Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Steveston, BC, Canada

Alternative to Puerto Vallarta Beach

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Pool facility (cascading pools) Beach location Dining room location Our suite (106) with 2 balconies; one giving private ocean view
Cons: See above
Location: Isolated location (which we liked)
Breakfast was 1 Star - slow service - no cheese; only strawberry jam, no choices, too many flies and wasps (easily overcome by hanging dummy wasps cones), listing breakfast at 08:00 but not ready for it. Pool cascading starts way too late; none by 11:00 hours. No beach shower or pool shower, pool cleaning too late in the morning Bathrooms need updating; too old (toilet stopped flushing) 'Wet floor' cone warnings everywhere even though it was dry (staff laziness) Construction noise next door (same owners)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel, not baby friendly, very expensive

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Old hotel! Not all inclusive system. Terrible service at the restaurante. No ramps for strollers. Terrible service at the beach. Beach very dirty and untidy. Incredibly expensive for what it offers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Timo Stychin, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you taking the time to share your experience with us. Your opinion is very important for us, and we appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to read that you were no capable of fully enjoying your time and we did not meet your expectations. Rancho Banderas has indeed a Mexican Hacienda style, which is perfectly maintained. We are sorry you felt the style of the resort was old, we try our best to ensure every detail is perfect. We are located on a cliff, there are a lot of stairs in the property. We understand this can be inconvenient with a stroller and that is why we offered you a villa in the first level. It was refused since you would be visiting only 2 night. It would have been a pleasure to offer it sooner, but we took action as soon as we were informed. As for our service, we are surprise about your comments, as our warm and friendly service has always been praised upon. We do have guests without the all inclusive, but the guests that do can enjoy activities, food & beverage service all day and room service. We assure your comments have been shared with our staff and actions will be taken to ensure a quality service. Finally, our location is everyones favorite. Our beautiful white beach is well maintained and groomed. Unfortunately, you decided to visit us during the rainy season, naturally, the beach is affected by it. We try our best to keep it clean and enjoyable, and it is only during these 2 months that this situation happens. We recommend visiting during November through March to enjoy perfectly crystal clear waters, white sand and even humpback whales swimming in the distance. It is an experience to remember. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Amazing stay!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Beautiful hotel for a family with children. We were there mid August 2017 and the whole family enjoyed it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
DearGina, Thank you for your time in sharing your experience in TripAdvisor. Your feedback is our priority as they are the motivation to continue our everyday growth and we are truly glad to read that you and your family had a great time with us. We appreciate your preference and we would love to have the honor of hosting you again. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible experience

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Highly recommend this hotel. Its small but really nice and the restaurant is amazing. Food is great. The place is amazing! Highly recommend it!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are thrilled to read bout you time with us. Thank you for sharing your experience through this platform and for your preference. Your feedback is very important for us and we hope to host your again in this paradisiac retreat. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Service in general: room cleaning, room supplies, food/drinks take too long to be brought to the table by the waiter, provide entertainment.
Location: Location is superb! Right on the beach. I did not know of anything to do or visit nearby. Did not leave the premises.
Hotel location is right on the beach! It is well worth it to pay extra for the ocean view! Village is spacious, with a full kitchen area, patio with table, chairs and a daybed! Food choices could be improved, as well as service. It took them ridiculously long to bring anything to the table, from drinks, to bread, to dessert. There were no entertainment at all. I celebrated my birthday there, and there was not even music at the restaurant at dinner time. It was Thursday night, but there was no entertainment on Friday or Saturday either. I got a special dessert decorated with happy birthday in Spanish only because I told the chef myself that it was my birthday, even though I had advised the receptionist when I checked in. I celebrated my birthday before at another all inclusive, they left champagne and decorated the room with balloons, folded the towels like a cake, etc. None of that at this hotel. They did not replace all the towels, there were only one toothbrush/toothpaste (even though there were two of us), did not leave extra body lotion or shower gel (I had to call and request it), and the room was not cleaned properly. I had killed a roach next to the toilet, and it stayed there until we checked out (two days). Do not contract transportation with the hotel! They charged me 1000 Mexican pesos for a taxi from the airport to the hotel. The taxi from the hotel to the airport costed 400 Mexican pesos. I emailed them and they refused to reimburse the difference.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you taking the time to share your experience with us. Your opinion is very important for us, as you satisfactions is our goal. We are happy to read you enjoyed our beautiful beach. It is with great concern that we read your review and see that we have not meet your expectations. We assure you that your comments will be seriously considered and our food & beverage manager has receive your feedback. We will take the necesary actions to ensure we offer delicious quality food in every meal, and well a review our housekeeping service. We would also like to mention that our resort is dedicated to relaxation and rest. For this reason, oou entertainment program is limited. But still includes a few activities such a Volleyball during the day and non motorized water sports like Boogie boards and kayaks. We are sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you. We would like for you to keep in mind the the taxi service is offered by an independent supplier and not by us Therefore the charges made and quality of the service is under their responsibility. We have no inquiry over this matter. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and hope to have the honor of hosting your again, so you can enjoy the the vacations you deserve. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Perfect getaway. . .

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Location: We drove to Sayulita. We also drove to Punta de Mita and met Antonio who took us out on a boat to the Marietta Islands for an incredible tour.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite -- and were grateful to be given an oceanfront suite that was glorious. The accommodations were spacious and clean. The facility was well-maintained and well-staffed. The restaurant food was delicious and worth a longer wait than a traditional all-inclusive buffet. We ate extremely well. The pool was beautiful and the kids enjoyed the slides and the basketball hoop. The beach was gorgeous. We spent hours walking along the sand, lying out under the umbrellas, and boogey boarding in the waves. There were some activities offered (much less than in a larger resort) but there was no need for more. We played some soccer and volleyball and ping-pong. This was the perfect spot for us (family of 5) to spend time together. . . it wasn't crowded or loud or intrusive. Everyone was respectful and kind and made sure we could enjoy the perfect getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jess, We would like to thank you for choosing Rancho Banderas, a Marival Group Hotel, for your vacations. We work hard to make our guests happy so we appreciate you feedback. Thank you for such kind comments, as they are our motivation to keep growing. We are thrilled to read you are planning to return and we will be waiting with open arms for you and your family. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Croix Falls, WI

Wonderful Family Vacation

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Food, Staff, Location, Can I say Everything?
Cons: The beds could be a bit softer. We added a second pad to the pull out couch for our nanny and she slept better than we did.
Location: It was a bit of a distance from downtown so we did not do too much. We did not want to though. So we don't have much to say.
This place was amazing! Those reviewers writing of poor food service need to get their heads checked. The food is all made to order except the nightly specialty buffet. If you don't have time to wait for a world class meal on vacation then go to a very large resort with 7 different restaurants and a buffet. These large resorts will offer you mediocre food quality mass produced and not nearly as delicious and fresh or made by a great staff of chefs. I am a registered dietitian and I work as a supporting dietitian to my company's Higher Education and Corporate Business Dining accounts across the entire United States, I was IMPRESSED by the food quality here and the knowledge of taste compliments that the chef's on site such as Raul have. FOOD= AMAZING, Drinks= Strong and delicious, rooms were very comfortable yet the bed was a little hard, the grounds are WONDERFUL, the pools are very clean, the beach was amazing to swim in with no rocks. We boogie boarded with my 10 month old and had no issues. The only complaint I have is that we could not stay longer. This place was so accommodating to my family, they loved my daughter and catered to her every need (she is 10 months old). We were in a 1 bedroom villa and had myself, husband, infant, and our nanny with us. Plenty of room for everyone and comfortable settings. We will be back to Rancho and can't wait to say " Hi Again" to Felipe, Arturo, Nacho, Alberto, all the management especially David in the dining room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Daina, Thank you for sharing with us your vacations. We are happy to read you had a wonderful time with us and enjoyed our beautiful golden beach an amazing food. We know it can be a little far, but that also helps for the restful vacation and a incomparable beach. Your feedback is the foundation for our continuous improvement. We want our guests to enjoy every detail and we will be reviewing our mattresses as it is our goal to ensure that our guests' vacations are perfect in every detail. We appreciate you comments and hope to have the honor of hosting you again. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

This was our 4th stay at Rancho Banderas.

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Orbitz
We are a retired couple and have been visiting Rancho since 2005. This most recent stay was our best to date. Rancho is a very small boutique hotel with only 41 rooms. Perfect for a no stress, relaxing vacation. More then a mile of beautiful empty beach fronts this resort and is excellent for both swimming and sunbathing. We took the all inclusive option and we're glad we did. The food was OUTSTANDING!! Drinks plentiful and to taste! Evening entertainment was enjoyable and varied. This resort has No Elevator, and many stairs so may be difficult for some. We our looking forward too our next visit!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Daphne Fernandez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tim, Thank yo so much for your review ad for sharing with thousands of travelers. We are happy to read you has such a great time with us and enjoyed our wonderful beach and delicious food. We appreciate your preference and hope to see you soon again. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Wonderful place. Gets better every visit! Quiet, but plenty to do. Food is great and service is also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Timo Stychin, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for such a nice review. We work hard to ensure all of ur guests enjoy memorable vacations, so we appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you soon for even better vacations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most Unbeatable vacation ever

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Room was Awesome ! Staff was Awesome... The Whole trip was unbelievable. Totally a do again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Timo Stychin, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we are thrilled to read you enjoyed you stay with us. Rest assure our staff will receive your comments and thank you so much for sharing such amazing Pic. WE appreciate your preference and we totally love to welcome you back!