Ratings based on 912 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Beautiful historic hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Architecture is beautiful. It is a historic hotel so it is much better than staying in a regular hotel.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of fun things to do in Roanoke. You can walk to restaurants and shops nearby. It is conveniently located.
We love staying at this hotel. Rooms are beautiful and always clean. The staff is great. We love eating at the restaurant in the hotel as well. It is conveniently located as well. We stay here every year when we visit Roanoke. The hotel has beautiful architecture since it was built in the late 1800's. I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel, close to downtown Roanoke

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Family friendly atmosphere that made us all feel pampered. Excellent breakfast buffet and patio dining. We will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Very comfortable. Lovely location in downtown Roanoke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and hope to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great Classic hotel in the heart of the city!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: ambience and overall historical feel
Cons: nothing I can think or
I've driven past this hotel numerous times while in Roanoke and always wanted to stay there. We finally got the chance this past week while traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway. We were not disappointed!! This hotel is beautiful and has been wonderfully restored to it's former glory. The staff, from the doormen, to the front desk, to the restaurant staff were very accommodating. Our room was spacious and clean. I highly recommend this hotel for a weekend getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rob, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and it is wonderful you took the opportunity to stay! I am glad to read you enjoyed your experience and hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, thank you for your rating! We hope to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

walking distance to the center of town...

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: close to airport, walking distance to downtown Roanoke
Cons: Mini frig in the rooms
Location: Center of town, close to airport, close to Hollins University
Elegant, comfortable, southern hospitality and charm, in walking distance to downtown Roanoke, staff is gracious and accomodating
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Debbie, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and are thrilled you enjoyed your experience! I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
by Tania

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
I love a lot of things from this hotel: the architecture, the friendliest staff, the music in the lobby and comfort. The toilet in the room needs some adjustments on the water flow and difficult flushing and I got some doubts about the cleanness. I saw a lot of dust around the lamps on the night tables. Overall our stay was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Tania, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconveniences experienced and will be addressing your experience with our team. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be a highlight! I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
by Christina

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Christina, thank you for your review and rating. We hope to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, thank you for your rating! We hope to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waynesboro, VA 22980

Outstanding

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Across the bridge from historic downtown. Near several museums and other sites.
Have been going to the Hotel Roanoke for many years. Just to get my fix of first class service. They more than met my high expectations. We where there just to shop Roanoke and visit sites of interest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and are delighted you enjoyed your experience! I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager