Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Akumal beach hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Cons: A little cleaner and check to see if a reported problem has been fixed.
Location: Nice location Small town nearby Many ruins and attractions (such as Xel-Ha water park)
The room was decorated nicely. The curtain was dirty. There was no hot water, so we told the manager. He said the boiler probably wasn't lit. The next day the water was lukewarm at first then cold. The beach was sandy until the edge of the surf. Then it was very rocky. Close to the shore the rocks would hit your ankles and feet as the surf came in. Farther out there were small sandy spots, but mostly large clusters of rocks - very uncomfortable. Carlos, at the cute swing bar, is a great host!
4 out of 5
by jette from København

Hotel direkte på stranden

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
Vi var heldige at blive opgraderet til en lejlighed med havudsigt, da vi havde bryllupsdag. Hotellet ligger isoleret, ingen restuaranter i nærheden, men man kan bestille mad på stedet og spise det på værelse. Ligeledes ligger der en lille strandbar der ikke hører til hotellet. Vi havde lejet bil så vi kunne komme lidt omkring. Vejen der føre ned til hotellet er en grusvej der var oversvømmet flere steder, men bilen kunne godt klare turen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Akumal Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, great service, great private beach. The only disappointment is the condition of the road leading from the Cancun-Tulum highway to the hotel (~0.3 miles): this road is unpaved and has huge chuckholes.
5 out of 5
by JEANNIE from Albuquerque, NM USA

Quiet beach. Very nice and clean hotel.

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is on a separate road from the town Akumal. The road is not paved. The hotel was great. Right on the beach. There is an outdoor bar at the hotel next door with swing seats. Our room was not overlooking the beach but was great. Next time I will definitely pay a little more for one of those rooms. The food served on the premises is delicious. I have no complaints about this hotel except for the dirt road leading to the hotel. I would definitely stay here again if ever I am in the area.
4 out of 5
by leonardo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ryan C.

Fantastic last minute vacation

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Orbitz
We had a last minute opportunity for a quick vacation and after looking at inexpensive places to stay between Playa Del Carmen and Tulum, found Aquatech Villas De Rosa in Akumal. We stayed for a week in one of the rooms facing the pool. It was a small room with double bed and bathroom (be careful, some of the cheaper places only offer a shared bathroom). There was enough room to move about in the room and enough storage for clothes etc for two people. It had a small fridge, coffee maker and balcony. There was no fancy safe, but there was a small lockable hole in the wall in the closet, big enough for passports and other small items. They do have a safe in reception which is open from 8am to 8pm, although not big enough for a laptop, but they can keep something like that in reception which does get locked up. The wifi was free and available both in the room and the beach area, but it was spotty at times, just give it a few minutes and it comes back though. The other side of the building facing the beach is all 1,2 and 3 bedroom condos which looked very nice. The ground floor units had patios right on the beach. There are also thatched shade areas and beach chairs right on the beach which is very convenient. They have an onsite kitchen which makes some really good food, which you can pay for in USD or Pesos or charge to your room and they deliver to your room or the beach. Available between 10am and 6pm IIRC. All in all, the staff were friendly, the location is fantastic, and the room was clean and functional. Be careful on your way in if you're driving, it's a dirt road for about 1km, which was filled with huge puddles from the rain. The road is mostly little stones and not sand, so you can drive it with a normal car, just go slow and be careful.
5 out of 5
by Chris from Panama City Beach, FL

Cave diving hotel.

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Great little seafront place. Nice beach bar adjacent. Cenote diving.
5 out of 5
by Sebastian from Argentina

Posted Aug 19, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing front beach view....There is some seagrass on the beach in front, but much less than other places in Ribera Maya. Rooms are old stye and very large.
3 out of 5
by Kristen from Tampa, FL

Great Location, Very Clean, but needs new bedding.

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
Positives - Great location, great beach, large unit. Negatives - A bit outdated and a bad mattress.
2 out of 5
by Maria Luisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels