Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Chris

Basic but pleasant and good location

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant hotel in a beautiful building, but the rooms are a little basic and in need of refreshing. having said that, they are functional and comfortable. Its vicinity is pretty easy to access the local town (about a 10 min walk) and there are some great local seafood restaurants very close by.
1 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Jason

4 stars maybe 30 years ago

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
The service was some of the best I have ever received in France, unfortunately that is where the positivity ends. The rooms are very dated and in need of major renovations. The bed was one of the worst ones I ever had and the pillows were paper thin. The hotel restaurant was very expensive and no where near "gastronomique". The breakfast buffet at 13 euros consists of bread and cereal. A real disappointment. When I expressed my dissatisfaction at the front desk they comped my breakfasts. Definitely not worth the 104 euros a night that I paid. Next time I'm in Rochefort I'll stay at the Ibis down the street which is half the price and I'm almost certain double the comfort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City Utah

Needs remodeling

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff was nice and helpful, there were nice amenities
Cons: The rooms are run down and old and a little grimy instead corners. No air conditioning.
Location: Nice location, lots of history in this town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Corderie - but far from ropey..

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Standards of service commensurate with relatively high price of hotel. Food also of high standard - albeit also highly priced, with breakfast an additional 13Euros.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old World Charm

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Location: Walk along the canal, visit the maritime museum and real tall ships, walk to small town center
Not modern but well maintained, this was a fine place to stay for an overnight in an historic seafaring town. Walked to the end of th hall facing the canal and found the doors to outside barred shut. It would have been nice to exit the hotel at that point to enjoy a stroll along the adjacent canal. Hall lighting is on a timer for energy savings so locate and remember where the switches are if leaving or returning to your room after dark. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maritime history

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in an excellent location at the heart of the old port. Internally it is fairly plain and the room was small. However we found the staff very courteous and helpful which added to the enjoyment of our visit. -
4 out of 5
by RENAUD from London

Very good, but condition not quite 4 stars level

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
Ideal location inside the main attraction of Rochefort, pleasant, polite & efficient service, nice comfy rooms overall and great restaurant / room service (although, closes early!) But a few details in the condition of our room made it not quite 4 stars-level of quality if that's what you expect : a loose electrical wall socket whose panel fell down, visible and not great looking repairs made in the bathtub, slightly broken toilet flush... these didn't prevent an enjoyable stay, but you would expect at least a room in flawless condition in a 4 stars.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rather dated, but in a great location

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
The location for the hotel is great. Next to the waterside, the rope factory and the old shipyard, and within walking distance of the town. We ate in several cafes nearby and enjoyed exploring the area. The hotel itself has real potential and has its own free parking facilities and a pool, but needs a fresh look, some investment and a refurbishment to bring the rooms back up to 4* standard. There is an opportunity for someone to link this hotel more clearly with its historical location,to add a touch of luxury and to make it really special.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is set in 5* surroundings, the reception/public areas are 4*, the staff are very good, but the rooms are dated and 2/3*