Ratings based on 1,463 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Everything is a nice hotel. The best is the staf everyone deserve a raise they are awesome for make the guesses feel at home
Cons: Better transportation fro airport to hotel and back the company gray line have poor poo poor service
Was great Me and my wife were there on our 27th anniversary and we have a gret time enjoining the food the music the entertaimentntttnnnnnn shows at nights the beach and taking advantage of the the great service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wa

It was nice stay, everything worked well

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Love it Only thing everyone saying ' living on tips', made me feel awwfull, when I did not have change and service will go down
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Awesome

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Awesome stay, great place to visit. i would go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

On the beach beautiful !

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Everything beautiful and well kept. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast and lunch excellent dinner not too good. Steak house food excellent but Extremely noisy. For Years sauna and hot tub Not working even after daily complaints.It is leased to an outside company that just wants to save money .Their picture of a couple in the "hot" tub should be removed.Otherwise really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Very nice hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2017
This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed during my vacations. It is a beautiful hotel, close to the airport with nice ocean view. The entertainment team is do a great job and the shows are awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location--can walk to Bucerias

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Appears to be good for kids-lots of them there. Riu palace pacifico the best of the adjacent three Rui s. My second time at this one. Booked 3 great tours thru Vallarta Adventures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great Vacation

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: Good food, beautiful grounds and beach.
This was my first stay at an all inclusive resort. I had a wonderful time. The resort was super clean , and the staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Another Great Stay at the Riu Palace

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and Helpful Staff!
Cons: Upgrade things as the facility continues to age.
Location: We like being out of the fray of PVR, so we like the remoteness.
Since this was our 8th trip to the Riu Palace, you can probably consider this a biased opinion since we keep returning. The bottom line is that we know that we are going to have a great vacation, be treated well by the staff and find it safe for "outside of the resort" activities. Every morning, I ran on the boulevard outside of the hotel and never felt threatened; in fact, there were more runners/bikers out there than there has been in previous years. The buffet is great for all of the meals and we also had good meals in the Specialty restaurants - plan on over an hour in those restaurants, but it is nice for family conversations and relaxing after a day at the pool and beach. There are always complaints about the chairs by the pool, but my wife and I never reserved them and always found chairs by the beach or simply sat on the edge of the pool which we did not find inconvenient. Also, there are complaints with the bathroom location, but with all of the food and drink consumed, those extra steps won't hurt you! We enjoyed our trip to Bucerias again this year and jewelry was about $20 with very little bartering and our trip to PVR was fun too. I don't know if some are getting back (not the RIu Palace) at Americans due to the "wall thing", but Customs was uncharacteristically slow this year and the cabs at the hotel don't give the exchange rate if you are using dollars (230 pesos equals $23), so be aware of that. We are already looking forward to next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2017
We had a fantastic stay at the hotel. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious, and the staff is very friendly. The hotel is very well planned out so nothing is far away. The hotel was fully booked but it did not feel crowded. The rooms are somewhat loud but it's not too bad. You can hear the noise from the hallways probably due to acoustics. The food was very good with a lot of choices to pick from. We preferred eating at the buffet . We tried the Asian restaurant and were not impressed. Entertainment is ok : some nights were better than others. The pool is very large and even with a lot of people around the pool, there was still space to swim and hang out in the pool. The beach is excellent. It's wide and clean with plenty of lounge chairs. There are palm trees to provide some shade. The hotel does not provide umbrellas on the beach unfortunately but you can rent umbrellas from a vendor.We traveled with a teenager and there are no activities there for them but she still had fun. We will definitely return to this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portland

Great experience. Entertainment needs improvement

Posted Nov 30, 2017
3rd time great value. Steak restaurant needs more stsffing and reservation list.