Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Nice. Loved the shuttle to Mayo Clinic for our purposes. Staff very friendly. Room not to spacious bathroom vanity small but worked ok for the two of us We just put our things away. Worked ok for just the two of us
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not charged due to awful noise.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Clean rooms, nice staff. Pool and rooms pretty small, but OK. Probably a 4.5/5 if not for the all night party across the hall. Would be a 0 if not for removing charges. I called front desk at 3, said they'd take care of it but not sure what they tried. Called again at 430, said they wouldn't not charge for room...glad they didn't charge but would have preferred sleep. Slept a total of 3 hr max (an hour or so at a time), made for a horrible day and ruined my weekend trip with my daughter who needed sleep for tournament in AM. It was a group of men in the hallway and hollering from about 230 to 5....ridiculous. I've never stayed somewhere that allowed loud partying all night and thought it was handled oddly, though I'm not sure what staff could have done without calling cops and waking more people up. I wonder what their policy for noise complaints is? I know they had to waive charges for others as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Quiet, easy access, good breakfast. Food host exceptional! Friendly, kind, sincere caring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Very pleased with the room. I heard later they had updated the rooms within I think the last two years. Great job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Soudan, Mn

Has everything you need for a good stay

Posted Feb 26, 2017
We came down, like many do, for a Mayo Clinic trip. We have stayed at many of the area hotels in the past but this was one of the nicest if you want a clean, quiet hotel with morning breakfast and clinic shuttle service that has runs every 30 minutes and is about a 10 minute drive if that. The view is not spectacular but not many places down there are unless you want to hear sirens all night staying closer to the Mayo and St. Mary's. The only complaint is had about the stay was a slightly squeaky exhaust fan sound that we noticed more on the second night when it was a bit more windy outside. They do offer discounts for clinic patients. Unfortunately that discount is not available with Expedia unless there is a discount code that I don't know about. The discount cannot be applied at the hotel either without cancelling the original reservations and incurring charges for that. They also have a pool and fitness room though we did not use either of them. Perkins is right across the road for a good meal without having to drive also. Let me not forget to add this one often overlooked problem that I have noticed in lots of other places that is certainly not lacking here.... outlets to plug your stuff into! There are several added outlets that are actually accessible without digging behind a bed or nightstand that the lamps are plugged into and they include USB outlets as well for your electronics. Great!
5 out of 5
by Michelle

Clean rooms, friendly staff

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
We were in town, all the way from Texas, for a wedding. The shuttle service was very nice the night of the reception. The pool was open 24 hours a day, and that was nice. Room was very clean and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ames Iowa

Hotel close to all shopping areas

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff.
Cons: No comment.
Location: Most people are there for a Mayo Clinic or hospital appointment. Hotel centrally located and shuttle provided.
Quiet hotel with no sounds of running water, toilets flushing or people in the hallway. Clerks very friendly and helpful at desk. Good breakfast. Attention was paid to keeping food replaced and warm.
3 out of 5
by Darryl

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
We were right in the middle of a girls volleyball tourney event. It would have been nice to be on a different floor or not across from the elevator. The girls were pretty good, but, it was noisy until after 11.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochester, mn

Staff blessed me

Posted Jan 27, 2017
While my son was in the Mayo Clinic hospital, I stayed at Hampton south Rochester. A good nights rest brought 6 inches of snow. After a delicious breakfast, to my surprise I discovered hotel staff brushed off all cars in the parking lot! Made my day! Many thank!
5 out of 5
by Jonnie

My new favorite hotel in Rochester!

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
I have always loved Hampton Inn, and this one is even better than the others! Their shuttle to the Mayo every 30 minutes is very convenient. Their hot breakfast is catered in and actually tastes great! The soup in the evening is also awesome! Very clean hotel with a great, friendly staff.