Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to the event we attended.

Posted May 8, 2017
Spotlessly clean, beautiful and fresh baked cookies awaited us at check in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake, VA

Clean, quiet and comfortable

Posted Apr 30, 2017
We spent 1 night at this Hampton Inn and had a good experience. We did not use the pool, or beautiful patio, but they looked great. The room was well insulated and very quiet. We would stay there again, if we visited Salem again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Clean Hotel, LOUD staff

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Very clean rooms Good breakfast Friendly staff Ability to request a later check out time
Cons: Updated Bedding Housekeeping being quieter in the early morning when doing their work
Location: A lot of amenities in the area. Applebees, Pizza, and Walmart right down the road.
I chose this hotel as a stopping point on our travel back home. The location was fantastic, directly off 81, but not near the main highway, so no issues with traffic noise. The room was extremely clean, and had a pleasant clean smell. There were more than enough outlets for all our devices, and the room was modern and didn't feel stuffy. The bed was WAY TOO FIRM, and although you got a lot of pillows, 1 pillow wasn't enough, and 2 was too much. None of us got a decent nights sleep because of this, but I am thankful we only booked an overnight stay. My main issue was housekeeping, as they were EXTREMELY loud. They start cleaning before 8am, and have no sense for noise, as evidenced by the constant slamming of doors against the door stopper, loud shouting down the halls, and banging around in the rooms, it was really ridiculous. I have never been to a hotel where the staff was so blatantly loud. It also didn't help that even after housekeeping went down the hall, the families across us, with multiple children, did the same things. The breakfast was decent, and as included eggs, sausage, cereal, fruit, and all the basic hotel breakfast choices. I probably wouldn't stay again, because of the aforementioned reasons, but if you like firm mattresses, and can sleep through banging noises, this place will be just fine.
4 out of 5
by Marni

Hot water

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Really the only issue was there was no hot water. When I called the front desk they said to run the sink and the tub for 10-15 min since the hot water tanks were on the other side of the building. A bit of an inconvenience in my opinion!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and great service
5 out of 5
by Silvia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Katie from Salem, VA

Great experience

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
staff was nice and helpful. hotel was clean, quiet and breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
by Gary

Place looks brand new!

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
It was a last minute decision. Storm coming in where we live night before a funeral. Booked this hotel cause some relatives said they were staying there. Drove 4 hours and was pleased to see such a bright, new looking, very clean hotel. Great bed. Slept great! Will stay there again!
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient location and excellent decor, food, service and amenities
5 out of 5
by Michelle from Salem, VA

Beautiful Hotel!

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
I had the Executive King Suite. Had the best sleep in a very long time. The room was perfect...very spacious and very comfortable. The only complaint I have is the room was right next to the elevator. Other than that my stay was great!!!