Ratings based on 1,863 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

So/So experience

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The hotel was beautifully decorated. The buffet food was delicious.
Cons: Specialty restaurants should always be open. They should be able to accommodate all guests and not sell out by 6pm. Better night entertainment & Pool
Location: We chartered a yacht and enjoyed the shoreline. We at downtown at the Happy Lobster. It was amazing!
The hotel itself is very clean and beautiful. The hard alcohol was watered down. I stuck to the limited beer selection for the most part of our stay. The specialty restaurants were sporadically closed and would book up quickly when they were open. We ate at the buffet the entire trip. The buffet food was delicious and the service was great. Our room was nice, but our balcony faced the construction of the hotel next door. They worked 7 days a week and we would start to hear the construction as early as 6:30am on some mornings. As for entertainment and things to do, it was very limited. The pool had a few activities such as water aerobics and water polo. The pool water was warm like a bath not very refreshing when it was so hot and humid outside. There was not much music. We brought our own radio at 1 point but we were told to turn it down it was too loud. Even though everyone at the swim up bar was enjoying it. Evening entertainment consists of a show that is over by 9 or 10pm. If your looking for a quiet get away this is it. If your looking for pool party/night life look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Fabulous!

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Beautiful resort, friendly efficient staff, great location! Couldn't have had a better 25th wedding anniversary. Food was terrific, wide selection of things to do. Love the people of Mexico!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean with beautiful grounds.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The food and service was excellent. Price was good with great view of the ocean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Livermore

All inclusive

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The hotel was great. Good food options. Good entertainment. Plenty of drinks. The beach by the hotel is nice. No complaints here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great hotel - Quiet Location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Generally everything was nice at this hotel. Good food, nice staff, nice accommodations.
Location: Away from town and PV, but close to Bucerias which has some old town charm, Like PV 30 years ago,
This was our second stay at this hotel it it was really good. The hotel is showing some signs of age though. It rained a few of the nights we were there and there were roof leaks throughout. thankfully not in our room. The room, lobby, pool and grounds were kept very clean. The food was always fresh and they offered deiiferent varieties each day. There were a few waiters that seemed to have a serious attitude but that can be expected anywhere you stay. We just chose to sit in different sections. Be forwarded though, there is a large hotel being built on the lot next to the hotel to the North. Also since it was during their slow season, they alternated closing the A la carte restaurants and the only notification was a posting in the elevator the day of the closing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Beautiful experience. I have really enjoyed so much.the food the front desk, the people who work there very respect an friendly. We wnat to thank you Francisco and Salvador the two best bartenders at the pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Poor condition

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Room service excellent. Nice Jacuzzi suites. cons: water leakage everywhere in the hotel. All restaurants mostly work close. Employees seem to have attitudes and we're upset about their jobs customer service was not up to what it should be for Ruil resort. No activities if you are older you might enjoy this Resort because of all the old activities you have to catch a cab to the Rio Vallarta resort to go to any clubs from my experience I enjoyed old Puerto Vallarta romantic Zone better than this food was disgusting not a lot of variety the wait time for the steakhouse is beyond extreme they didn't cook the steak well and they didn't boil the lobster good I mean who can't boil a lobster it was not done housekeeping in come around every day like there was supposed to you have to call them to come bring you towels and wash rags and to clean the rooms and when you did they had a attitude drinks or water down stay away from this Resort that is my best wish to you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Beautiful hotel, friendly & active staff, gorgeous

Posted Sep 10, 2017
This was our first time traveling to Mexico as well as staying at a Riu. After our amazing experience we will always stay at a Riu when it comes to all-inclusives! It is clear they have high standards for customer service, entertainment, dining & name brand alcohol, safety, and cleanliness. I recommend it for everyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CO

Riu palace pacifico

Posted Sep 8, 2017
This is the second year in a row we've stayed here and we plan to return for a 3rd next year. Everything is awesome about this place. Staff is super friendly and provide daily entertainment for guests to be involved in. Main buffet has a lot pf options and specialty restaurants are great. Room is cleaned everyday and bed is turned down in the evenings. Refrigerator is always filled with drinks and room liquor is always refilled. Staff is always more than willing to cater to guests' needs and always very friendly. Top of the line all inclusive hotel. Love it and highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ventura County

Excellent Excellent Excellent

Posted Sep 2, 2017
It was outstanding Alain and Yahaira were very nice. Thank You staff Alfredo and Sebastian and Salvador.