Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Short Stay

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: It was right off the interstate and close to restaurants and gas stations.
Our stay was short. We went to a VA TECH game and needed a place to stay. The room was clean and so was the bathroom. The room had all the essentials. Nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Solid accommodations at a reasonable price

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: Location is convenient to many shops and restaurants (mostly chains and fast food), close to the highway and a couple of miles from Roanoke College.
Room was clean and a nice size. Staff was very friendly. We were able to have our dog stay in the room for an extra $10 per night. CALL AHEAD if you're bringing your pet; they apparently have a limited number of rooms where pets can stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
If you really must stay here make sure it's your last resort. I thought I'd save some cash by booking here before reaching D.C. I should have just kept driving the extra 250 miles. A.C. didn't work, no toiletries, and the hallway smelled of mildew.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

All the Basics

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Convenience.
Has all the necessary services. Hotel staff were very polite. No traffic noise. There were a lot of young people staying in the hotel the night we stayed and I didn't hear any noise from them either. One can tell the hotel is old but the beds are nice, tv is modern, small microwave and refrigerator are new. The hotel is near shopping and restaurants, both fast food and chains. Really enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Smoke smell

Posted Oct 26, 2015
People nice and accommodating Room had constant smell of cigarette smell entire stay. Probably through ventilation system. Our room was non smoking and it took away from a positive experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Super 8 Salem, VA

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: It was relatively close to the VT football stadium (30 minutes.)
Cons: The place needs to be remodelled.
Our room was supposedly a non-smoking room but it reeked of a combination of cigarette smoke and large quantities of some kind of air freshener (Fabreeze?) meant to cover up the smell. The furniture is worn out and the room had a vaguely grubby overall appearance. The building's outside security doors don't work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bare minimum

Posted Jul 31, 2015
No elevator for a 3 story hotel, survival food for breakfast. Room was clean and staff was very nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

RIP OFF

Posted May 11, 2015
Although I booked a double room they said they did not have any and I had to pay extra for a queen double. I think that bait and switch is par for the course for a dirty stinky hotel room, with a do it yourself obvious bathroom "upgrade remodel"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Creek, WV.

Comfortable Stay

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Very clean and comfortable, near restaurants, gas stations and the interstate.
Cons: Seems to be older building but well maintained.....
Location: Just off the interstate, many restaurants, gas stations and places to shop.....
Was in town to visit plant about a transfer. Also scoping out the real estate market.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Location: Most of the well know chain restaurants were about 5-7 miles away. There was a restaurant next to the hotel.
Room had a strange smell when I arrive. It was dusty and looked like no one had been there for a while. The area around the hotel was filled with equipment, although there was enough room to park. Rooms were quite and there was only enough room for the two beds. I was traveling with a pet and there was no room for a dog crate.