Ratings based on 1,275 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Dirty hotel with not many good restaurants.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Non accommodating staff and pics online are not accurate to the actual cleanliness of the resort. The workout room was terrible with broken equipment. Anything we needed, we had to ask multiple times and then play the waiting game. Will not be back to stay here ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Great vacation

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We stayed at the Riu Jalisco the last week of June this year and had a great time. The hotel grounds are perfectly manicured and the hotel staff is the hardest working group of people I have ever seen. The entertainment staff is amazing and makes the pool fun as well as great nightly shows. The food is what you expect from an all-inclusive hotel and we found the buffet to be better then the restaurants. The only complaint that we really had was that the adult pool was crowded and the hotel should enforce the kids be restricted to the kids pool. We would go back to this hotel and recommend it to anyone who was looking to go and have a great time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The shower was a swimming pool. We had three rooms all three rooms had the same the problem. When we called down to get it fixed nothing was done. None of our A/C's worked either. They didn't fix it till our last night there
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Good things and bad things. Go somewhere else, entertainment during Saturday and Sunday not good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boise

Excellent stay.

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Excellent service, a lots palm tree,highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Would recommend you stay somewhere else.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The room was kept very clean. No complaints.
Cons: The cleanliness of the pool and beach area. Improve the quality of the food.
Location: Hotel is a $20-$40 cab ride to puerto Viarta it is fairly close to where you have to meet to go on adventures but not very convenient for other things
The hotel common areas are not very clean. The pool area and beach are grows. Cigarette butts and trash all over the place. A large part of the hotel staff I found to be very indifferent and not very helpful. The food was not very good. very crowded at the pool. Seem to be a locals resort. This is not the third time i stayed at a RIU resort and it was not experience i am used to having.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall pretty good

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The hotel property is gorgeous, and the staff is absolutely amazing! However, there were some downsides. The food is subpar. There was a lot to choose from, but it was all pretty mediocre. There were four other restaurants besides the main buffet, but they were also buffets. The Asian food was really good, and I wish we would've eaten there more. Another downside I found was that the pool opened at nine am and closed at eight pm. The last downside there was, was the fact that there's only free wifi in the lobby, and you can only have two devices connected. Once the code is entered for two devices, you can't switch to a new device even when one is not on the wifi. I would definitely recommend this hotel because of the staff. They were all absolutely amazing, friendly, and helpful. The activities and shows that they put on are all really well done, and it seems as though they all really like their jobs which is nice. The property is gorgeous, and EVERYTHING was included which is even better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Nice hotel and staff

Posted May 31, 2017
The hotel was very clean and we received excellent service. Our only complaint was the hotel discounted rates for the local people. The pool was over crowded and to hot to cool off in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
Pool was dirty, bed had bed bugs and I got food poisoning from the food and was extremely sick...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

All Inclusive Riviera Nayarit

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The beach.
Cons: The beds , pillows and the towels . The shower was horrible. The food and service was OK. Long walk to the beach, not good for handicapped people.
Location: Nothing to do . You need to paid $60.00 MXP for a taxi each way to get to the stores.
My experience was terrible from the moment I arrived to the end of my stay. My room was not ready we waited for 4 hours for check in. The room was not what I requested. I wanted to cancel but was too late. Too much food, too much alcohol, too much noise. Day and Night music, drunks. My room had bulk beds, and a full bar in the bathroom. No room service.