Ratings based on 1,328 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove, Ca

Resort is a joke! Would not recommend to my family

Posted Jan 12, 2018
I give this resort a 2 star! I visited with my husband and 2 kids (3 & 9) and we were very unhappy with our stay. From the moment we walked in, no help with our luggage to no tour of the hotel we pretty much had to find our way around it ourselves. 1. The hotel is outdated. You will see that from the moment you walk in. 2. Bath tub is slippery- no rubber mat offered make sure you ask for one. 3. It’s impossible to get in to the other 3 restaurants. We were there 7 days and always ate at the buffet because the other 3 don’t take reservations and they fill up fast. ( wait 30 min before they open to be able to get in to eat) 4. The food is the same whey day - breakfast/lunch/dinner. Your in Mexico you would expect to have Mexican food but food sucks! It’s the same every day.. 5. Evening shows are very inappropriate for children and boring! 9pm-10pm 6. VERY UNSAFE!!! I wish I would of listened to the Expedia/yelp reviews.. my son does not like to use public restrooms and had to take him to our room to use it most of the time and one night before the show started our room door aaa unlocked/door opened. Luckily nothing was taken. But the very next day after the show 10:30 -11 our next door neighbors at the resort were outside their room crying because they broke into their room and stoles there clothes and OPENED their SAFE and took their money. They found their door the same way I found mine when I came in the day before to bring me son to use the restroom.. This is
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good experience here

Posted Jan 11, 2018
My family and I did not have a positive experience here. First of all, there is NO WIFI in the rooms or other areas of the hotel except for lobby. Like really?? They are sooooo cheap!!! If you want wifi in your room and other areas of hotel you have to pay an extra fee per night. Second of all, they didn’t give us the rooms we booked for and we booked them months in advance. We reserved three double bed rooms in non smoking area and we got three single bed rooms in a smoking area. We talked to front desk and they said all rooms were full for the night but there will be available ones the following day. We go the following morning in hopes to get switched to the rooms we actually paid for, and again they said all rooms were booked. They said the best they can do was bring in an extra bed in each room and that was the best they can do. We were very upset and the extra bed they brought us was hard as a rock. Third of all, Food is not that great. This hotel is cheap. I do not recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Everything was good. The only problem was the kitchen and the foods.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Very Disappointing & - Will never return

Posted Dec 29, 2017
I arrived and found the sheets all dirty. I had to call and wait to change all of it. Tile on the floor broken. One of the two chairs was stained. It seems the room was unused for a long long time. Refrigerator was unplugged. I found out myself when I was going to get something cold to drink. Towels were old and smelly. Hotel didn’t reinforce with people about quiet times. Very loud noises until 3AM every day for 6 nights (screaming, shouting, laughing out loud, singing). Some days people would line up to wait for food which wasn’t ready. Quality of food was poor specially at lunch time. Internet only in the lobby, otherwise you have to pay to have access in the room. Advertisement was misleading. I paid $190 pesos per day. I couldn’t do a late check out even though they offered on paper. Front desk staff not in sync; some say I could do late check out some other said a flat no. Servers, bell boys, cleaning crew, bartenders were very nice. But front desk, phone operator people not very nice. I will not go back to Riu Vallarta and I won’t recommend either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Nice location, friendly staff, good meal

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Pros: I likes clean beach and ocean.
Cons: I recommend for hotel to increase goods in store located in lobby and to build cafe where guests can drink a coffee, tea and eat desserts.
Location: Short distance to airport and not expensive price for taxi to down town.
My family and I have been there ten days and everything is Ok. Unfortunately, on the beach,near pools small insects have bitten us and medical staff haven't medicine for relief itch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

More staff is a must!

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Pros: I loved the entertainment even though the music was played very low and hard to hear
Cons: MORE STAFF, the resort needs to be cleaner
Location: The location is amazing
Overall great resort, however it is quite dirty. This resort is very under staffed and it gets dirty very quickly and it takes hours for something to get cleaned. The poor area (tiles around the pool) has never been washed with a pressure washer, the first day we arrived there our feed had black stains on them.. thats how dirty it was. If a drink was accidentally spilled there the night before, the next day you could still see the stain. In addition, the trash by the beach was never changed during the day, so it smelled very badly throughout the day. VERY DISAPPOINTING!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Great staff...pay EXTRA for wi-fi in room...

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Pros: Location was nice
Cons: NEW BEDS and upgrade the food a bit
Location: Noticed most don't get a car...we did and GLAD we did. Lots to do outside of the resort strip. Even ate outside of the hotel for change in food.
Bed/Mattress HORRIBLE (hard as concrete slab). Food typical for all inclusive (generic). Drinks okay (watered down of course). In room bar/fridge is nice and included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OH

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Everyone were so nice, had a great time, great price, good food and drinks!! We will be back, but we are going to try the Palace 😊
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Very pleasant experience. Best choice in Puerto Vallarta
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good resort

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Staff is wonderful and the beach is nice. The bed was uncomfortable and felt very hard. Breakfast food was good lunch could have had more selection.