Ratings based on 789 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
This is a beautiful hotel, my room had 3 windows overlooking the pool and mountains in the background
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by RD Wright , Hotel Management
Dear traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We loved reading you enjoyed your experience and the View! I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely , RD Wright General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from md tn

Very nice close to sidewinders.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Just so beautiful food and bar nice
Cons: Some guest were dis respective in pool pool needs to be larger
Location: Great location to downtown activities
Loved it cookies nice treat wish I could have enjoyed the pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by RD Wright, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear anonymous, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, RD Wright General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Matthews, NC

Historic Landmark Hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Friendliness of staff, park and walk everywhere
Cons: I can't think of anything that would require improvement
Location: The Berglund Theater for special events and shows, the Museum of Art, as well as Roanoke downtown is within walking distance.
This beautiful historic landmark hotel is the charm of this quaint town. The hotel sits between the Berglund Theater and Roanoke downtown and is within walking distance to both. There is an enclosed walkway from the hotel to downtown. The downtown area has lots of family owned shops with homemade products. There is a daily farmer's market and on weekends a band in the park. There is a paved pathway to the theater. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable, the bed was especially comfortable. Roanoke is our go to town for a weekend away and we would definitely return to this hotel. We were impressed with the grounds and the friendliness of the staff from the valet, to the doorman, to the reception. It's a classy place with an at home feeling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read you found the staff to be a highlight of your experience! I will be sharing your review with our team and hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, TN

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We only stayed one night while traveling through the area but LOVED Roanoke. We will definitely come back and stay at this hotel and see more of the town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Theresa, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read you loved Roanoke! We have been serving the region since 1882! We look forward to your return and experiencing more of what Virginia's Blue Ridge has to offer! Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

You can't go wrong!

Posted Jul 31, 2016
I have always loved The Hotel Roanoke. When the biggest issue I had was poorly aimed sprinkler heads, you know the visit was great as always.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We will review our sprinkler heads with our team to be sure they are not interfering with guests. I am glad to read you enjoyed your experience and we hope to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

The best in Roanoke..

Posted Jul 25, 2016
They availability of hotels in Roanoke is very limited. I would say, this will do the job. You shouldn't expect a five star hotel services. But, it offers the acceptable services anyone would require. I stayed for 7 nights with my kids and here are my comments in a pro/con format: Pros: • Excellent location with direct access to the downtown. • Nice historical building. • Bell boys are available all the time. • Spacious rooms. Cons: • Unprofessional housekeeping. As they keep forgetting to refill the shampoo, soap, toilet paper, tea-bags, coffee bags, cups...etc • There is dust almost everywhere in the room corners and the bathroom. • There was no mini bar and adding one would imply an extra charge. • Self parking is $8.00/night and the parking lot is good walking distance up/down hill. • Reception staff where not helpful in most of the issues. • The breakfast was an average comparing to hotels worldwide. This is supposed to be a "select" hotel and I would love to see it in a better shape.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Haitham, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I will be sharing your review with our team and will have corrective measures put in place immediately. I am glad to read you enjoyed your experience, but we can do much better. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a typical Hilton

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The hotel is gorgeous. The food and attention from the staff great and helpful. It was the little things that bugged me. A shower without a tub, no small refrigerator --if I wanted one I had to rent one. We stayed 5 days and 4 of them I had to call room service everyday for something room not cleaned up at 4:30 pm, took the towels but didn't leave any clean ones, ran out of toilet paper and no extra roll, etc. $16 the buffet. Where are they buying their groceries. The cookies in the evening were not what I'm used to getting at a Hilton. They were little things the size of an oreo. Just not what I'm used to getting from a Hilton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Gary Walton, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced and will be addressing and correcting this with our team. We are better than this and hope if your travels return you to the region, we can show you a much improved upon and deserved experience. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
5 out of 5
by J T from Florida

Add Hotel Roanoke to your stopover plans

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant surprise from web searching our trip from Florida to New England area. Very good value. Always looking for something distinctive, with a regional flair.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear J T, thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We are honored to have you as a guest and are thrilled to see you enjoyed your experience and were surprised by the hotel! I hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon. Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
4 out of 5
by Joan

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Joan, thank you for your rating! We would have loved to learn more about your stay, but hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager
3 out of 5
by marinus

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear marinus, thank you for your rating. We would have loved to learn more your experience and rating, but do hope if your travels return you to the area, you will again choose us for your stay. We would love to serve you again soon! Sincerely, Gary Walton General Manager