Ratings based on 887 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, ON

Under renovation

Posted Mar 19, 2017
We stayed one night to visit the Strong Children's Museum. The entire lobby is under renovation which is probably why we got such a decent rate for a Hyatt. We paid extra for "valet" parking but when we arrived there was only self-parking available. We also thought that breakfast was included according to when we booked however it wasn't. The employee at the temporary front desk sensed our frustration and provided us with "complementary" breakfast. The artist's rendering of the hotel looks amazing and hopefully it will look like that. We would stay there again however we probably couldn't afford the room rate as they will probably increase once the renos are finished.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utica, NY

Decent Hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Pillows could be better.
Location: Nice selections of restaurants nearby.
It was a decent hotel. Unfortunately, it was under construction when we stayed there. The room was comfortable. We liked that the hotel was close to restaurants, bars and Blue Cross Arena which brought us to Rochester. I think the hotel will be much better once it completes construction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Staff and location to the auditorium and restaurants were great
If they were not undergoing renovations I think this would be an excellent hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Helpful and courteous staff.
The staff of this hotel definitely impressed me most. The girls at the front desk were helpful and courteous. When I dined at the hotel restaurant, the waiters and waitresses made me feel at home and gave me extra assistance when I was in a hurry and only had a short time to have my meal or at the time when I came in late close to the closing time. I also appreciated that a free hotel shuttle van was available and easy to catch a ride with. My room was clean and had everything I needed. The location is great in the center of downtown Rochester. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Cons: They should mention that hotel is under construction when customers are making reservations.
Is hotel,is currently under construction, so although we were able to stay there for 2 days, it was inconvenient not having all the hotels facilities such as the restaurant open. Breakfast was served upstairs in a make shift area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted Feb 1, 2017
I had no indication it was under construction until I arrived. They were not heavily occupied but my room was placed adjacent to the construction with a view of basically a wall. There was no consideration or consolations to the construction. The restaurant was relocated to what used to be a couple hotel rooms on the 4th floor. It is difficult I navigate the internal detours to find the ad hoc reception desk. Most notably there was no consideration of any kind to any inconveniences.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mess

Posted Jan 30, 2017
I check in to one room mold all over ceiling bathroom looks very old...then they move me to another room ....and there is no hot water . The engineer comes up fixes it take a shower then the water is cold the rest of night and am.i just didn't want to switch rooms again Ordered 11 dollar breakfast which turned out to be 30 bucks because I ordered orange juice she said? What ? Weird! this was a motel not a hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Jay Rettberg, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We want to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable stay and that their rooms are comfortable and meet their needs. Our staff has been made fully aware of your concerns and will be thoroughly inspecting rooms to ensure that everything is fully operational and immaculate for every guest. We hope you return back to the hotel soon and allow us the chance make your next visit a much more enjoyable experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

need face lift hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Location: I didn't feel safe around the hotel and also nothing around...
The hotel was remodeling and I could hear the noises. The hotel staff mentioned it so it was OK but no coffee shop, no staff on the front door, small selection of breakfast buffet, no complementally water, the hotel staff were talking about their personal things a lot at the breakfast area, the staff at the front desk were not friendly, squeaking noise from somewhere during taking shower, no bath robe, old carpet, etc. I didn't feel I stay at the Hyatt hotel and hotel need to educate or train their staff about the professionalism and what customer service is.. I was disappointed. The shuttle driver from the airport to the hotel was really nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Nicole Morales, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your most recent experience. We appreciate your feedback. We want to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay and your comments will go a long way in the growth of our hotel. Our guests satisfaction with their experience is very important to us. We hope you get the chance to return to the hotel and allow us the chance to make your next experience an enjoyable one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel under construction.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Good location but so are three other hotels.
Cons: Almost everything.
Location: Very close to Blue Cross Arena. Fortunately there are other bars around (Hilton Garden Inn bar) because the Hyatt bar closed at 9PM.
We arrived and were told the king that we booked was not available (no discount offered and we are Hyatt members). The bar closed at 9pm on a Friday. Loud construction noise started at 8:30am. Beds were saggy and the ice machine next to our room was very loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Nicole Morales, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. We are very lucky to be so centrally located in the downtown area. We have a lot of amazing attractions surrounding the hotel for guests to enjoy. Our staff loves to make recommendations regarding fun ideas for our guests to explore if they are looking to do so. We hope that you get the chance to return to the hotel again soon and allow us the chance to show you a much better experience. We certainly would like you to stay in your preferred room type in a room that you will enjoy. As tranquility is a big importance to us, we want you to be able to relax and enjoy without any disturbances. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Hotel is undergoing renovations through 2017. Thus, restaurant is not functioning as it should (re: timeliness of orders, selection, etc._). Wait staff are doing their best, but the hotel has not given them much to work with.