Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Back in time hotel experience

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Lovely hotel that seems trapped in a time warp. Everything is great about the hotel, the staff are great, the restaurants are great but the whole place has an ambience of the 50's and 60's, which is not a negative but quite fascinating. I would recommend anyone visiting the Manchester area to look at the Royal Toby as an option to stay at
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds, West Yorkshire

Noisy hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Noisy when we arrived at 6.15pm and this continued all night - still noisy when we left at 10.00 next morning. People running up and down corridors knocking on doors. Someone knocked on our door at 4.00am - quite a frightening experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Good location in a comfortable hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Proximity to family, price is good, ice machine in the lobby, free WiFi
Cons: Proper fitting mattress pad for king bed, additional anti-slip stickers in the tub
Location: Tescos is down the street, Rochdale shopping and Town Hall are nearby, lots of places to eat close
We stay here when visiting family in the area and it is the perfect location. The King bed room is spacious with the only complaint being the mattress pad and sheet don't seem to fit properly. We regularly had to try to stretch it back over the mattress and during the night it always came off. The other thing that could be a bit better would be to have more anti-slip stickers in the tub as the tub is an odd shape and difficult to stand in to shower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

quiet clean room, bathroom fixtures broken.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Toilet bowl pulling away from wall, sink cracked, bath chipped, hallway light broken.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Reception were good, our room wasn't ready so they said to leave our bags there and they would take them up to the room when ready. The rooms are dated, bed was comfy and shower was good (once we got it to heat up). It was very noisey in the corridors until about 2am, people shouting outside and knocking on the room. Then -our room overlooked the bins- about 7am the bins were bring emptied which was really loud and felt like it went on forever. The room was also really hot, we turned the radiator off early but it was so uncomfortably hot all night. Don't expect to explore outside the hotel, it's in the middle of a council estate, but I hear the restaurant downstairs is really nice
3 out of 5
by Nicholas

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
The Double bed was uncomfy, room to warm for my personal choice and poor lighting even with the lights turned on. Breakfast is not included in the price an extra £10 if you want a breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very nice place to stay.

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Not much to complain about apart from the plumbing noise in the middle of the night from other rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stylish hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
This is one of the best stays we have had recently and the room was as always very clean and very tidy with free bottled water and free wifi throughout the hotel and restaurants The bed was very comfortable and of a generous size The breakfast was a great selection of cereals breads and cooked breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice little hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Only stayed overnight, but the hotel is friendly, well situated near town center. Rooms are comfortable. Breakfast was nice, plenty to choose from.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
great hotel, good location, stayed here several times before, highly recommend - great italian restraunt on site.