Ratings based on 1,349 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

old fashioned bathrooms-

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: closeness to mayo clinic
Cons: bathrooms
Location: great restaurants nearby-didn't have to go outside in the cold weather because of subway system
The bathroom was small, no vanity to put your toiletries on, plugs on chains for sink and bathtub. Otherwise room was clean-friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was close to the clinic

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Cons: The pool was very confusing to get to
Was an ok experience had a lot of trouble with key cards not working.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Not worth spending over $100/night

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: Aesthetics. Cleanliness.
Location: Not much when it's well below 0 degrees outside.
This hotel is in need of some serious updates. The rate I paid was somewhere in the ballpark of $130/night and after experiencing it I wouldn't have paid anything over $100. My room was across from the vending & ice machines and it had a 24/7 sewer smell. Fortunately the smell didn't seep into my room. The ceiling is Stucco-like appearance and clearly dated. The fan in the room never turned off, even when I set it to "off". The bathroom shelf above the sink/toilet reminded me of a hospital. It was surgical steel and for some odd reason there was a little pull-down compartment for soap and toothbrushes...it clearly hadn't been cleaned from the past guest(s) because there was remnants inside of it. The tile in the bathroom was the stained and cracked and just didn't make you feel clean. The icing on the cake was noticing a used washcloth hanging over the top of the shower curtain rail hiding between the top of the bunched curtains. I would have said something, but after realizing there was only one housekeeping woman cleaning all 40+ rooms on my floor, there was a sort of pity on her behalf. This place clearly is understaffed, or they don't staff this part of the hotel but the upper half which costs upwards of $275/night. Last, the bed had all of 2 sheet and 1 thickish blanket. The temperature ranged from -16 degrees (negative sixteen) to 2 degrees (two). Couldn't spare another blanket?! Good thing for heat! Next time, I'll opt for the Marriott.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2016
The room and bed were full of hair. There was no hot water. Worst stay ever!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

POOR SERVICE AND EXTRA FEES

Posted Jan 14, 2016
PARKING VALIDATION WAS NOT INCLUDED, VERY UPSETTING - RUDE STAFF
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Nice Hotel ! Old ! But Close to Mayo ! 4 min walk

Posted Jan 7, 2016
It was great to stay in this Hotel , If you are visiting Mayo Clinic ! It can not be Closer ! Takes 4 min thru the Subway ! Stay Warm !! And Closed to many nice Restaurants !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from central IL

Down at heels

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Mayo Clinic, friendly staff, proximity to Starbucks.
Cons: This place needs a massive overhaul. It could be a gem.
The pros of this hotel is it is directly across the street from Mayo Clinic, the staff is friendly, and the mattress was comfortable. This is an historic hotel, and I prefer to patronize historic and boutique hotels. Its proximity to Mayo was my main motivation, because it is quite a bit more expensive than many reliably nice hotels in the area like Hampton Inn, for instance. But this hotel has not been renovated (at least the part I stayed in) in many, many decades. While it was generally clean, the bath was a 1950s dorm room bath with moldy caulk around the tub, leaking taps, sporadically running toilet, and only a wall sink and tiny metal shelf on which to place anything. It is more in the neighborhood of gas station chic than the "grand" hotel of its title. There are no extras...not even tissues...and this was not a discounted room. The wallpaper was peeling in both the room and the bath. Most puzzling, the sheets smelled strongly of some chemical...very chemically...and I had some red patches on my skin the next morning. I was too exhausted to complain, arriving late and needing to be up for an early appointment.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Certainly not "grand"

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: Room should have at least a queen size bed for comfort.
Location: Close to the hospital and many good restaurants.
We booked this room on expedia.com. In all of our times booking through Expedia, we have never received a room with only one double bed. I have never been in jail or prison, but I am certain that there are prison cells that were bigger than our room. The bathroom and shower (no bathtub) were extremely small. And there was no place to hang clothes. Asked for an upgrade and was refused.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Visiting for a conference and very pleasant skyway for Mayo Clinic conference.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Never again

Posted Nov 10, 2015
We go to Rochester periodically and have stayed at the Kahler several times. This time we got a very small room with a tiny bathroom, no bathtub and disgusting looking tile. The windows were so dirty the light wasn't filtering through well enough for me to be able to do my makeup. Also for the first time parking wasn't included with our stay. We would never consider the Kahler again. The hotel itself is fancy but as regular clients we we should have never but put in such a substandard room.