Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Hotel Spartan

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Not much. The heat and TV worked
Cons: Hot water would be nice. The minimal continental breakfast was sub-minimal
Location: No opinion. Too cold to go out (-6deg F)
Room was clean but very spartan. Kitchen had no minimal conveniences such as paper plates , paper towels, plastic cups or plastic cutlery. Not hot water so we could not take a shower before leaving. The so-called continental breakfast had run out of food. Don't they have a grocery store nearby?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that our amenities were not to your expectations. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will make sure we are clearly communicating our amenities during guest arrivals to make sure your experience is not repeated. I will also work with our maintenance engineer to ensure that everything is functioning properly. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Good location for north side

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: The kitchen with microwave, 2 burners, fridge, freezer and sink, however no dishes or utensils are provided.
Cons: Better breakfast.
Location: Convenient to shopping and dining on the north side of Rochester.
Room was nice. Neighbors and people in hallway a bit noisy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will monitor noise situations closely to make sure your experience is not repeated. Additionally, while we no longer keep dishes in guest rooms, these items are available at the front desk. Still, I am glad you had a positive stay overall and enjoyed our comfortable rooms. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Pleased

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: demo and start over
Location: good location. near shopping and food
The rooms were disgusting. The carpets were stained, the shower had mildew, the bed comforter was stained, the woodwork on the headboard was worn off and peeling in some parts. Half of the TV channels were blocked and unable to watch and the smell of smoke permiated into our room. The hallways and elevator looked as though they hosted stag parties everynight. The food, stains, and aweful smell was enough for a 1 night stay only. I went to the Hampton the following night for only $20 more per night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The cleanliness issues you described are unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will be reviewing our deep cleaning and room inspection procedures to ensure your experience is not repeated. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Had a pretty bad experience staying here. We checked into our room pretty late, but was not expected to be locked out of the hotel when we got there. This was really frustrating as we were driving all day and looked forward to a good night sleep with no hassle. We tried to ring for the person on duty a few times with no luck (dead tone). After 5 mins of trying we left and drove around, but was left with the only option to come back and try again. We finally got a hold of someone 20 mins later. She let us in and check us into our room. We grabbed our things went to our room and the key didn't work. To top it off the room seemed to be occupied as we heard noises coming out of the room. We went back asked for another room and finally was given an unoccupied room. The room wasn't what I expected when I booked it. The bed was worn down, the curtains didn't close tightly ( our room facing the brightly lit parking lot) and the room smelt damp. For the price of $100 a night this was a WASTE of money and would not stay here again. I should of paid for a room across the street from this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, texas

its ok

Posted Jun 23, 2015
The breakfast is just a snack bar. No hair dryer. Other than these, it is a good place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2015
Just stayed 1 night. Would be fine for an extended stay if needed .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from In

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Had a great stay housekeeping could have been more up to part meaning we didn't get service for 3 days
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that our housekeeping services were not explained during check-in. We provide housekeeping services to guests staying eight or more nights; however, these services are always available upon request for an additional fee. Still, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels we hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester MN

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: The "free" breakfast has a lot to be desired !
Location: ???
we had a great time at our leadership gathering. We were only in the hotel for a short period of time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. The staff and I are happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a comfortable experience. Again, thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rio, Wisconsin

Close to Mayo. WONDERFUL shuttle system.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Friendly staff /comfortable room/ safe area/ close to stores restaurants etc/ super shuttle system Highly recommend. Have had 3 outstanding stays.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT FOR THE MONEY

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Cons: the recliner
Location: not alot to do around the area of the hotel...and no restaurant would deliver food after 10pm on friday or saturday which.
The room as nice......the only complaint was the recliner in the room....it was too low to the ground and when you reclined it and tried to put the foot rest back in it wouldnt stay...you would have to get out of the chain and then pull the handle back to get the foot rest back in. other than that a pretty decent room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting such great review of your stay with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with your room but I apologize that you had difficulties with our recliner. In response to your feedback, I am happy to share that we are going to have a full renovation starting in October or November 2015. With the renovation, every room will have a brand new recliner along with new furniture. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.