Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NY

Amazing stay at Viceroy

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The service and amenities, proximity to beach, food was delicious
Cons: Maybe the bathrooms could be updated in the rooms but really, they were beautiful with a shower indoor and outdoors, the products were wonderful
Location: List the town of Playa Del Carmen at night
From the rooms, to the staff, to the spa- you could not find more attentive and caring staff. I have traveled all over the world and this Hotel had amazing service. The food at the restaurants were delicious. The rooms were beautiful and clean. I could not recommend this boutique hotel more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Great experience!

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Privacy. Catered to couples. Small, and secluded.
Cons: More variety in food.
Location: I don't know. We never left!
The Viceroy was exactly as advertised. Service was impeccable (Pepe was great down at the beach!). The entire resort was built for romance, and for most of our stay we felt we were the only ones there and the entire staff was there to cater to us. We did the all-inclusive which was definitely worth the money, since doing everything al la crate could have gotten very expensive. The food ranged from good to great, and the only thing that didn't come with the all-inclusive was top-shelf liquor and lobster. Overall, this was a great experience. If you want a romantic getaway, this is the place. It is quiet, very private, and the staff is there to cater to your whim. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Amazing service, rent a car

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Great service and food, private pool was amazing. The cabanas on the beach were outstanding. No issues with the wifi.
Cons: The bed!!!
Location: About 40 mins from Cancun, 15 mins from Playa del Carmen and just over an hour to Tulum. 3 hours to Chichen Itza the long way through smaller towns.
The service at the Viceroy is out of this world, every time we thought it couldn't get any better it did. I have extensive allergy issues and the chef and wait staff went so far out of their way to ensure I was well fed! The one downside was the bed was not all that comfortable but the rooms were large and clean and the private pool was to die for. The room service was terrible, as it is at most hotels, but the food at the restaurants was the best I've ever had and eating dinner on the beach with your toes in the sand can't be beat! Definitely rent a car, the Viceroy is out of the way (as are most of the hotels in this area) so if you don't have wheels you will be paying a lot for really awful taxis. Visit the Tulum ruins and beach and Chichen Itza, but be sure to save a day to just lay around on the hotel beach in your own cabana with people asking you if you need anything every hour!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 12, 2016
excellent service from staff. quiet, private, secluded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Cried when saying goodbye to staff

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The staff. The staff. The staff.
Cons: Food is very good, but with 15% tip and 16% tax, the $8 beer is a bit over the top.
Location: All things above and below waterline. Playa Del Carmen close by. Great spot.
Have no idea why. But for some unknown reason, leaving the staff at Viceroy felt worse than when I left my boys at college for the first time. It really is impossible to overstate how kind, compassionate and considerate the staff is at this facility. If the rooms sucked. If the food was horrible. If the beach was eroded. I would still go back to this hotel just to be taken care of by their exceptional people. Fortunately, the rooms are magnificent (we stayed in the lowest grade and it could not have been better). The food is outstanding (though honestly the price is painful). The beach is well maintained, as are the grounds throughout. Used the gym every day. As long as you are just looking for your daily cardio and a bit of free weight work its adequate. Have I mentioned the staff? A shout out to young Victor, Marcos and Mr. Pepe, and frankly I've lost some names that really deserve to be singled out for being exceptional. Man, I loved this place and would heartily recommend it to anyone who needs a bit of pampering in the most private, personalized manner possible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Great time. Drinks and food expensive. All else great. Peppe beach waiter and Karen the front desk hostess were exceptional as we're all the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

On the beach, excellent service.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
On the beach, excellent food and service. Note all food, drink, etc. are paid in USD and not Mexican peso.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from huntington beach

Great resort.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Service, rooms, food
Resort is beatiful.. Service is best ever! Will for sure return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Very attentive and personal service from the staff. Great beach - not too many loungers ( as not too many guest rooms) Excellent food
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: Very nice location, close to Playa del Carmen and other attractions (Cenotes, Tulum Ruins and beach)
Can highly recommend this place if you want luxury, great food, attentive service and privacy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Private oasis on the beach

Posted Aug 7, 2016
While the Viceroy is an amazing oasis of calm and relaxation, it's truly the people that make the place. Each member of the staff is kind, welcoming, attentive, and professional. To say they go above and beyond expectations would be an understatement. Would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a relaxing and quite home base from which to springboard their Riviera Maya adventures (which the hotel is able to set up for you).