Ratings based on 1,950 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2018
Perfect for a Mayo Clinic patients. They are redoing rooms. This is a hotel that has charm and getting a need face lift, with one foot in past, one going to present , hopefully the can mix the 2 and look to a bright future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2018
Convenient
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old, run down but close to Mayo's

Posted Jun 16, 2018
This is a huge, very old hotel right across from the Ghonda Building at Mayo's. My room very quite old, rusty, wallpaper falling down, moldy windows, the bathroom rub was very rusty and gross around the knobs, and bathroom sink was gross with rust and crud. I could feel when walking on the carpet that there were things inbeded in it. No comforter on the bed. No lid on the toilet sit to sit on. I had something roll right into the toilet from the toilet tank lid. No fan in the bathroom, no microwave, very small coffee pot but no tea bags or anything extra in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2018 by Christy Brewer - Guest Relations Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We never seek to disappoint our guests, so we sincerely apologize for the shortfalls you encountered. Thank you for bringing your concerns to light as we will share these with our management team to be addressed immediately. We strive to provide an exceptional experience and exceed your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to a more enjoyable experience at The Kahler Grand Hotel in the future. Sincerely, Christy Brewer Guest Relations Coordinator
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2018
Old, run-down and very out dated. Bed linen and towels are poor quality. Poor room temperature control. Only good thing is location. Spend a little more and stay somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2018
old tile and fixtures in bath great location old heating / cooling system
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2018 by Christy Brewer - Guest Relations Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear guest, Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies for the unsatisfactory condition of your assigned accommodations. We are discouraged by your description of your room, and can assure you the difficulties you encountered do not match that of our service standards. We strive to provide an exceptional experience and exceed your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to a more enjoyable experience at The Kahler Grand Hotel in the future. Warm regards, Christy Brewer Guest Relations Coordinator
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2018
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2018 by Christy Brewer - Guest Relations Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review. We wish you all the best and hope to serve you once again. Sincerely, Christy Brewer Guest Relations Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Across the street from Mayo Clinic

Posted Jun 14, 2018
Pros: It is very close to Mayo Clinic, clean, comfortable and quiet. If you use the Subway Level, you are close to several types of eating places.
Cons: Can't think of anything. It is older but very well maintained.
Location: As I have written, it is across the street from Mayo Clinic and there are many shopping opportunities bath on the street level and in the subway level
We have stayed here numerous times. It isn't the cheapest hotel around but with Senior discounts that you can get through several different services, it is affordable. It is always a pleasant place to stay as it is clean and quiet. The beds are comfortable and the staff is friendly. Drop down on any elevator to Subway level and you are within a couple hundred feet from the Mayo building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2018 by Christy Brewer - Guest Relations Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for your review. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your time you with us and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us at The Kahler Grand Hotel again soon! Warm regards, Christy Brewer Guest Relations Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The place to stay in Rochester

Posted Jun 14, 2018
Perfect location across the street form the Mayo Clinic. Plenty of dining walking distance away. Rooms are older and could use updating but serviceable. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2018 by Christy Brewer - Guest Relations Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Bill, Thank you for your review. I am happy to see you enjoyed your time you with us and I hope to have the joy of welcoming you back to visit us again should you be in the area. Please let us know if there is anything further we may be able to assist you with. Sincerely, Christy Brewer Guest Relations Coordinator
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2018
Convenient to Mayo Clinic. Very nice staff. Small room with sink in room. Shower and toilet in same area/room. No closet. Coat rack to hang clothes on. Depressing room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2018 by Christy Brewer - Guest Relations Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Marsha, Thank you for your review of the Kahler Grand Hotel! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are pleased you allowed us the opportunity to serve you with all our hearts. We are sorry to see that your choice of accommodations did not meet your expectations. We do have many options to choose from and hope to be able to better serve you should you be back in the area. Please let us know if there is anything else we may do to assist you. Thank you for choosing the Kahler Grand Hotel! With gratitude, Christy Brewer Guest Relations Coordinator
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Jun 13, 2018
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2018 by Christy Brewer - Guest Relations Coordinator , Hotel Management
Dear Larry, Thank you for choosing the Kahler Grand Hotel. I must say, you took some very nice pictures and we certainly appreciate you sharing them. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again, should you be back in the area. If you should need anything in the meantime, please do not hesitate to let us know. Sincerely, Christy Brewer Guest Relations Coordinator