Ratings based on 1,462 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Another Great Stay at the Riu Palace

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and Helpful Staff!
Cons: Upgrade things as the facility continues to age.
Location: We like being out of the fray of PVR, so we like the remoteness.
Since this was our 8th trip to the Riu Palace, you can probably consider this a biased opinion since we keep returning. The bottom line is that we know that we are going to have a great vacation, be treated well by the staff and find it safe for "outside of the resort" activities. Every morning, I ran on the boulevard outside of the hotel and never felt threatened; in fact, there were more runners/bikers out there than there has been in previous years. The buffet is great for all of the meals and we also had good meals in the Specialty restaurants - plan on over an hour in those restaurants, but it is nice for family conversations and relaxing after a day at the pool and beach. There are always complaints about the chairs by the pool, but my wife and I never reserved them and always found chairs by the beach or simply sat on the edge of the pool which we did not find inconvenient. Also, there are complaints with the bathroom location, but with all of the food and drink consumed, those extra steps won't hurt you! We enjoyed our trip to Bucerias again this year and jewelry was about $20 with very little bartering and our trip to PVR was fun too. I don't know if some are getting back (not the RIu Palace) at Americans due to the "wall thing", but Customs was uncharacteristically slow this year and the cabs at the hotel don't give the exchange rate if you are using dollars (230 pesos equals $23), so be aware of that. We are already looking forward to next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2017
We had a fantastic stay at the hotel. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious, and the staff is very friendly. The hotel is very well planned out so nothing is far away. The hotel was fully booked but it did not feel crowded. The rooms are somewhat loud but it's not too bad. You can hear the noise from the hallways probably due to acoustics. The food was very good with a lot of choices to pick from. We preferred eating at the buffet . We tried the Asian restaurant and were not impressed. Entertainment is ok : some nights were better than others. The pool is very large and even with a lot of people around the pool, there was still space to swim and hang out in the pool. The beach is excellent. It's wide and clean with plenty of lounge chairs. There are palm trees to provide some shade. The hotel does not provide umbrellas on the beach unfortunately but you can rent umbrellas from a vendor.We traveled with a teenager and there are no activities there for them but she still had fun. We will definitely return to this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland

Great experience. Entertainment needs improvement

Posted Nov 30, 2017
3rd time great value. Steak restaurant needs more stsffing and reservation list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cathedral City, CA

Beautiful hotel has its own beach.

Posted Nov 29, 2017
As every time, Riu Hotels will never disappoint us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Pros: cleanliness a d very friendly staff
had wonderful time Staff very helpful food great location beautiful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Over Crowded Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Cons: Everything but the rooms
Location: North has good restaurants, ATM's that work and good massage spots
The pool was crowded - chairs covered with towels so no one could "sit" by the pool. Beach area was sparce - good service from the bar. 5 Hours without electricity was not much fun. Food was "mediocre" - ATM worked sporadically - Not convenient. Not much in the way of entertainment.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Stolen Property - Hotel security is horrible!

Posted Nov 17, 2017
I have gone to this hotel quite a bit, but this was the first time they stole over $500. Dollars from my room. They took it alittle at a time. When I reported to security they said they will get back to me. After the fourth day I went to find out what did they find out. And all they can say was I’m sorry for your loss ! I wasn’t very happy I with the result. So I will never tell any of my friends to visit any of the Riu hotel, as I was doing research I found out that the staff steals from the guest n they also go through their stuff. Especially in the rooms, that’s where this took place. That was the only disappointment that I have from Riu Palace Pacifico in Puerto Vallarta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland Or

great hotel with access to beach

Posted Nov 17, 2017
A hotel that strives for excellence in all areas, service, cleanliness and programs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel, good beach, huge pool, friendly staff

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: The staff, huge pool, the food, the beach
Cons: Bathroom tub area could be refreshed and the towels were quite worn, update satellite tv, improved internet access
Location: just a few minutes from Bucerias, The boardwalk in PV is nice, and visit the church
We have stayed here 3 times. Pros: very friendly staff, the food was very good, huge pool, nice beach. Tons of beach chairs and chairs by the pool. The massages on the beach ($25 per hour) were really good. The food was the best we have experienced in 3 visits. Tenured wait staff who take good care of their guests. We will stay here again because it is a good value and overall we really enjoyed our stay. A few cons: far from town ($20 cab ride at least), bathrooms could use a refresh, needs satellite TV with more English channels, no clock in the room, hotel uses towel card system. Internet service in the rooms was spotty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros:
Cons: Vents or air circulation in the bathrooms.
This is a beautiful facility. Dining rooms, bars, lobby, pool and down at the beach are expansive and never felt crowded. Several choices for meals and food was very good. We enjoyed sitting on the room balcony every morning to watch the sunrise over the mountains and the beautiful sunset over the ocean sitting on the beach.