Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vinton, VA

displaced from our home due to water issues

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: Room was spacious almost like an apartment and the guest laundry.
Location: We are from the area so this didn't matter.
This was a great home away from home. They allowed pets and we have a dog. I was able to do a couple loads of laundry at a reasonable price. Breakfast was good. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My first choice when I stay in Roanoke, VA

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Location: I love to shop at Hamricks.
The staff is always friendly and helpful. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable.The Christmas decorations were very nice in the lobby and breakfast area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Bonnie, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feed back regarding a recent stay. So glad you enjoyed the size of our suite and could spread out and make yourself comfortable! We work hard to give you accommodating, friendly staff and a clean hotel. We are delighted in your admiration of our Christmas decorations! Please come back and see us soon. PS Hamricks is running some great sales!! Kind regards, Bonnie Brown
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Had an excellent stay. Cora at the desk was very helpful and made our stay very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Bonnie Brown, Hotel Management
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. We are so fortunate to have accommodating, friendly staff here at the Mainstay! They are genuinely interested in helping our guests with great information about our hotel and our beautiful Roanoke Valley. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back through Roanoke.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Comfortable bed, clean room. good kitchen, Great stay !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Bonnie Brown, Hotel Management
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you for your business. Come back and see us.
5 out of 5
by bobby w

Good stay

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed stay, good location. Would use again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by A Traveler, Hotel Management
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back through the Roanoke Valley. Please tell all your family and friends about us. Thank you for your business. Kind regards, Bonnie Brown
5 out of 5
by Mary

Would seek out these for further travel.

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Bonnie at reception and assistant at breakfast were both efficient and welcoming. Room had everything and clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by A Traveler, Hotel Management
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you for your kind words and staff recognition. We are so fortunate to have accommodating, friendly staff here at the Mainstay! They are genuinely interested in helping our guests with great information about our hotel and our beautiful Roanoke Valley. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back through the Roanoke Valley. Thank you for your business. Sincerely, Bonnie Brown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Very kind staff

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Kindness of staff
Cons: nothing
Location: not sure
Actually, I will tell my story of the interaction with this hotel. I booked this through Expedia. I was fleeing from hurricane Irma. When it shifted, we were no longer in severe danger and I canceled through Expedia. However, some glitch happened and they never alerted the hotel. So, the hotel charged me for the first night per their policy. I tried for days, calling ten times sitting on hold for 45 min to an hour each time with Expedia. I never got through. I sent emails and they returned them saying they would get back to me in 14 days or to call them. HAH I knew the calling wouldn't work, so I reached out to the hotel. Bonnie (who I think is the manager) called me back immediately and said she would, of course, remove the charge on my card. She was so kind! I haven't seen a situation like this handled so sweetly and quickly. So although I did not even stay at the hotel, the staff handled this with such kindness if you need a stay in this area please use this hotel!
5 out of 5
by Catherine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lee

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
Selected Mainstay while getting my daughter off to Hollins University. Absolutely great deal for two nights. I will be staying here again.
4 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels