Ratings based on 887 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waynesboro, VA 22980

Outstanding

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Across the bridge from historic downtown. Near several museums and other sites.
Have been going to the Hotel Roanoke for many years. Just to get my fix of first class service. They more than met my high expectations. We where there just to shop Roanoke and visit sites of interest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and are delighted you enjoyed your experience! I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Franklin, TN

just a stop over for me

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: clean, nice character, high end touches, easy internet access, desk in room to work at
Cons: when i called for service, it did take awhile before anyone would answer, but that is not even worth mentioning. It is a world class hotel
Location: wasn't part of my trip
but all staff were pleasant and efficient. Couldn't get the door open to my room, we back down and the staff person made 2 new cards and went up to room with me. Ordered room service, it was very good. Valet and help with luggage, all excellent. clean room, good night's sleep
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Adele, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and will be sharing your review with our team. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed your experience as well as the amenities. I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Beautiful Old Hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
It's a beautiful old hotel built in the 1880's and rebuilt in the 1990's. A bit overpriced for the area, but comfortable, charming, and stately just the same! Nice place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Doc Snarky, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary

Posted Feb 15, 2017
We were there celebrating our 25 wedding anniversary. The Asian lady at the front deck was super nice and upgraded our queen room to a suite. Thanks so much for making this trip so special.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have served you for such a special occasion and it is wonderful to read you enjoyed your experience! We hope to be a part of many more celebrations and look forward to serving you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Good location if you are coming for a conference at the hotel. However, not much around the hotel itself. Plenty of room for parking. Did not feel like we should've had to pay for parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad to read you enjoyed your conference experience and hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We look forward to serving you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
by Craig

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Craig, thank you for your review and rating. We hope to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitesburg, KY

Great Location, Excellent Staff, Good Food

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff, excellent food on the breakfast buffet Friday morning.
I spent one night on my way to DC. I arrived late, but the staff was very helpful, and the building is truly magnificent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Madeline, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and are thrilled to have hosted you for your travels. I hope if your travels return you, we will again have the privilege to serve you. Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful hotel with old world charm

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Beautiful grounds and lobby. Room was nice, bathroom newer. Staff extremely nice. We ate in both the dining room and the pub- food was excellent and the wait staff were so pleasant and accommodating. There was live entertainment in both.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Janice, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed your experience as well as took advantage of the outlets! I will share your kind words with our team and we look forward to serving you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

College Visit

Posted Jan 23, 2017
We only stayed overnight because we had to go to Ferrum College for a recruiting visit, but the hotel was great. The valet service at the front entrance was excellent, the desk staff was friendly and helpful, and the Pine Street Pub had a nice atmosphere & quality service. The only thing that was a bit of a problem was the two beds in the double room...They were comfortable, but for a taller person (like myself) the full size beds were an issue at times. It would've been nice to have queen size beds instead. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and by your recommendation. Best of fortunes on the college search and we hope to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Comfy rooms and near downtown

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Orbitz
I booked this hotel for a business trip and was pleasantly surprised! Comfy rooms and lovely service. Conveniently located minutes away from downtown so we always had access to food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your business trip as well as found the service to be a highlight. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager