Ratings based on 835 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke, Va

Hometown Treasure

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The Hotel Roanoke is beautiful, and as an added bonus, the Christmas decor was beautiful, warm and welcoming.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Grand Hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: The "old" feel of staying in an historical place, but felt the amenities were totally updated and fresh. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet.
Location: Convenient to downtown activities, shops and restaurants. We attended the Mill Mountain Theater's production of White Christmas, and it was wonderful
This grand hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays. It is located convenient to the downtown activities of Roanoke. We thought it was easy to find of the highway. Check-in went smoothly, and was a very comfortable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed the holiday experience as well as your visit! We hope to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

So close to town; loved the bridge to walk to it.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Ambience
Arrived on a Friday afternoon and was quickly accommodated by the Hotel's shuttle service from the airport to the Hotel. What a convenience. Was very prompt as was the return to the airport. Loved the little spread of fruit and cookies in the lobby Friday evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Brian Wells, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carol A, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed your experience as well as the Taste of Virginia display in the lobby! I hope if your travels return you to the region, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Brian Wells General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Valet service slow on check in and check out. Had to wait 40 minutes for check out valet and had to handle my own luggage cart. Check in valet sent our luggage to wrong room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2016 by RD Wright, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and will be addressing and correcting the issue with our team. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you if your travels return you to the area to deliver an vastly improved upon stay. Sincerely, RD Wright General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff. Close to the downtown action.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Easy location to find. Helpful staff. Historic building that is kept well. Good hotel bar. Near the downtown nightlife.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by RD Wright, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mojo, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and that the staff was a highlight of your experience. I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely , RD Wright General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Anniversary

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: Perfect, close to everything.
What a gem. It was far better than expected for an older hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by RD Wright, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bill, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read we exceeded expectations and as a historic hotel, we are constantly preserving our heritage as best we can while offering the updated amenities and experiences today's travels deserve and expect. We look forward to serving you again soon if your travels return you to the area. Sincerely , RD Wright General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winston Salem N.C.

Spending the weekend with my granddaughter.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Overall the cleanliness and the beauty of the hotel.
Cons: Nothing needs improvement.
Location: Access to restaurants for us.
It was the first time I had stayed at The Hotel Roanoke and it was an excellent place to day. Everything from the room to the food in the dining room was first class!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by RD Wright, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Judy, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and are thrilled you enjoyed your first visit to the hotel! We hope to serve you again soon! Sincerely, RD Wright General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Smelly room

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: History
Cons: Cleanliness
My husband had a job interview in the area, so I chose what I thought would be the nicest hotel in the area. The hotel is beautiful and the pool area is very nice,what you would expect from a Hilton Curio hotel. The staff was very friendly. Upon entering the non-smoking room, I immediately noticed the smell. Someone had definitely smoked in the room. As the night went on and I tried to sleep, I was assaulted by a body odor stench and felt nauseous the whole night. I am not exactly sure where it was coming from and I don't want to know. The room was very dirty and should not have been. If we had not been focused on the job interview I would have brought it to someone's attention.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by RD Wright, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Catherine, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and we are addressing this with our entire team immediately. This is unacceptable and hope we can get this resolved immediately. I do hope if your travels return you to the area, we can make it right and show you a much improved upon stay and experience. Sincerely, RD Wright General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Virginia

Gorgeous decor, friendly staff, historic site

Posted Sep 6, 2016
A MUST see hotel. Gorgeous interior and helpful, friendly staff. This place has it all. Making reservations for the next stay now.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by RD Wright, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Allison, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed your experience and will be coming back! We look forward to your return and serving you again soon! Safe Travels, RD Wright General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus Ohio

Roanoke class

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed a couple nights in Roanoke, and this hotel is awesome. We had a good time walking the market area, and the Star is great. Really liked Fortunato restaurant, a bit of a walk but worth it. You won't be disappointed in the Hotel Roanoke!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and around town! We look forward to serving you again when your travels return you to the area. Sincerely, RD Wright General Manager