Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Daughter's wedding on the beach.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Deluxe accommodations
Cons: None
Location: We hardly left the resort. Did done one excursion that was closed by.
Great rooms, staff and food! From check in to departure I was treaded as someone special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Beautiful resort & fantastic staff! Thank you!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Staff, amenities, aesthetics
Location: Marival Resort, town of Puerto Vallarta, bike riding, gym, para sailing, zip ling etc...
This was my first time to visit Mexico and it was a fabulous introduction to your country. The Residences were beautifully manicured with spacious rooms & multiple restrooms in the suites. The food was amazing...with so many choices and staff that was attentive and friendly. We loved visiting the Resort side and going to the VIP Beach Club. Beautiful resort & fantastic staff! We will definitely return! Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear MaryAnn, Thank you for sharing your such a wonderful review about our resort with thousands of travelers. We are glad to read that you a great time with and enjoy our personalized 4 diamond service. We want our guests to feel like we are their home away from home and we are happy you enjoyed every detail. You feedback is very important for us and all our staff will be thrilled to read your review. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you soon again. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great Hotel not family friendly.

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Staff is awesome but need some positive leadership to improve morale. They seemed tired and lacked enthusiasm.
Cons: A computer room for kids. Internet Call access.
Second time here, great disappointment. The Hotel was excellent for it's time 11 years ago but could use a little updating. We managed to escape the Time Share sales pitch the first visit. But were sucked in on this second visit. The last thing you want when you go on vacation from a highly stressful life is a highly stressful sales pitch. So the vacation got off on a very bad note. To make things worse our promised 4 tickets to a boat trip adventure, were arbitrarily reduced to 2 tickets without our knowing. So they appeared to be inherently dishonest. So we paid the difference. As we decompressed the experience got better. Food, rooms, cleanliness all 3-4 stars. But, no visible signs of modernization observed. Really like the Washer/Drier in the room. I think they would have more repeat customers naturally if they got rid of the time share pitch. We certainly would not go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Maya, Thank you for sharing you experience at Marival Residences Luxury Resort with us. We are happy to read enjoyed your time with us and our 4 diamond service. And sorry that we were not able to fulfill your expectations or fully enjoy our services. Our Vacation Club staff approach our guests at arrival to inform the of all the included services and amenities so they can enjoy their vacations fully. We want you to feel comfortable and at home, so we will be revising our processes. We are also surprised to read you did not enjoy our food. Our gourmet cuisine has always been praised upon by our guests, specially our theme night at the buffet and, foremost, our specialty restaurants. Our Food and Beverage Manager has received your comments, and we assure you, we will take action to ensure we offer a quality service at every time. Thank you for your preference and we will be honored if you give us the opportunity to host you again at Marival Residences Luxury Resort so we can offer you the luxurious relaxing vacations you deserve. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excelent hotel BUT room its not 1,410 sq its 944sq

Posted Aug 11, 2017
The hotel is excellent, the food is great, the staff is nice and courteous EXEPT the concierge. overall its the best hotel a have stayed before. all restaurant are gourmet and food its amazing. my only BAD comment its that we payed $76 dollars more per night to be on a room call DELUXE OCEAN VIEW with 1,410 sq. and i get a room called deluxe ocean view WITH NO OCEAN VIEW AT ALL. don't pay extra for a room you will not get it anyways. if your lucky and the hotel its not to busy the will give a good room. i took measurement to our room and instead to be 1,410 sq it was 944 sq. my room was 424. i submit a claim about my situation and they just said, there is nothing we can do about it. i told them that i was a GOLD VIP EXPEDIA MEMBER and they sent to my room a $50 SPA coupon. i find out later that just for being a EXPEDIA GOLD MEMBER you will receive the same coupon anyways. My advice. DONT PAY MORE FOR A ROOM. overall excellent stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing you experience on this important website.We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our 4 diamond serviceand our facilities. All our guest’s feedback is very important to us, as it help us improve the experience we offer to each and everyone of our guests. Your comments are reviewed with our management staff for our continuous improvement. Thank you for your preference and we will be honored if you give us the opportunity to host you again at Marival Residences Luxury Resort so we can offer you the personalized experience you deserve. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice place and over the top customer service.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
The resort was absolutely amazing. The whole staff went above and beyond as far as customer service goes. The whole trip was excellent and would definitely go back. They were very personable and catered to any and every need we requested. If i could give them 10 stars I would. Very relaxed environment and friendly staff. I would recommend this place to anyone that reads this. We were there for a destination wedding and it was fantastic. Can't say enough good things about this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Beverley, We are excited to hear you had such a great time with us again and enjoyed our 4 diamond service. Our staff works hard to offer a memorable vacation to every guest, and your comments are very appreciated, as they motivate us to continue offering a great service. Thank you for sharing with thousands of travelers and we would love to see you again. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Amazing hotel for adults and older children with stunning ocean view and with gourmet restaurants. If you are in the penthouse you get your own swimming pool. Room service is also available all day long. To get to the beach you need to take a 5 min walk. More of a boutique hotel feel, much better then your typical all inclusive huge hotel with tens of thousands of people. We had an amazing vacation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kat, Thank you for sharing your experience with thousands of travelers. We are glad to read that you had a great time with us. We want our guests to feel like we are their home away from home and we are happy you enjoyed every minute. Thank you for choosing us and we will love to welcome you back. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, AR

Not as impressive as expected

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Sitting by the pool Hot tub area Pool & restaurant staff Not a lot of rowdy drinkers Mostly quiet
Cons: Coffee Shop Cleaner cushions & pool area Better beds Room service that doesn't charge a fee Pool bathroom not being down stairs!!! Nicer Spa
Location: Nothing close by - but, town not too far
Not as luxurious as expected. Have stayed several other places, so that is what I am comparing to. Room was big, pd extra for 2 bdrm; beds & furniture were very uncomfortable; bathroom lighting not good, bathtub deep, but no jets (nothing special for a 4*). 4th floor view was nice. Food was okay, not the greatest. You will be charged a fee for room service. Most all Staff was excellent & took care of us. Not much of a lobby area to sit. Pool area could have been kept cleaner, cushions were pretty dirty & dishes left too long - birds always eating from them. Was expecting a quieter resort, was most of time, but kids jumping, splashing, etc. (i think this was from families from Mexico on vacation) Would not want to be there during busy season. The Sister resort is very crowded & not real clean. Shuttle service is good. Spa was not a "World Spa"; very small, nothing special (small bathroom/dressing/shwr/sauna combined) (outdoor hot tub) compared to others I have been to. Was really looking forward to a nice Spa, so disappointed. They will try to sell you timeshares. Need a coffee shop that is included,(one next door that you have to pay for) like the wine bar that was never busy. Overall, was relaxing due to nothing close by; but, that is what we were wanting this trip, &, thankful, not alot of loud drinkers. Rooms would be great if you wanted to cook & had a large family. Room had odor that I had to wash everything (things I didn't use) when I got home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear T, Thank you for sharing you experience on this important website. All our guests' feedback is very important to us, as it help us improve the experience we offer to each and everyone of our guests. Your comments are reviewed with our management staff for our continuous improvement. We would also like to point out that you have visited during our busiest, since it a the Mexican Summer break, the time of the year with the most families. We are sorry you did not get to visit our Spa completely. We have cabins ambience from 9 different countries, offering experiences from treatments from each one. We are sure you would have enjoyed it and hope you visit us again so you can discover each. Once again, we would like to apologize for not having met your expectations and thank you for your comments . We will be glad if you will consider another visit to our property in the future, in order to let us change your perception of our hotel and give you the service you deserve. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Very well appointed and the food and staff were great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by Carlos, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are happy to read that you had a good experience at this Paradise, hopefully, your home away from home from now on! One of the most important things for our Company is to make good friends for ever, we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you once again in the nearest future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Marival residency

Posted Jul 30, 2017
The room was ready at check in time. The view of the ocean was breathless from the huge private balcony. The room is amazing and equipped with all amenities. The complimentary wifi was very slow, they charge for faster broadband. I will say that customer service was poor, compare to other resorts that I've visited. In order to access the beach, you've to take shuttle to their sister property, which wasn't too bad. The sister property was very crowded with lots of activities, but i also appreciate the privacy that marival residence provides. Take your bug repellant with you, I'm still itching from all the mosquito bites. The hotel also lacks top shelf liquors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Wale, We would like to thank you for choosing Marival Residences Luxury Resort for your vacation. We are sorry to hear your didn't enjoyed our resort fully. We will certainly share all of your concerns to the corresponding our staff. We apologize for not being able to fully cover your travel expectations, even though we always do our best every single day to make sure that every little detail is perfect for all of our guests. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. And we hope to have the honor of hosting you again so we can offer you the vacations you deserve. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Food was Amazing!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Everything was terrific about our experience but what made this resort really stand out for us - was the food! The quality of the food at the Residences was far superior to even the Resort!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Carlos, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for posting your coment on this important web site, we are so happy to hear that your experiene at Marival Residences was so good! We would love to have the opportunity to serve you in the nearest future at this, your home away from home!!