Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Well located, comfortable, and good facilities

Posted May 15, 2017
Cons: Some of the paintwork is looking a bit tired here and there, and could do with a freshen with a new coat of paint.
We had a 12 nights stay - longer than your average weekend getaway. The facilities of the pool, gym, sauna, and steam room, helped make it pleasant stay and we made full use of those very nice facilities. The hotel is comfortable and it is well located. We also paid for a full breakfast in advance, to keep us going for the day, and that it did. Very nice breakfast meals. Good choice on the evening and lunchtime menus. Will stay there again on our next family visit to England.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochdale

Wedding night

Posted Apr 5, 2017
I booked my daughter and her new husband into this hotel for there wedding night I mentioned that it was a surprise for my daughter and they upgraded them for free to the bridal suite. Which was lovely and it was a lovely finish to a lovely day
3 out of 5
by stewart

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochdale

Had a lovely time

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Had a nice time Enjoyed using the bar areas and loved my spa treatments Slept ok over the night in a double room
5 out of 5
by Philzha

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with excellent facilities

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Ebookers
Brilliant hotel, lovely facilities only let down is the pricing of the evening meals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, what you'd expect from a Mercure

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Ebookers
Only needed somewhere to sleep whilst working in the area so didn't explore too much more than the breakfast and bedroom. Was nice enough.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Bed was uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashby de la Zouch

Great Spa and Gym but dated room

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Incredible Spa and Gym but the room felt rather dated and the service for food was poor. I'd still stay again as it did the job and the spa was very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
The room was really small and some lights weren't working. It was used for a honeymoon couple and even though a note was left at time of booking when checked in I was told it could have been upgraded if they had known earlier. This was disappointing as it was stated in the notes and booked in advance but no offer to upgrade was made.