Ratings based on 1,158 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Used to be a nice hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
This used to be a nice hotel with nice amenities but over the past 6 months it has decreased the amenities it offers since new onwnersship. There used to be a hot tub, they used to offer cookies, hot cocoa now only coffee and tea. The breakfast used to offer different kinds of eggs and toppings, with sausage or bacpn,fresh fruit like melons,banana ,apples and Oranges. Amd tbere was always enough food. They used to give guests a bag with bottle water and snacks on Check in. This trip, we came to breakfast and there were no sausage or bacon- tgey ran out- seriuosly, theres there's a Wegmans down the street- theres no reason not ti have food for your guests, thats one reason we stay there. the pool wasnt working or they closed it. No cooKies or hot cocoa anymore- apparently the new owners don't feel the big or the little things matter. The little touches make guests feel good, and make your establishment stand out,along with good service, amenities and cleanliness. The staff is why we kept coming back even though the hotel seems to be declining , but not after this visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The Country Inn & Suites and the Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group will work diligently to ensure any situation is fully investigated. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel and the staff

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Location: Near RIT on Route 15. There are lots of stores if you head towards Rochester and a terrific mall just a mile or two down the road.
I needed a room near RIT. There were many options, but I booked this because I have had good experiences with other Country Inn & Suites. (I specifically remember one in Orono, Maine.) I wasn't disappointed. The staff is great. Always pleasant and helpful from the front desk to the housekeepers to the breakfast staff. The room and hotel are clean and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable. The only negative was being assigned to a room with a wheelchair accessible shower. This has happened to me elsewhere and I feel bad to complain since I certainly support everything being more accessible. Unfortunately since there is no place to put anything except on the floor, it makes things harder for me. Also frustrating that the shower curtain doesn't reach the floor and water splashes a bit. Anyway, that's a minor imposition for me compared to what someone in a wheelchair experiences daily. Best thing about the hotel was how the staff handled the snow in the morning. All the walks were cleared quietly by shovel instead of snow blower early in the morning, so that I never heard anyone outside my window. And then someone brushed off every single car in the lot. Really appreciated the gesture! Also appreciated that they used real silverware for breakfast and that they had mugs available as well as paper cups for the coffee. Seems like a little thing - but made it more pleasant. Breakfast was basic but good and hot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

business trip

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Stayed here for a four day business trip. The rooms were immaculate, the bed and pillow comfy. Very quiet. The only thing: the snack machines dont scan credit cards so be sure to have some dollar bills. :). I'd request same hotel if I were to return to this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Super clean & quiet!

Posted Jan 21, 2017
I had a wonderful experience at this hotel! I got there after dark and was really impressed to see how the parking lot was so well lit! i went inside and the staff at the front desk was super nice and made the check in process very quick! My hotel room was very clean and cozy and it was nice not to be able to hear my neighbors through the walls all night! I'll definitely be staying here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Arrived very late with 3 young kids. Quick check in, easy parking, and room was ready, clean, and as expected. Nice breakfast room in the morning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
Very good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Little things that go a very long way

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: The staff is amazing.
Cons: The rooms do need updating, which I understand is coming soon.
I don't want to mislead any readers: this is a good hotel, but certainly not five star. However, great service can make all the difference and that's why I would go back to this hotel any time and I recommend it fully. Here's what happened. One night during our stay is snowed five inches. I got up early knowing I had to go clean off my car and possibly shovel it out. These are realities in Rochester, but I dreaded them both. Only when I got outside I saw that the hotel staff had cleaned the snow off every car in the lot and had beautifully plowed the area so we could all escape easily. I was beyond stunned. That, to me, is the essence of five star service: what I really needed and never expected. So sure this isn't the Ritz Carlton, but I can't imagine any place delighting me more.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, But...

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Nice rooms.
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: Not far from Strong Memorial.
Country Inns and Suites are all built on a standard plan. The beds had very comfortable mattresses, good for sleeping. The rooms are nice, but... The room that my wife stayed in had mold on the ceiling in the shower. We paid a little extra to find a hotel with breakfast, but the breakfast was terrible. So, although the rooms are nice and fairly clean, the hotel is not really worth the extra money for a slightly better hotel with breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great value for the money

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
While somewhat further away from our son's home than would be ideal, one can get almost anywhere in the Rochester area within twenty minutes