Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BAD ALL TOGETHER ,WAS GOOD WHEN IT WAS HOLIDAY INN

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: NOTHING , I USED TO ALWAYS BOOK THIS HOTEL WHEN I VISIT PLAYA DEL CARMEN , WHEN IT WAS NAMED AS HOLIDAY INN , I GIVE 5 STAR WHEN IT WAS OWNED BY H INN
BAD A/C , BAD BREAKFAST , BAD STAY , HAD TO CHANGE ROOM LIKE 2 TIMES IN 2 DAYS OF STAY DUE TO THE AIRCON BAD AND THE BLOWER WAS MAKING TOO MUCH NOISE ........
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The hotel was ok.
Cons:
There were 17 of us and a member of the group had her purse stolen from the back of her chair while she was having breakfast it kind of woke us up.The hotel called in the police and they looked at the film.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Miguel García, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable comments. I offer you a sincere apology for the inconvenience presented during your stay. Our goal is your satisfaction, and provide memorable experiences as well. Thank you to choose Wyndham Garden Playa del Carmen, we hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Miguel García General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Didn't like room no view end of the building not good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Posted Mar 13, 2017
The rooms are clean all ways some one around to help and it is not for from 5th Ave and the beach I would stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good value place to stay

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Room was clean and location of the hotel was ideal for us. Breakfast was good. Hotel staff (excluding restaurant) was great.
Cons: Certain restaurant staff's manners could be improved.
A/C in our room stopped working at three different occasions. Each time we had to call reception to get someone to fix the issue. Although the resolution was quick every time. We would have just preferred to move to another room with a consistently working A/C. It was pretty hot during the days, so not having the A/C working when we returned to our room was not a great experience. Also, we were asked to stay in the room as they are sending someone. It was good they arrived quickly otherwise we would have been in the room for long. Our room was not serviced the first night. Perhaps it was not communicated to the cleaning service that the room was now occupied. Lady at reception did apologize for the missed cleaning service and told us we will be put in priority list for the next day. Even after requesting certain restaurant staff members to clean our table, they just walked by our table multiple times looking at us and the two plates, however not picking them up. It was not even busy time at the breakfast. Not a great experience. Male chef at the center station during breakfast time was great. He listened to our vegetarian needs and prepared food accordingly. Lady chef was pure and simple 'no' (even for getting chopped tomatoes from the kitchen next door) everytime we made any sort of request for vegetarian options. Requested her to cook a Frita by saying and then pointing a finger at the picture of a frita on the menu, she cooked two sunny side ups. Perhaps miscommunication
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SD

Nice Hotel close to the city

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Cons: free breakfast
I chose this hotel because we wanted to move arround the city and not to stay to much time in it. Also, this hotel is very convinient if you rent a car because is located near to the main road that takes you to Playa del carmen main attractions. You get what you pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Great location near downtown and beach

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Clean, spacious rooms, food and cocktails. Right off the main highway to all popular sites.
Cons: Some noisy repairs through out the day. Not sure how it could be improved, perhaps quicker work?
Location: The hotel is right off the main highway. Near a large grocery store. You can walk, take a bike or moped to the beach area which is within walking dis.
Hotel is within walking distance of the public beach, shopping and restaurants area. Great for families and solo adventurers. Restaurants right along side the beach with wifi. Also near the pier for the ferry to many destinations.
5 out of 5
by King

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Had a great time excellent location just a little noisy!
5 out of 5
by Marco

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Adriana Janette

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was comfortable and the hotel staff was very nice and courteous