Ratings based on 2,640 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

pleasure

Posted Feb 19, 2017
nice hotel great staff nice hotel convenient structured good food. not great good nitely showes hotel bar close to early ! the horel lobby bar should stay open till 1 am nice rooms. bed poor sewer smell from bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful services and quality!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
excellent quality good prices were very satisfied
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, excellent service

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The accommodations were very good, and the entire staff was excellent and very friendly. We really joyed the pool area, and the food was also excellent. Very close to 5th Ave. for good shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown Playa del Carmen

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Restaurant options were good, buffet option was quite good for a buffet. The hotel is smaller than the larger resorts out of town.
Location: Good hotel to explore the downtown Playa del Carmen. Close to shopping, many restaurants and nearby attractions.
Enjoyed the bike tour offered by hotel staff and the ability to easily walk around downtown and explore. The hotel staff also was very engaging in the afternoon pool activities. The nightly shows at the hotel were well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Wonderful all-inclusive

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Staff, Food options were great, location
Cons: More water sports
Location: 5th avenue, Tulum, Xplor, Xcaret, Xel-ha, water sports, everything!
The Royal has mastered the all-inclusive package of having wonderful food, an all-accommodating staff, and a wonderful setting in the heart of Playa del Carmen. It's no wonder that people travel to this resort year after year, it's really wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Amazing hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Amazing resort in the center or Playa Del Carmen, Mexico. Staff was amazing and very accommodating to all of our needs. The restaurants and bars were exceptional for service and food! The beach was clean, drinks exceptional and chairs for resort guest offered were perfect. Room was great size and offered 2 full size beds, bathroom great size. Housekeeping was accommodating to our schedule and came in the afternoon when we were out! The hotels private shuttle service offered is a little pricey- but great very comfortable, reliable, and ontime to and from the airport. Amazing resort will definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Our room smelled of Mildew but was clean. We upgraded to another room and it was fine. Great service. Big resort so it didn't feel overly crowded. Good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful hotel! Amazing grounds and pool!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The pool, beach, service.
Cons: The rooms are a little dark but still comfortable.
Location: The town of Playa Del Carmen is very nice, there's jet skiing, snorkeling, and many excursions all that can be booked through the hotel.
We had a very relaxing week in a beautiful place with wonderful people always smiling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Birthday Celebration Location!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: All, from the staff to the grounds and beyond.
Cons: The only complaint is the beds are a little hard for me. That is the only thing I would change.
From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. Our group was approached by the staff as soon as we arrived. Beautiful decor!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Feb 10, 2017
We had a wonderful time!! Absolutely love everything about this hotel!!