown Playa del Carmen. Close to shopping, many restaurants and nearby attractions.
Enjoyed the bike tour offered by hotel staff and the ability to easily walk around downtown and explore. The hotel staff also was very engaging in the afternoon pool activities. The nightly shows at the hotel were well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Wonderful all-inclusive

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Staff, Food options were great, location
Cons: More water sports
Location: 5th avenue, Tulum, Xplor, Xcaret, Xel-ha, water sports, everything!
The Royal has mastered the all-inclusive package of having wonderful food, an all-accommodating staff, and a wonderful setting in the heart of Playa del Carmen. It's no wonder that people travel to this resort year after year, it's really wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Amazing hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Amazing resort in the center or Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. Staff was amazing and very accommodating to all of our needs. The restaurants and bars were exceptional for service and food! The beach was clean, drinks exceptional and chairs for resort guest offered were perfect. Room was great size and offered 2 full size beds, bathroom great size. Housekeeping was accommodating to our schedule and came in the afternoon when we were out! The hotels private shuttle service offered is a little pricey- but great very comfortable, reliable, and ontime to and from the airport. Amazing resort will definitely stay again!