Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Wiesbaden Germany

Great views and scenery!

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Location, rooms were large and pool was nice.
We enjoyed our 4 day stay in this lovely area surrounded by flowers and trees. Hotel was situated on a cliff with a river running below. It used to be an old mill and is run by the original owner's grandson. Our 5 person apartment was quite large compared to others I've rented in Europe and came furnished with linens, a small kitchenette, washer, small bedroom with tv, and a secluded outdoor seating patio under some wisteria or grape vines. Daily maid service was included in the price though breakfast was separate and consisted of the usual pastries, cheese, meats and eggs (omelets cooked to order). It was just breathtaking. You do need a vehicle to stay here if you intend to go anywhere other than the hotel since there was no town within walking distance. You can also just enjoy the onsite pool and sunshine. We had a great time driving the long, narrow (gasp) winding road up through the mountains towards Sanremo and saw some fantastic old towns perched on clifftops. Also nice was the trip to Dolceaqua and the walk through the castle ruins. I will definitely return there...great time had by all.
4 out of 5
by Rich from Wiesbaden Germany

Some Good, Some Bad

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel is located in a great quiet beautiful location, the property is great, nestled into the hills with a river makes it romantic and relaxing. It is very rustic and has great decorations for the area. The restaurant served the most amazing food, well worth the price that might shock some. The issues I had were I stayed on a Friday night and they had a "lounge" singer. The music was pretty loud and it kept me awake for some time. I had a long drive and was very tired or I would have enjoyed it more.
3 out of 5
by Pierre from Switzerland

Ask if there is a wedding going on...

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: in the mountains, calm setting.
Cons: Don't have a party next to the pool at night. Dance in the lower gardens so that you don't disturb the other guests.
Location: hunting
We looked for this hotel to find something quiet for the night. We found an older hotel with hundred of stuffed animals hanging on the walls and a wedding party on the lower terrace (which was on the other end behind the hotel). We thought, all right, if the party goes back there, then we can sleep. But even our room was on the back next to the street, they moved the party next to the pool at 9pm and had loud music and were dancing late, so it was not an easy sleep. And who marries on a sunday evening anyways?
3 out of 5
by Mags from UK

Disappointing

Posted Apr 14, 2013
Pros: Helpful staff
Cons: Time of yeat
Location: Would be lovely in summer
Pre season, not prepared for guests, restaurant closed tow consecutive days
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Myles from Inverness

Good choice near Monaco

Posted Jul 21, 2012
Pros: Pool and room.
Location: Off the main drag but still handy.
Good value hotel within easy drive of Monaco (40 mins drive) etc with spacious self catering apartments. Decent facilities and pool all in a quiet, scenic location.
4 out of 5
by Jim McCullough

A night in the foothills

Posted Jun 1, 2012 on Hotels
Nice location in the foothills of Italy. This location appears to be well suited for hikers, bicyclist, and hunters. Though the main buliding has aged, they maintained it in a good state. They have added some new additions that enhance the overall apperance of the hotel. The food in the resturant was very good and resonably priced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Göteborg

Lago Bin close to Ventimiglia

Posted Jul 24, 2011 on Hotels
Nice family owned establishment. Considerations to details. It earns well the three stars. Nice breakfast with fresh fried omelettes on request. Twenty minutes with car down to a not to crowded beach at the Italian riviera. If you are in to mountain and hiking this is the place to start from, see also canyoning. Many cyklists going up and down the road which was not to crowded by italian comparison. A place to relax at and where you can start your expeditons to the mountians and to the riviera.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2011 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2010 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RUISLIP

Lago Bin Excellent first stop in Italy!!

Posted Aug 14, 2010 on Hotels
It was our first stop in Italy and we wished that it was our only stop we had such a great time there we didnt want to leave..we did end up staying an extra night...Amazing food, The hotel room were spotless, and the boys loved the pool..the lifeguard was on the job and we felt so comfortable with the boys being in the pool and us just stitting by the bar..the views are just amazing i was left speechless didnt realise how wonderful the place was just from the pics a reall MUST GO!!!