Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a typical Hilton

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The hotel is gorgeous. The food and attention from the staff great and helpful. It was the little things that bugged me. A shower without a tub, no small refrigerator --if I wanted one I had to rent one. We stayed 5 days and 4 of them I had to call room service everyday for something room not cleaned up at 4:30 pm, took the towels but didn't leave any clean ones, ran out of toilet paper and no extra roll, etc. $16 the buffet. Where are they buying their groceries. The cookies in the evening were not what I'm used to getting at a Hilton. They were little things the size of an oreo. Just not what I'm used to getting from a Hilton.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanke, VA

Old hotel and amenities! :(

Posted May 15, 2016
This room was $300 per night. The rooms were old and nothing met the expectations of a Hilton property. The rooms were clean, but old...very old and outdated. Not worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2016 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Erica, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and you didn't feel you received your moneys worth. I will share your review with our team as we need to ensure we are doing everything we can to make a positive experience for our guest. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Close walk to downtown. Friendly staff with great southern hospitality. Good breakfast and a nice pub to relax in at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Gary Walton , Hotel Management
Dear Gabe, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad the staff were a highlight of your experience and hope if your travels return you, we will again be able to serve you! Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A princely experience

Posted Apr 21, 2016
An opportunity to enjoy the experience of a grand hotel yet modern conveniences.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by Gary Walton, Hotel Management
Dear anonymous, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and I am thrilled you enjoyed your experience. I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
by Charles from Richmond

Best in the area

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly professional service as always. The valet staff are the best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Charles, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and are thrilled by your return patronage. I will pass along the kind words and hope to be able to serve you again soon. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
by Martha

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Martha, thank you for your 5 star rating! We are honored and hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and underwhelming.

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Not worth the price! The room was small, no fridge or microwave, few amenities, had to pay to park (when already paying too much for the room itself), no breakfast, etc. Thought we'd be staying in the lap of luxury in downtown Roanoke, but would have fared better staying at the Quality Inn. Would NOT stay again--we learned our lesson!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We have reviewed this with our team and will be putting corrective measures in place. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
3 out of 5
by Mindy from Piedmont triad

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Bathroom had a sink ... No where to put your toiletries.. No counter. Hair dryer has to lay on floor . They needed a table or something in bathroom. Location was excellent! Ate breakfast across the hotel in town at scrambled.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear piedmont triad, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your visit. We are in the process of renovations and as a historic hotel do have varying guest room sizes, but will share your review with our team as this is an inconvenience. I do hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again and deliver an improved upon experience. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay and will do it again in near future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear traveller, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad to read you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to serving you again soon! Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
by James from Richmond va

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
We love this hotel been staying there since my childhood
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear James, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations! We are honored to have you as a guest and by your kind words! It is wonderful to read that you have been staying here since your childhood. What wonderful memories to have and we look forward to your return to serve you again! Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager