Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marengo, Il

Marival Residences just keeps getting better.

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beach access, golf, excursions nearby, downtown 20-30 mins, airport 15 mins
New adjacent beach club & restaurant are phenomenal. Menus continue to evolve and all dining options are exceptional. Compd' excursion, the Sea lions are too much fun, and discounted golf rates at Flamingos which is close by. Special thanks to Carlos, Reggie, Rod'rigo'@ Mozza Mare, Ivan@Lemon Grass, Luis&Sergio@beach, Bartenders and waitress # Brunello, Orlando & all at Omaggio, Christian at Insu. We have traveled to many AI's in Mexico and caribbean and Marival is our favorite. They continue to excel in all areas. Give it a try and you will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, We are excited to read you decided to visit us again and again and had such a great time every visit. Also that you enjoyed our new beach access. Our staff works hard to offer a memorable vacation to every guest, and your comments are very appreciated, as they motivate us to continue offering a great service. Thank you for your loyalty and your recommendations. We will hope to see you soon again. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC Canada

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: very clean, attractive area to relax and enjoy.
Cons: Some of the restaurant service was quite slow. OK when on holidays but would not work if you were running on a tight schedule.
We were very impressed by the daily followup by the concierge staff to see if every thing was OK and if we needed anything.The pool area is excellent for small children( ours were 4-7) , the water was warm and the area was very clean. Their new beach club facility is beautiful and although they are working out some problems because they are very new the food was excellent and a very good variety. Could possibly have more MAxican food on the menu.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Glen, Thank you for sharing your experience with thousands of travelers. It's a pleasure to read you had a wonderful vacations and appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to read you had some inconveniences during your stay. We are aware that details can make a difference and our team si working to avoid these incidents from happening again. Our staff works hard to make all of our guests vacations memorable and will be thrilled to read your compliments to their service. Thank you for your preference and we hope to have the honor of hosting you again. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puyallup, WA

Beautiful place with great service!

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Our entire stay was amazing! Service and food were wonderful! My one and only complaint is that the beds were a little hard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bonni, We are excited to read you decided to visit us and had such a great time. Our staff works hard to offer a memorable vacation to every guest, and your comments are very appreciated, as they motivate us to continue offering a great service. Your comments regarding the bedd will be seriously considered. Thank you for sharing with thousands of travelers and we would definitely love to welcome you back. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

relaxing hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Very good staff , clean comfortable beautifully appointed resort . Food and drink were excellent .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Marc, We are glad to read that every detail on your vacations was wonderful. We work hard to make our guest happy and truly appreciate your recommendation. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back in this, your home away from home. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Incredibly attentive staff!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: The staff was the very best part!
Cons: The check in procedure at the wine bar
This was our third time staying at this hotel, every time we go back we are happy to see all the familiar faces who work at the hotel. The hotel is great but the staff that works there makes the whole difference! Every single person working at the Marival residences takes pride in their work and is passionate about what they do. We also did have some hiccups in the room. We had problems with the AC as well as the dryer but the technicians were in our room within 10 minutes, they fixed every problem. The whole staff was well informed about the issues and they all went out of their way to fix the problems. Yvette, was simply incredible! she spent all her time supervising the technicians and making our stay as comfortable as possible. Reggie one of the managers was also on top of everything and kept on following up with us. The service at Omagio as well, as all the other restaurants, was excellent ! You get catered to by a team of highly qualified professionals! No matter how many people they have to cater to, they always do it with a smile and make you feel like a king, they remember the little details like what your preferences are and bring them to you without even asking. These kinds of little touches differentiate the Marival from all the other hotels I have been to. That kind of personal touch makes the whole difference! At Omaggio we had the best service from Olga, Omar, Raquelin and all the other servers. One evening while we had dinner at Insu,the sky covered up and i
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear LC, We are excited to hear you had such a great time with us during your vacations! Our staff works hard to ensure you enjoy every bit of your vacation and will be thankful for your wonderful comments, specially those mentioned. Such amazing review is certainly a motivation to continue offering a great experience. Thank you for sharing wth us and hope we have the chance of hosting you again. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Green Valley, Az.

Can't wait for more pictures of the new beach club

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The people
Cons: Minor maintenance issues
Location: As far as we were concerned, being in our 80's, it was perfect. Focus on people 30 to 40 years younger than us, but don't forget us, we love it.
This facility makes it very hard to find much wrong that can't be blamed on mine and my wife's lack of knowledge of the Spanish language. The staff was wonderful, first impression was WOW, and checking in and out was way to easy. The Amaggio restaurant is gourmet through and through. There are many adjectives that can be used to describe the service we got from the people involved in making our stay comfortable. I won't name names because I do not want to leave anyone out who went above and beyond for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bob and Hazel, We are excited to hear you both had such a great time with and enjoyed our personalized service. Our staff works hard to offer a memorable vacation to every single guest, and your comments are very appreciated. Thank you for your preference and we would love to see you again. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Nicest vacation

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Big room, great food and one of the best experiences
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, Thank you for sharing your such a wonderful review about our resort with thousands of travelers. We are glad to read that you a great time with and enjoy our personalized 4 diamond service. We want our guests to feel like we are their home away from home and we are happy you enjoyed every detail. You feedback is very important for us and all our staff will be thrilled to read your review. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon again. Warm regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield, Ca

Beware of getting scammed!!!!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Saturday the 28th of July the day of our arrival i approached the the concierge at the Marival Residences to set up a special (surprise) dinner at the restaurant next to the Lobby. Well everything was setup to have dinner on the next day at 6:30 PM. The next day we arrived at the restaurant and the service captain of the restaurant had no information about our dinner. We told him about the special occasion and that we had made the arrangement with the concierge at the lobby. Well the service captain of the restaurant threw a fit and said that is was not possible. We explained that we had everything set up with concierge. We went and checked with concierge and indeed they had everything arranged, and we were correct. So instead of putting all of us together, he made two groups of 10 next to each other but did not allow us to join the tables, which pretty much defeated the purpose. My Father went to the lobby and asked for he acting manager of the Marival Residances and they said he would come soon to see what the problem was, well he never showed up. We think that he did talk to the restaurant manager because the Service Captain later apologized to myself about the misunderstanding and that he would put the tables together and bring a platter of pastries and offered champagne to have a toast for this special occasion, he said he wanted to do everything he could to make it a memorable experience, and make things right. Well they did everything i just mentioned, so we signed off
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Daughter's wedding on the beach.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Deluxe accommodations
Cons: None
Location: We hardly left the resort. Did done one excursion that was closed by.
Great rooms, staff and food! From check in to departure I was treaded as someone special.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Clarisa, Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with thousands of travelers. It's a pleasure to read you had a wonderful wedding and that we made such a special time for you and your family, even more special. Thank you for your preference and we hope to have de honor of hosting you again. We wish your daughter the happiest marriage! Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Beautiful resort & fantastic staff! Thank you!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Staff, amenities, aesthetics
Location: Marival Resort, town of Puerto Vallarta, bike riding, gym, para sailing, zip ling etc...
This was my first time to visit Mexico and it was a fabulous introduction to your country. The Residences were beautifully manicured with spacious rooms & multiple restrooms in the suites. The food was amazing...with so many choices and staff that was attentive and friendly. We loved visiting the Resort side and going to the VIP Beach Club. Beautiful resort & fantastic staff! We will definitely return! Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear MaryAnn, Thank you for sharing your such a wonderful review about our resort with thousands of travelers. We are glad to read that you a great time with and enjoy our personalized 4 diamond service. We want our guests to feel like we are their home away from home and we are happy you enjoyed every detail. You feedback is very important for us and all our staff will be thrilled to read your review. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon again. Warm regards,