Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jan 31, 2016
As I opened the door after checking in, I was notified that they double booked and I would have to move the next day. Very annoying and an inconvenience. The hot water in the room did not work, the wifi was spotty at best, and there were no real apologies by the owner. The pool was empty.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Good, convenient, large room, good breakfast, friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2016 by Carolina, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review! The friendly staff got happy! Safe travels! Saludos
4 out of 5
by T. Slutter from Keijenborg, Nederland

Toplocatie, geweldige service, lekker ontbijt

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels
De kamers van het hotel zijn groot, hotel is nieuw. Service is hoog, locatie van het hotel net buiten het centrum, op loopafstand.
3 out of 5
by vernbodeen from Fort Collins, CO

Nice appearance, but lacking in some areas

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels
The desk clerk was friendly and helpful about the location of the bus station, where to go to hail a taxi, and with suggestions for restaurants. The free breakfast in an upstairs open-air dining area was very nice. Our room, however, did not allow us to get a good night's sleep. The bed mattress was nearly as hard as the floor. The AC worked, but was excessively loud and the remote control had as many buttons with obscure symbols as a cable controller. The fan above the bed had two setting: off and helicopter take-off. There were windows, but no screens on them. We ended up using the AC and frequently waking up to turn it off because of its noise.
4 out of 5
by MASI from 94 Thiais - France

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels
Hôtel moderne très bien agencé, grande chambre et belle SdB, bien situé au calme. Concept du coin petit déjeuner en terrasse couverte très sympa. Accueil très chaleureux de Richie, guide plongeur dans les Cénotes. RdC de l'hôtel avec tout l'équipement d'un centre de plongée.
5 out of 5
by Amara from California

Excellent Service

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed in Tulum for two nights and we are so glad we chose the Xibalba. Richie (the owner) made us feel very well taken care of and gave us lots of information about local cenotes. My kids loved this place, the pool was a nice little retreat. The room was immaculate and contained two huge king beds and a twin. The breakfast offered under the palapa on the roof was wonderful and they will make you scrambled eggs with whatever ingredients you like.The location is right in the twon and it is easy to walk to restaurants and shops. There is a night watchman on site all night as well. If we ever go back to Tulum we would definitely stay here again. Very safe and clean.
4 out of 5
by Jérémie from Montréal ca

Super hotel prêt de tout

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: Très propre , employé amical, prêt de tout les restaurants.
Cons: Lit très inconfortable.
Location: Restaurant, plage a proximité
La chambre était jolie et récemment rénové, la piscine a été très apprécier des enfants et par nous aussi. Les employés sont très amicaux, nous y retournerons surement l' année prochaine. Nous avons passé une très belle semaine de vacance
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leipzig

Saubere kleine Hotelanlage mit Tauchschule

Posted Aug 22, 2013
500 m bis ins Zentrum zum Strand 5 min mit dem Taxi für 4 €
5 out of 5
by Even B from Oslo, Norway

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels
A beautiflul small and cozy hotel with an incredible helpfull and friendly staff. If you are an adventurous type of couple or family and don't expect fitness centre, lobby music and white wall to wall floor carpets, then you will love this place. The Hotel appears as very new and well maintained, which might be explained by the owners who are germans ;) You will not regret a stay at Hotel Xibalba.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels