Ratings based on 2,488 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Great Honeymoon

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The staff, entertainment, beach, dining, room. Everything.
Cons: One thing we would have liked more of was water sports.
This resort was everything we hoped it would be when we booked it. Having never been to an all-inclusive before, this resort set the bar very high! The grounds are absolutely stunning, the pool huge and extremely clean, there are bars everywhere, and the beach was absolutely beautiful. The staff were very friendly, always asking if you need anything, but not intruding. It was a terrific experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: dinner food/ restaurants
Location: The Mayan Ruins ( Tulum- closer or Chichen Itza - further but worth the travel) Cenotes, Playa Del carmen shopping/restaurants,
traveled from July 6-16th for our honeymoon. Overall disappointed based on the multiple reviews from expedia and trip advisor. resort looked very tired. We got married at Excellence Playa Mujeres ( likedd it much better). Usually when we go to Adults Only/ All inclusive - it is a couples atmosphere. This resort had tons of families & large groups. pros: dinner food was good quality/ tasty ( Ginger was our favorite followed by Olivio & L'Alsace ) nightlife/ entertainment had multiple options and went well into the night concierges were very helpful and thorough to plan trips/ excursions room service was rather timely beach drink service was timely and friendly rooms were far away from entertainment - quiet to sleep! cons: understaffed at pool/daytime - drink&snack service by the pool took at minimum 20 mins. room was not stocked with Liquor - only beer & soft drinks - could not order mixed drinks with room service mini bar was not restocked appropriately room was dusty/ not clean/ mildew in shower crevices pools were not well maintained ( band aids & some garbage floating, algae, rust, broken tiles) breakfast & lunch buffets were not great. poor variety of dry overcooked meat, bread, pastries, thick heavy/ colorless and bland items majority of beach area had red flags (no swimming) - only small swimmable section for whole hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Customer service Dpt, Hotel Management
Dear Lauren, Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at VIM. We are really disappointed to read that our style of hotel was not to your liking. We try our best to time our service levels well, and achieve a balance that is neither too much nor too little, tailored to each of our guests. We have shared your feedback with the VIM team as encouragement to go on working hard to find that correct balance. On a positive, we are pleased that you did find our food, concierge, and beach drink service , to be wonderful, and appreciate you recognising these defining features, for which we have received so many accolades and awards. We are sorry again that we did not meet the expectations of your stay, but thank you for taking the time to review you experience. Yours sincerely,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

mostly good

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Room was clean but needs minor repairs. Air conditioning was not working 100%. Fridge was cool but not cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by customer care dpt, Hotel Management
Dear VIM Guest , Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay in Valentin Imperial Maya. We appreciate both, positive and negative feedbacks as it enables us to find areas of improvement. However, we were truly sorry to read that your stay was not satisfactory and that we did not live up to your expectations. We do hope sincerely that you will give us another opportunity to host you. Best regards
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Beautiful Beach and Fun Activities

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Food, Staff, Beach was unbelievable
Cons: The cleaning staff could have been more consistent with leaving new towels and toiletries. As well as the staff that restocked refrigerator
Location: Cozumel was a fun day trip
This was our first time at an all inclusive resort - or for that fact; a vacation of this type. We went two other couples and had an absolutely fabulous time. The entertainment staff were so much fun & really made it easy for you to want to join in in the activities
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by customer service dpt, Hotel Management
Dear VIM Guest from Las Vegas Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your survey and submit your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Valentin Imperial Maya. We are pleased to read your positive comments; It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed most of our services , activities and facilities. We also took good note of your observations regarding the towels and toiletries with the appropriate person and Department, we are sure the area you specify that need attention will be attended and whatever needs to be done will be. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We hope that you will reconsider your decision and allow us a second chance to accommodate you, as we are certain that your next stay with us will be a better one. We look forward to the opportunity to prove it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Fourth trip to Valentin and already planning next

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Love this piece of heaven on earth! Omar at the beach restaurant is the best! Good food and drinks. Beautiful resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by customer service dpt, Hotel Management
Dear returning VIM Guests , In the name of all Valentin imperial Maya, receive our most sincere appreciation for your loyalty to our chain. We feel very proud to have numerous loyal guests who are very excited and happy to come back to our resort. Please let us know when you will be back for your 5th visit so we can make your next arrival more especial and enjoyable. Receive our warmest regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Too Big Too far apart

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Complex is huge and to walk from pool to pool or to beach and even restaurants is a jog. When you get there they try upgrading you at huge nightly price. Service was pot luck with either good or bad. 60.00 for 15.00 cigar was excessive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Customer service Dpt, Hotel Management
Dear Guests from Texas, Here at VIM, we are very proud of the number of positive contributions that the Expedia community has left for us over the years, and we are sorry that you did not feel the same way. It is always disappointing to learn of a less than perfect stay, but we would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed. Thank you again for sharing with us. Best regards
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Jul 7, 2016
In truth, we expected more from this resort given the reviews. And we are comparing it to Zoetry resort which is phenomenal. We felt service was lackluster at best. If you truly enjoy food, this resort will greatly disappoint....room service menu is very limited and two meals out of the day are buffet style, and they are outside so there are birds and bugs everywhere. It's too hot there for that to be healthy. Impossible to get a good salad and the fruit wasn't great either. I think service was our biggest let down. No option for upgrade at check in, besides the penthouse suite, not a lot of smiles or interaction from most. Still had a party atmosphere to some extent, and it's never a joy to see throw up at the entrance to your building...that stays there for awhile. That said, Alfredo at the pool bar was a joy and he should be the rule instead of the exception. If you enjoy beer, your only options are going to be Coors Light, Bud, or Dos Equis. The Italian restaurant has Bohemia. The beach is swimmable and beautiful, and so clear you can see the fish swimming with you. In my opinion, spend the extra money and go to Zoetry...you will get fresh, wonderful food and exceptional service
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by customer service Dpt, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your time with us and that we did not have the opportunity to address specific issues during your time here. We are sorry that you did not find your experience at VIM as enjoyable as others on this site did but would like to thank you for highlighting areas where improvement may be found. Yours sincerely,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Parker, CO

Beautiful!!

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Close to the beach, excellent food and bevs, all you could want!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Customer service Dpt, Hotel Management
Dear Janis, Thank you so much for your kind words following your recent stay with us at The VIM. We are really pleased to read that we met your expectations and that you would like to come and stay with us again. Our kindest regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from east texas

Amazing All-Inclusive!!

Posted Jun 26, 2016
We have stayed at several different All-Inclusive resorts all over the Caribbean and the Valentin Imperial was the absolute BEST one we've been to!! From the rooms, to the food, the service and hotel staff, the spa, everything was wonderful!! Can't wait to return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield Mo

Fantastic Resort

Posted Jun 26, 2016
The Valentin is a lovely resort situated on a beautiful beach. We were very happy that we spent the extra money to have an ocean front room. Or was nice to sir on the balcony as well as in the jacuzzi tub and still be able to enjoy the water the couple of times that it rained. The food was exceptional for an all inclusive. The bands in the Plaza at night we fantastic. This is a very big resort so it is quite a hike to get anywhere. We didn't mind the walking but some might find it a bit much. We would definitely return to the Valentin!