Ratings based on 684 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Stayed one night, Billed for 4!

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Not much at this point..
Cons: New management, maids who can read.
I checked in at 3pm and requested a ground floor room. I had been camping for a week and was looking forward to a hot shower. That was not to be. There was a maintenance guy caulking the bathroom. He said he would be gone in 1/2 hour. I was too tired to move to another room so I turned on the TV. He finally left an hour or so later and told me not to use the shower for another 30 minutes. When I finally went into the bathroom , the smell of ascetic acid from the caulk made my eyes water. The lack of an extractor fan didn't help. The room was generally OK but the arm of the office style chair was broken off and kept jabbing me in the arm. I left the room at 5am the following morning. I left a laundry basket with some food items I didn't want to bring with me. I left a note in marker pen stating :"FOR THE MAID" I discovered they have now billed me the $61, the Expedia rate for the room plus THREE additional charges for $72. If I hadn't checked my statement I never would have noticed the Quadruple+++ billing. This is unacceptable and verging on fraud! I will NOT be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Fine for one night.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: the staff and a good breakfast.
Cons: I could see signs of exterior maintenance being done and it will be nicer after the update. The shower ceiling needed work as I said.
Location: Across the street was a Mexican restaurant that was really good!! It is owned and staffed by Mexicans and they couldn't have been nicer to me. A++
Front desk staff were very nice and go me a room right away. It was a single king and it was fine for a night. The facilities were a bit tired and the ceiling paint in my shower was all bubbled up and flaking off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Some minor issues with the room.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location near the airport
Cons: Keep the furniture in good repair.
Location: The BEST Vietnamese restaurant is 7 minutes away. A small , family owned business called Vimi Cafe.
Having stayed in the Motel 6 Hell Hole across the street which ended in a call to the Roanoke health department, I was pleasantly surprised by the Comfort Inn. The desk clerk was friendly and accommodating. When I arrived at my room, maintenance was re-caulking the bathroom and consequently I had to wait for an hour and a half before I could use the bathroom. I was too tired to switch rooms. In addition the acetic acid odor made my eyes water, but it soon dissipated. A minor inconvenience in this case. The arm of the office style chair was broken, other wise all was in good condition, clean and in good order.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Last minute reservations, worth the cost

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Availability
Cons: Needs overall maintenance issues.
Location: N/A
Here and there the hotel needs fixing up. Dirty sidewalks, patched bathroom wall not painted. Breakfast area was well kept and provided great selection for breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

misleading

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Misleading photos. Room was unclean. We signed up for non smoking room and according to the hotel staff, they gave us non smoking room. However the moment we entered into the room, the room was full of smoking smell. We requested to change the room and they refused to do so.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville

Price was right

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Cons: Needs a good cleaning to get rid of the smell
Location: Great location
This is a working person hotel. I was in the area with all those that work for a living out of town. You can never get the smell of cigarettes out of a room. This one took me back to the 60's when you did not have a choice.The AC was coated in dust so it was turned off. No carpet which I think was an upgrade. Glad my stay was short
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Laura

Avoid this hotel!

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Everything about this place was terrible. Trash was overflowing in the container near my room. I asked for a non smoking room and it reeked of snake but nothing else was available. Ice machine was broken as well as the phone in the room. .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
A decent place for a cheap overnight stay. Nothing particularly good, nothing particularly bad. Can't beat the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay. We are working to improve a lot of the areas of the hotel inside and out. We hope that during your next travels you will consider staying with us to see our hard work in the improvements to better serve you and our guests. Thank You, Chris Francisco Manager|Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL

Nice older hotel property w/ wood floors.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Room faced the pool in an inner courtyard. We liked that security feature.
Cons: Ice machine could have been closer to the room
Location: We stopped on our way home from the outer banks in North Carolina.
This is one of the nicest older hotels with all new wood floors (no carpet) and new faucet in sink and new tub/shower fixture. It was very clean with comfortable beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Chris Francisco Manager|Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. We are working hard to bring our older hotel back to life and I'm happy to hear that you noticed that during your time with us. We hope that if you travel through the Roanoke, Va area in the future you will consider staying with us again.