Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NT

Nice and on the beach

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Got there late because of ridiculous car rental company (Fox) kitchen was to close at 8, we arrived at 750. The gentleman checking us in called and asked them to stay open for us. We had a terrific supper by the pool and had an excellent breakfast in the morning. The room was clean and slightly dated. I'd stay here again for sure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hard to find with noisy AC

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very nice and trying to be helpful. However, the last minute reservation on Hotels.com resulted in having to wait for over 30 minutes for the owner to returned to the Hotel. The security guard does not have access to room keys and had to call the owner who lived offsite. The room appeared clean but is small. The AC was very noisy and in the morning, the desk clerk said that I had to turn the fan to lower level to be less noisy. Very hard to find location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Fabulous location, facility getting pretty shabby.

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Location so close to the water, beautiful view and sound.
Location: Cenotes, Yal Ku lagoon, Coba, Tulum, not far from Playa del Carmen. Took about 1 1/4 hours to get back to Cancun airport.
Staff - Tony and Carlos and Doly - were great. The woman who ran the bar next door and could be the owner of the whole place, not so much. Hotel is small and right on the beach, waves pounding in, moonlight on the ocean, all quite beautiful and better than what I saw of the big hotels where the rooms were mostly much farther from the water. Ocean was kind of rough so I didn't get in a snorkel out to the reef - instead went to Cenote Azul and Yal Ku lagoon. The room, a one bedroom condo, was quite roomy, but the couches were hard as rock benches, quite uncomfortable, and there were lots of ants even when no food was around. Only the bedroom is air conditioned, which in December was fine but other times it could be really hot. The oven/stove was a really old small gas appliance that almost blew up on me, and for some reason, it took water forever to boil. The WiFi was really spotty, went in and out a lot. They do give you a big water cooler type container of good water. Definitely time for an update, but then of course the price would likely go way up. I did see some people complain about the dirt road, and although it was hard to find, it was fine. The road into Akumal playa was 1000 times worse.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the beach

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed one night. Good budget accommodations. Nice beach, great little beach bar next door. Refrigerator in room. Was disgusted by the smell of one of my pillows or my rating would have been higher.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Sweet, unfancy spot

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Great beach right in front of hotel. Very short drive to center of Akumal. Hotel is NOT fancy, but suited our family perfectly and the price was right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The perfect beach right outside your door

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Villas de Rosa Beach Resort was great. If you're looking to escape the mega resort trap and get out on your own, this is the place for you. The staff was soooo great. A big thank you to Noel, the manager, our cleaning crew, and every staff member we encountered. They gave great recommendations of things to do and really looked after us. The beds were very comfortable, clean rooms, and kitchen was well stocked with all that you need. The beach is perfect, powdery white and the ocean so warm. Nice palapas for shade and raked beach, very clean. We had a car rental to explore Yucatan. That's the way to go if you want to go to Chichen Itza and Valladolid (highly recommend). The cost of the rental pays for itself for that excursion alone, versus the high cost of a tour. You'll want to rent if you stay here because the resort is quite a walk to any taxi or collective. The location is close to pretty much everything you'd want to do including Tulum beaches and ruins, Akumal and turtle bay 👍, Playa Del Carmen, ferry to Cozumel, cenotes galore (a must while there and breathtaking natural wonder, take an underwater flashlight and camera even if snorkeling, otherwise you'll really miss out on the truly awesome beauty). I highly recommend the private snorkel tour at Dos Ojos (about $30 US). Worth every penny. Far less touristy and crowded than the big Two, Xel-ha and Xcaret. Those are very expensive, crowded, and overbuilt to the point of losing their natural wonder.
5 out of 5
by Debra from Westerville

Hidden gem

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
This is a hidden gem in Akumal. It is about 14 miles from the very crowded beach at Tulum. Villas de Rosa has a gorgeous beach, nearly private, and huge suites. It is the perfect place to relax. The kitchen staff serves very tasty meals at excellent prices. I want to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice place to stay right on the beach

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: View, balcony, price
Cons: two twin mattresses meant sleeping as a couple was a little awkward
Great place to stay right on the beach. Beach is not crowded and is very peaceful. Would definitely recommend the oceanfront rooms for the extra money. They are big and could easily sleep many people although only the bedroom has AC. The kitchen can get pretty hot if you are planning on doing any cooking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pound Ridge, NY

No AC in the living room pool was 100 degrees

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nice location,friendly staff, nice swimmable beach
Cons: No AC in the main living room/kitchen/dining area. Pool was very, very, very, hot
Location: The hotel was close to waterparks, Cenotes, restaurants, beautiful uncrowded beach
I would love to rate this hotel higher because the beach there was beautiful and swimmable, the rooms were nice, and the staff very friendly. The bedrooms have AC but the main living room does not. The staff said that with the wind from the ocean and leaving the sliding door open it would be more than comfortable. I am sorry but with 90 degree heat and 90 percent humidity the living room was hot as hell. We would sweat just walking out of the bedroom. The other issue was the pool. One of the main reasons we choose this hotel was because it had a pool. I do realize that because it is so hot it is difficult to keep the pool at a reasonable temperature but this pool was just too hot. It was at least 100 degrees and that is no exaggeration. My 3 and 5 year old called it the "Hot Pool"
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Akumal beach hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Cons: A little cleaner and check to see if a reported problem has been fixed.
Location: Nice location Small town nearby Many ruins and attractions (such as Xel-Ha water park)
The room was decorated nicely. The curtain was dirty. There was no hot water, so we told the manager. He said the boiler probably wasn't lit. The next day the water was lukewarm at first then cold. The beach was sandy until the edge of the surf. Then it was very rocky. Close to the shore the rocks would hit your ankles and feet as the surf came in. Farther out there were small sandy spots, but mostly large clusters of rocks - very uncomfortable. Carlos, at the cute swing bar, is a great host!