Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Garnet

WARNING wont honour price, dated and noisy

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the hotel for the month of Feb 2017. Booked it in Feb2016 through Hotels.com. Guaranteed price and pay when we arrive. We confirmed the price several times before we arrived and all was good according to Hotels.com.When we arrived I had all documents printed to show staff. They said they were full and did not have my booking and even if they did they would not honour my rate. They said they dont deal with Hotels.com or any other online booking agency. They showed me an email from hotels.com that stated it was confirmed by their staff. Staff said it was not them. After an hour of heated discussion I talked to hotels.com and they would pay the difference if there was room. All of a sudden there were many rooms open and they charged hotels.com and extra $100.00 per night even though my rate was confirmed by them and by hotels.com. I learned from other people staying there that this has happened to them through other booking sites. The hotel says they dont use booking sites but yet their hotel is listed and can be booked. When you arrive they dont honour the price but want more money then the rooms are available. There were many rooms that had no people in for the 28days we were there but online they were always full. Beside the hotel are 2 event facilities, weddings on weekends very very loud til 1am. Rooms dated, tankless heater not working pool chairs broken, dishes dirty in room, restaurant average food. Wont stay again
5 out of 5
by jeannie

Enjoyed the StarBay!

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Had a wonderful 3 weeks at StarBay. The staff and the people we met are wonderful. I won't hesitate to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place for families

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Suites are comfortable and adequately equipped. Staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is good.
Location: It is not within easy walk of other restaurants, ATMs, or other facilities. La Cruz and Bucerias are both accessible by taxi and have all services.
This small resort is very family friendly. The pool is well designed for a variety of ages. The beach is very accessible and swimming in the bay is safe and easy. We were there with a large Mexican family group and it suited all our needs
4 out of 5
by Ronalee A from Bellingham

A family oriented place

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
We were with a large family group with eight young children. The hotel is very conducive to this kind of gathering. The people are friendly. The pool is very safe and well-maintained. Ocean swimming is possible.
3 out of 5
by Martin from San Diego

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is situated right on a beautiful beach (great swimming). The hotel is pretty, rooms are nicely decorated and practical. However, needs maintenance, there was no hot water (tech came many times), no light bulbs in the living room (had to request them), the bed was very firm, there was a light on the hallway going through the curtains in the room which made it difficult to sleep, the ceiling fan appeared to be falling apart so we could not use it (tech person said we better not until repairing it). The restaurant is subcontracted but food and service were mostly good, with exception of coffee (fresh orange juice was good). I wish I could give this hotel a better review, the staff appeared to be trying, including the tech person, but they need to update and assure rooms are in order and all is working. In comparing the hotel rates in the area, this hotel may not be a bad deal overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

low rise hotel on the beach

Posted Apr 16, 2015
The hotel was fine, no elevators so not suitable for those with mobility problems.The restaurant was not very satisfactory- menus items not available, no wine,although someone did go out and purchase a bottle for us, The cook did not show up on the Friday we were there- no other restaurants within walking distance- glad we had snacks.Our third floor room had a lovely view of the bay and La Cruz, staff was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Loved the location

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: beds
Location: Bucerias offers many restaurants and a beautiful walk on the beach from the resort will get you there. About a mile walk on sandy beach.
Very close to Bucerias on the beach. Older resort but very adequate. Restaurant has great food and reasonable. Staff friendly and always accommodating. Bed was very hard...difficult to sleep sometimes. Pool nice and always clean. Would return to this resort, but would have to have a different bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Stayed only three nights

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Openness of room, balcony and view of the beach. Would be a great place for families with children.
Cons: Restaurant and bar a little lacking for items despite being on the menu.
Location: Almost at the end of the beach so it is a15-20 minute walk to the main part of town and restaurants.
Very nice room with balcony and great view of the beach and water. Didn't get a chance to use the kitchen except for coffee but it was well equipped. Staff was very helpful! Bright and open with lovely pool area
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as good as reviewed

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
The Starbay Resort is barely a 3 star(and our standards for Mexican hotels are never very high). We encountered all this hotel's misgivings as mentioned in previous reviews plus some. We arrived late at night and had to make 3 trips to the desk before we could settle into the room . The next day, we went to leave the room and discovered there was no lock on the balcony door so had to switch rooms! Then another couple hours was spent moving, getting the safe to lock, stocking up on missing items(like facecloths),and fixing our own air conditioner. We could have tolerated things better had it not been so dirty. There was a piece of chewed gum stuck inside the basket holding the complimentary bath products and the bottles had been opened and used! Plus I couldn't bring myself to sit on the sofa without my beach towel under me (and again, we are not 5 star people) This hotel is wearing out as the broken pool loungers, dirty old furniture in the rooms and bathroom fixtures prove. Another reason I would not recommend this hotel is its location. It is the very last hotel on the Riviera Nayarit strip and very far from everything like restaurants. We walked 40 minutes every day to get into Bucerias to eat. The saving grace was the staff who were helpful, friendly and prompt to show up to our room when something went wrong (thankfully!). Now I've just discovered an extra $66 charge to my MasterCard from the Starbay so I'll need to call them to straighten it out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from BC Canada

smaller hotel right on beach

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The price and size of hotel. We also wanted a suite for a 3 week stay.
Cons: Some updating is needed in the rooms. Pool loungers need replacing.
Location: Nice for walking on the beach.
Enjoyed our stay in a one bedroom suite. We had a car which you need for this location. Long walk to town. A few restaurants within walking distance. Nice room with large ocean view balcony. Bedroom faced front with sliding glass doors.